We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NASPA New Otani
Nearby Hotels
Yuzawa New Otani(Yuzawa-machi)
US$418
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Futaba(Yuzawa-machi)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Oyado Honjin(Yuzawa-machi)
US$211
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$932
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$103
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Inamoto(Yuzawa-machi)
    US$427
    US$322
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    Ryokan 
    Shosenkaku Kagetsu(Yuzawa-machi)
    US$442
    US$221
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Sporea Yuzawa(Yuzawa-machi)
    US$365
    US$267
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Ryokan 
    Nakaya(Yuzawa-machi)
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    Yuzawa Toei Hotel(Yuzawa-machi)
    US$884
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (261)
    Filter reviews
    261 results
    Traveller rating
    104
    112
    32
    8
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    104
    112
    32
    8
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspublic onsenbuffet dinnergala yuzawatokyo stationfree shuttleski gearechigo yuzawa stationski resortrooms are spaciouswinter holidayother resortsbullet trainpre arrivalwonderful resortideal for familiesthe busenjoyed our stay
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    70 - 75 of 261 reviews
    Reviewed 12 January 2014

    We went to Yuzawa with the kids to play in the snow and we had a great time! The hotel is easy to get to (regular shuttles from the station) and is very comfortable. We had a superior Fourth Room which is more like a two bedroom apartment, and got a package that included breakfast and dinner. The room was very quiet which is important to us! The kids enjoyed the pool too.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank sydneykaren10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

    Naspa is our first time out at a ski resort so we have nothing to compare to. We also didnt ski but had a whale of a time playing in the snow with the kids with the sleds. Getting to Naspa is pretty easy from Tokyo, especially if you have a JR Pass and is only 80 mins away from Tokyo Station. Unfortunately our JR Pass ran out a few days before so we had to purchase return tickets but it still only worked out to be around USD45 per way per person which was still reasonable.

    There are a lot of other resorts around the area so it is worth exploring the Echigo-Yuzawa area if you're in Tokyo during ski season.

    Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    1  Thank Michael C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 December 2012

    5 minute drive from Echigo Yuzawa station, which is only 80 minutes from Tokyo by Shinkansen. I stay at this hotel every year and always book a junior suite that is originally built as a residential condo - spacious & comfortable, yet the price is only a few thousand yen more than a regular room.

    Public baths are large but not as good as those of traditional ryokans in the surrounding area.

    Dinner buffet can be a highlight of your stay - a opportunity to try variety of Japanese dishes all together. They have tables for Japanese & Western but don't expect too much for western dishes.

    Slopes are rather small and generally not very exciting, but exclusive for skiers therefore you'll see many families with small kids. There is a mogul course on a relatively gentle slope, which can be an ideal spot for those who want to try a taste of mogul skiing.

    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank takainlondon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 April 2012

    We stayed in this hotel in January 2012; two children aged 2 and 3, and two adults. Main purpose of the trip was to introduce skiing to our two sons and for that, the area was not optimal. There is ski-in ski-out but for such young children not the easiest of access to the snow. We later learned there are better options for young children and a weekend on the slopes away from the Tokyo hustle. Having said this, the hotel was not bad, considering the size (a very big hotel!) and the surroundings which also need to cater to the New Otani Ski Garden which is the ski area behind the hotel. An onsen, play room, day care for children etc., the hotel had everything. Except charm which was absolutely non-existent. Buffet dinner and breakfast had a wide variety of foods both Western and Japanese but already after about 24 hours, the buffet style food gets a little old. Best thing for sure was the easy access: from Tokyo Station to Yuzawa by Shinkansen is 1 hour and 20 minutes, and then a bus picks you up and drops you in front of the hotel. Incredible that you can be in such a different world after such a short period of time!

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank TravelMom_DK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 March 2012

    Can't write much and it's my first review after years of hogging tripadvisor advice for our hols, but I had to write this. If you have kids and live in Singapore, want the Japan ski thing, worried about English and the two flight change to Hokkaido, Yuzawa is your best choice. The English hostess there, Ms. Yamada was just great, she was always there, arranged everything, I mean everything. She even helped recover my lost blackberry en route from Tokyo and had it couriered! She refused a tip in the end too and I promised I would write a referral. Remember, just call the resort and ask for Yamada if you decide to go here, she was simply magic.

    • Stayed: March 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Kalras
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews