We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best local owned Japanese hotel I've ever been to.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kinta Naeba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kinta Naeba
1 review
“One of the best local owned Japanese hotel I've ever been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This amazing artsy hotel was fantastic! I looked at reviews before we went and their website was very English friendly. There directions helped us a lot and the owner even called me when we got to Tokyo. The food is some of the best culinary I've had in Japan. I currently live in Okinawa and love it there but visiting mt Naeba was an amazing experience. I wish I could come back this year for Rock festival! The room are comfy and was perfect for my husband and I. The outdoor bath was very relaxing. The quality of care they give you is hard to come by these days. If I ever get to come back I know where to go. Also the pricing was very affordable compared to other places next door. The skis we rented here were a lot cheaper than prince hotel. Overall A plus !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartonsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I had been traveling to Japan for so many years and have been many different kind of ski resorts. I never expected a hotel service like this. First of all, the hotel owner claimed that their hotel is very close to the ski resort, 5 min walk. It is a lie. You at least need to walk 10 to 15 min because the road have snow all over. Second, they claimed that they have ski passes to sell but they actually give you a seasonal pass and then charge you the full amount of what you would pay in the resort counter. The most annoyed part is they even charge you 5% tax on the ski pass and you don't need to pay this tax in the counter. I did not like this hotel and would never want to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kintanaeba, オーナー at The Kinta Naeba, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
This is quite unfortunate for both of us and we are very sorry that our service made the guest so unhappy .
But we have to tell the fact exactly what happened and is .

1, Distance to the skiing place.
It is 200m to the ticket office and the entrance of skiing field from the hotel.
Most of the time the road to there is quite well maintain and Snow are
wiped out .Usually takes 3~4 minutes by walking ,could be longer for a child .
From the entrance it is about 150 meter to closest lifts.
We are informing the distance and time to get the entrance of the ski field.
If you see the Google map ,it is quite obvious and clear.

2, For last 30 years we never sold the pass more expensive than the ticket office. At that time the guest stayed , we offer the pass 1000 ~ 1500 Yen cheaper / day than the office.
As we declare tickets sales as revenue we have
to charge the consumption tax. It depends on a hotel that the price is tax inclusive or not. At that time we show the all items of invoice not inclusive.
We are now selling the pass all inclusive and sell it only on cash so that we never charge tax or service charge later at checking out.

We still feel sorry that the misunderstand happen to the guest from some reason of our hotel and it caused the misinformation from the guest.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Kinta from December 30 to January 2. We are a family of 7 (5 kids and 2 adults). We were given 2 Tower-deluxe rooms that faced the Ski slopes. Beautiful view, comfortable accommodations and fantastic food! We looked forward to all our breakfasts and dinners at the Kinta. Truly a very charming family-run hotel. Kinta-san, his wife and his son made our stay even better. They are warm, friendly and accommodating.

Kinta-san also outfitted all of us for skiing. The only draw back was having to trek to the slopes with all our gear. It wasn't far, just about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, but with little kids constantly dropping something, the walk seemed longer. But, I wouldn't have given up staying at the KInta for that.

The was one of our best family holidays yet. Thanks to Kinta-san and his family! We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vpjalandoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Kinta. Mainly thanks to Kinta-san, his wife and his son - a true family run hotel that makes you feel very welcome and a holiday we will remember for a long time. The hotel is very idiosyncratic in its styling and architecture - with a blend of Japanese and other styles - for example Japanese rooms, Onsen but a Scandinavian style fire place and sitting area in the lobby. The cuisine is the same blending Japanese with European (mainly Italian) with excellent results.
The meals were a standout feature - with excellent quality and variety at every meal. In Ryokan style everybody sits down to eat at the same time, but with incredible efficiency everyone enjoys an unhurried relaxing meal, piping hot food every time, impeccable service and good wines.
They offer very good quality ski and boot rental in the hotel - which is much better than traipsing out to a rental shop. Location is excellent - short walk to the slopes. (Only the Prince can better it - but who wants to stay in a monolithic anonymous complex like that?).

The only negative of our stay was the several guests on the last night who decided to stay up singing and shouting in the nearby rooms and corridors, banging doors until the early hours of the morning, robbing us of a good nights sleep. (Very unexpected from Japanese in a Japanese hotel). Mostly the other guests were families with young children who were lovely.

Room Tip: Depeding on availability you have to choose between Standard - with no bath/shower etc (use the Onse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Me and my 12 year old traveled to Japan to ski, and despite the earthquake we made our way to the Kinta. I had high expectations and was not disapointed. The room, meals, every detail was exceptional. Walking down to the lifts was an easy 6 or 7 minute FLAT walk. Kinta-San and his son set us up with rental skis and lift tickets. The Gondola that connects Mt. Naeba was not running, so they gave us a ride to the Kagura ski area early one morning which was great.
I could tell these folks truly enjoyed having us and took great pride in providing a first class experience. I hope to be able to return next season!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakeindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Stayed in a japanese style room, which was very comfortable and warm. Mostly Japanese guests when I have stayed there, the resort owner speaks good english and is a fan of a mix italian/french/japanese cuisine. not cheap though

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

A very friendly host and staff. The kids were made to feel as welcome as the adults.

There was great food every day including freshly baked bread every morning. Even the fussy eaters were impressed.

The hotel is itself is architecturally interesting with great attention to detail. There is original artwork throughout including some original Frank Loyd Wright fixtures.

Although we arrived very late in the season the snow was good. The ski runs were uncrowded and extensive. We did not even have time to explore some of the other mountains accessible from Naeba.

A slight negative was the walk from the hotel to the ski fields. Although relatively short (300-400m) it was not easy carrying 2 sets of gear at the end of the day.

Overall the our stay at the Kinta was excellent and the highlight of our trip in Japan

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CORSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuzawa-machi hotels
Naeba Onsen
Annex Kashiwaya
Annex Kashiwaya
#39 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Laforet Naeba
#62 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Naeba Prince Hotel
#7 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
NASPA New Otani
NASPA New Otani
#2 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Hotel Musashi
#60 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Naeba Onsen
Oyado Honjin
Oyado Honjin
#30 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinta Naeba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinta Naeba

Property: The Kinta Naeba
Address: 469-91 Mikuni, Minamiuonuma-gun, Yuzawa-machi 949-6212, Niigata Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Minamiuonuma-gun > Yuzawa-machi > Naeba Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Yuzawa-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kinta Naeba 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Kinta is small size cozy and quality concerning hotel which can never be reached by big hotels. the Kinta offers high quality spaces without compromises. the Kinta combines a modern posterior with chiche smooth concrete and wooden interior. the rooms and service have all been designed to meet the guests desires of quality time of eating, drinking and sleeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your The Kinta Naeba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kinta Naeba Japan/Yuzawa-Machi, Niigata Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing