We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience in a ski resort.”
Review of NASPA New Otani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NASPA New Otani
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First experience in a ski resort.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Naspa is our first time out at a ski resort so we have nothing to compare to. We also didnt ski but had a whale of a time playing in the snow with the kids with the sleds. Getting to Naspa is pretty easy from Tokyo, especially if you have a JR Pass and is only 80 mins away from Tokyo Station. Unfortunately our JR Pass ran out a few days before so we had to purchase return tickets but it still only worked out to be around USD45 per way per person which was still reasonable.

There are a lot of other resorts around the area so it is worth exploring the Echigo-Yuzawa area if you're in Tokyo during ski season.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    99
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
161
28
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

5 minute drive from Echigo Yuzawa station, which is only 80 minutes from Tokyo by Shinkansen. I stay at this hotel every year and always book a junior suite that is originally built as a residential condo - spacious & comfortable, yet the price is only a few thousand yen more than a regular room.

Public baths are large but not as good as those of traditional ryokans in the surrounding area.

Dinner buffet can be a highlight of your stay - a opportunity to try variety of Japanese dishes all together. They have tables for Japanese & Western but don't expect too much for western dishes.

Slopes are rather small and generally not very exciting, but exclusive for skiers therefore you'll see many families with small kids. There is a mogul course on a relatively gentle slope, which can be an ideal spot for those who want to try a taste of mogul skiing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank takainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in January 2012; two children aged 2 and 3, and two adults. Main purpose of the trip was to introduce skiing to our two sons and for that, the area was not optimal. There is ski-in ski-out but for such young children not the easiest of access to the snow. We later learned there are better options for young children and a weekend on the slopes away from the Tokyo hustle. Having said this, the hotel was not bad, considering the size (a very big hotel!) and the surroundings which also need to cater to the New Otani Ski Garden which is the ski area behind the hotel. An onsen, play room, day care for children etc., the hotel had everything. Except charm which was absolutely non-existent. Buffet dinner and breakfast had a wide variety of foods both Western and Japanese but already after about 24 hours, the buffet style food gets a little old. Best thing for sure was the easy access: from Tokyo Station to Yuzawa by Shinkansen is 1 hour and 20 minutes, and then a bus picks you up and drops you in front of the hotel. Incredible that you can be in such a different world after such a short period of time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMom_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Can't write much and it's my first review after years of hogging tripadvisor advice for our hols, but I had to write this. If you have kids and live in Singapore, want the Japan ski thing, worried about English and the two flight change to Hokkaido, Yuzawa is your best choice. The English hostess there, Ms. Yamada was just great, she was always there, arranged everything, I mean everything. She even helped recover my lost blackberry en route from Tokyo and had it couriered! She refused a tip in the end too and I promised I would write a referral. Remember, just call the resort and ask for Yamada if you decide to go here, she was simply magic.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Went for a couple of days skiing whilst in Tokyo, took the bullet from Tokyo and then the shuttle from Gala Yuzawa, and dropped at the door. Limited English spoken but we all made ourselves understood. The slopes attached were a little limited but generally empty but we tried the main Gala site as well which are much larger and busier.(still not as bad as Europe). The hotel was very clean and the rooms large, big tv's but only had about 8 Japanese channels. Restaurants varied but a little expensive.(£7 a small beer) public bath very interesting! for a Brit but an experience never the less.Would I stay again -yes

Room Tip: Views either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I went there for a long 3 day weekend. The hotel was full, and just about everybody was there with kids. We took advantage of the slopes, ski lessons for the kids, the pool, both Japanese restaurants, and public bath. The hotel was very clean, service was great as always in Japan, food was good, The place was good, with my only real complaint being its a ski only hotel, no snowboarding on their slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank account123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Great buffet and kids playing facilities. The playroom has video games for bigger kids as well. Yummy cakes in the coffee shop.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmtyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuzawa-machi hotels
Naeba Prince Hotel
#8 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
386 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Yuzawa Grand Hotel
Yuzawa Grand Hotel
#5 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
129 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Yuzawa New Otani
Yuzawa New Otani
#7 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa
Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa
#1 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
114 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Hotel Futaba
Hotel Futaba
#12 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
132 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Shosenkaku Kagetsu
Shosenkaku Kagetsu
#6 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NASPA New Otani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NASPA New Otani

Property: NASPA New Otani
Address: 2117-9 Yuzawa, Minamiuonuma-gun, Yuzawa-machi 949-6101, Niigata Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Minamiuonuma-gun > Yuzawa-machi > Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yuzawa-machi
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Yuzawa-machi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yuzawa-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NASPA New Otani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NASPA New Otani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NASPA New Otani Japan/Yuzawa-Machi, Niigata Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing