We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another onsen hotel”
Review of Sounkyo Choyotei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sounkyo Choyotei
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel room size is average, not able to accommodate 2 large luggage on floor. They have a separate shower room but the shower head is so tiny that the water flowing through is limited. The water temp also fluctuated from cold to hot and hot to cold. Unable to enjoy your shower. There is no place to hang your clothes in the shower room too.

Dinner buffet has widespread of crab, sashimi, hotate, nabe etc but your clothes become smelly as the restaurant ventilation is bad. Suggest you to change into or wear the clothes provided by the hotel before visiting the restaurant for dinner buffet.

WiFi connection is bad and unstable, you will get logout in no time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shannahs_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I can understand some onsen hotel in Japan tries to reserve certain rooms for their own resident. It could be due to language barriers. I used googel translate and tried to book a certain room on their Japanese site but unsuccessful. I tried to send them couple emails but with no response. So, I ended up book a room via their english website which only gave me only two choices of room and package.
I am disappointed about their meals that included in the room package. I did have high hope of the onsen's meals. I had stayed at a several different onsen hotels in Hokkaido but this is the first one that had disappointed me. One main reason is that I think they tried to put the foreigners in a different dining room, I did not see a single Japanese people have meals in the dining room where we had the meals. So, I assume the food might be also different than what the Japanese would eat. I can't say for sure their food would be better than us but it just kind of gave me a strange feeling having the dinner and breakfast in a separate dining room. On the web site, I saw different pictures of the dining room where people had their meals but I can say it was not where we had ours!
I did utilize their shuttle service to the snow festival and I did utilize the free shuttle service to pick us up from Asahikawa Washington hotel to the hotel and on the day we depart, the shuttle drop us off to Kamikawa JR station for us to continue our trip to Abashiri.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osaka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a single room for myself at Nov to stay at the hotel on 11Feb at a rate of ¥12600 via Japanican. In mid of Jan, I want to change the booking to a twin room or add another single room because my sister want to travel together. Japanican replied not able to chanve the booking. I email the hotel in Japanese by google translate and the hotel replied it was fully booked during snow festival, no more additional room available, if I add one more person to my single room, I have to pay ¥11700 x 2 to stay in my single room. I wonder this rate is almost 2 single rooms room rate, I understood during snow festival rooms are demanding, but how can the hotel charge me this rate if they have to squeeze two of us in a single room? We were not able to move around the room after they set up the tatami.

I made an early booking at Nov and the rate I pay now is more than enough to book a twin room with western style twin bed plus an tatami area and dinner serve in room, niw the hotel charged me as if I made a new booking 2 weeks ahead. I have no choice because not much choice in Sounkyo area.

Bathroom is tiny and smell, difficult to turn around.

Dinner and breakfast not much choices and not outstanding. Fruit juice, beer has to pay extra.

Free shuttle provided to snow festival venue but no shuttle to ropeway station.

Free shuttle also provided to and from the hotel at various JR station. But the time arrive to the hotel at late afternoon and leave the hotel in the morning 0930.

Though wifi is available but you will never able to access successfully. I must access internet for following days hotel bookings, and I have to seek help from reception to make telephone calls for me.

Reception not helpful, no smile and not willing to help, except a young men wearing a pair of glasses who check us in. He helped made all calls and answered our queries.

The only thumbs up during my stay was I went to the open air bath at 8 a.m in the morning and there were noone else there, I enjoyed the open air bath as private.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked through the Rakuten website, which included buffet style dinner and breakfast. Transportation (by charter bus) was also provided from the Prince Hotel in Asahikawa-shi. The first stop is for the Choyo Hotel Resort, and Choyotei is the second stop. We made the mistake of getting off at the first stop, but a hotel staff member drove us in his k-van to the correct hotel. (Definitely not walkable.)
We requested a Japanese style room, but got 2 twin beds and a tatami area - best of both worlds. The room was pretty standard - tea, mochi, robes, 3 futons w/sheets, tv, hot water denki pot, sandals. The onsen was clean and had all the necessary amenities, such as shampoo, conditioner, charcoal bar soap, facial products, q-tips, hair dryers, etc. The showering area had nice marbled stalls for privacy. The bathes were relaxing and hot. The rotenburo was situated so that you could look at the beautiful mountain scenery. The temperatures of the outside bathes were nice and hot so you can still enjoy the bathing even in cold temperatures. We went around Christmas, so there was plenty of snow. Unfortunately, we were not there for the Ice Festival, which is supposed to be very beautiful. I would recommend this onsen resort/hotel for the baths but not so much for the food. The buffet style dinner was average quality, nothing amazing. I suppose that's where we saved some money. The breakfast buffet was definitely better than the dinner, so I would recommend waking up early for a final dip and big breakfast.

Room Tip: Get off on the second stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Again, this is not our first choice in this area. However, the rooms are unexpectedly spacious and comfortable (Japanese-Western Rooms).

It is quite a big hotel where there were a number of tours. Actually, it was crowded everywhere (I dislike most). With the mediocre quality of its buffet and onsen, I can't stop myself from saying once again that the room was the best part among all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingcolt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is the big room by any country's standard. We had the Western and Japanese room. Which means that you get the western bed and a traditional Japanese seating area. Looks like the seating area can be laid out for 2 more guests. The onsen is obviously the draw here. They are rotated for male and female on different days and time. I went to the one on the 7th floor with the view. There is also one that is outdoor (for men during that time slot). The onsen was large as well. We ate at the Japanese Buffet downstairs, the most forgettable meal that I had so far. I would point out that the bathroom did not have very good water pressure or even hot enough water for those that did not go for the onsen. Luckily I only needed a rinse after the hot onsen, or it would not have been a comfortable shower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have stayed in numerous ryokans across Japan and this is by far the biggest one we have actually booked ourselves into. The room itself had a toilet/bath, a small living area, a western style sleeping area with 2 beds and a Japanese style area where you could basically dine and sleep (tatami-style). Very clean and well-maintained. Food-wise, our package included buffet breakfast and dinner. Although not superb (by ryokan standards), it provided enough selection to fill our tummies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamikawa-cho
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
#7 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
140 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Choyo Resort Hotel
Choyo Resort Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
302 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Mt. View Hotel
Mt. View Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sounkyo Onsen
Hotel Taisetsu
Hotel Taisetsu
#4 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
223 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
172 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#1 of 10 in Higashikawa-cho
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sounkyo Choyotei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sounkyo Choyotei

Address: Sounkyo-onsen, Kamikawa-cho, Kamikawa-gun 078-1701, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Kamikawa-cho > Sounkyo Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamikawa-cho
Price Range: £90 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sounkyo Choyotei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sounkyo Onsen is known to one of the Hot spring in Hokkaido since Edo Era. Historic sheer rock cliffs create the view of fresh green in summer, autumnal tints of autumn, and snow in winter. The landscape attracts not only domestice tourists but also international tourists. Choyo-Tei is located on a small hill and has a view of green cliff from our big bath, reminds relaxing in nature. Dining is served in your choice; either buffet, in guest room, or the restaurant "Kita-Ban-Ya" with hearth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sounkyo Choyotei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sounkyo Choyotei Kamikawa Cho
Sounkyo Choyotei Hokkaido, Japan - Kamikawa-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing