We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good, but it needs to be broken down”
Review of Naeba Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Naeba Prince Hotel
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overall very good, but it needs to be broken down”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Like many other reviews here, I agree. The hotel is sad and feels like it had its hey-day many many moons ago. However, yes, the location is absolutely unbeatable for a ski-in, ski-out holiday.

We came at the end of the season so many lifts and restaurants were already shut but it was still a good experience. The best bit was going over via the Dragondola to Kagura. For our last day skiing, it was sadly shut due to bad weather.

The restaurants were not great but again, we were limited due to the time of our visit - so no fault of the hotel and I can only comment on what was open for us.

The sushi restaurant was very good and we went twice. The breakfast options were not great but sufficient enough especially if it is already included in your package.

The room we had was HUGE. There was a bit of confusion about our room (our issue) but the manager contacted me beforehand to discuss the situation. We selected a mountain facing room but it was designated as smoking. I asked the manager to do what he could to remove the smell and the staff did a wonderful job.

The staff we encountered were really fantastic from check in to check out to restaurants. Zero complaints there.

Would I go back? Yes.. And it seems like a great 'starter' slope for kids and new skiers but still entertaining for more advanced skiers especially Kagura.

The location, easy ski in was unbeatable but I do wish the hotel was upgraded a bit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LookingForAnOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    149
    127
    31
    16
See reviews for
167
72
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is definitely past it's prime and may actually be the most run-down of the Prince Hotel chains in existence, but is not a bad place to stay since it is located right on the slopes of the Naeba mountain ski resort. The building is part of a sprawling complex of stores and restaurants, pretty much giving it a feeling of a small city. The rooms are small, but nice enough, but certainly wouldn't be considered luxury accommodations by any means. A short walk into town and you can find other stores and restaurants. The lack of wifi in rooms is a little disappointing, but not a major problem if you aren't counting on wifi at all.

The ski/snowboard school on premises is pretty good and they offer indoor preparation before actually going out on the mountain which may ease the fear of people, especially children who are learning for the first time.
It is accessible by the Prince hotel service bus from Echigo Yuzawa station (approx. 70 minutes from Tokyo Station by Shinkansen)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Firstly, it is a great location. Very cool to walk straight out to the gondola and nice view at night. There are really good facilities for kids here, especially the ski school. That said.....
I think they're a bit cheeky with what they are charging customers because it is pretty shabby. The couch in my twin room should have had the covers changed about 10 years ago and the carpet looked like somebody had been murdered on it. Big dark stain surely reminded me of "The Shining". The night meal included in the cost was tasty but too small. We needed a late night snack to make up for it. I guess the only way to make money on this monstrosity is to cut maintenance. Hoping for improvement.

Room Tip: Try not to choose building number 6. It's a little far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We hesitated a bit to book this hotel as most reviews confirm this is an older hotel in need of renovation. This is correct but we did not bother too much and had a fantastic stay. The location is really fantastic. Directly st the ski lifts with a practical locker for each room and ski rental in the lobby. Add the free shuttle bus from the train station and you can concentrate on fun, family time, skiing without any hassle.
We booked the cheapest room (19m2, view on the parking lot). Room was old, tiny and the beds where old (worn out). It was big enough to fit a baby cot, warm, well working shower, silent = all we needed at a fair price (Y 11,500/night = EUR 75). We can not complain at this price.
We used the daycare for our son a couple of hours. They only speak Japanese but it was great for 2 hours of skiing together. Daycare is really for toddlers (I would say up to 2,5 years old).

We were lucky with great weather and very much fresh snow - we would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Building 3 and 4 seem quite well located. Even the "parking lot" rooms have view on mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvschaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I only stayed here due it it's proximity on the mountain as a ski-in, ski-out hotel. For that alone, it's very good. The complex is huge as a number of restaurants down brick corridors with no windows and there really seems to be a strange feeling around the place.... like faded glory and like a ghost-town. Wifi only seems to work in places on the ground floor and the larger restaurant areas are deserted in the evening. The room was a bit of a let down, though sold as non-smoking with non-smoking signs inside the room, it reeked of smoke (from the curtains and furniture) and also very confusingly, there was an ashtray in the room. The furniture and bedding were very dated but as I got this as a special offer, I can't complain too much. If I had to pay full price for this hotel, I think I'd feel a bit disappointed. The staff spoke English tentatively but were helpful when pressed. The Bell captain was very helpful to book my seat on their free shuttle bus (leaves on the hour) back to Echigo-Yuzawa station. The friendliest I'd seen the staff was waving the bus off as we departed. Overall, the hotel is great if you get the special deal and want to be on the mountain. Otherwise, it's probably too creepy and expensive for me to stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiskyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I visited with my family. My younger daughter was the 1st timer but there was enough room for her
to learn skiing. There were a lot of lessons available but looked a little bit expensive.
Good thing for kids was that the lifts are free if kids are under 12 yo. Snow is excellent and almost no
icey slope. It was quite different from Chicago snow. (Actually it was not snow... Shaved ice.) My older
girl was so excited.
There are 2 ropeways. One is going up to the top of mountain quickly. You will have long way to come
down. The other one is connectted to adjacent another skiing place. This is huge area.

The hotel is quite convenient. You can go down to get your gears then the lifts are in front of you. You can
use your locker don't need to carry your gears at all. There are various restaurants then you can
choose what you want. I took direct bus line which starts from Shinagawa Price Hotel and arrives
in front of check in lounge. It was comfortable, convenient and cheap.

Room Tip: Better go to the hotel website directly. You can find various package deal such as rent gear free, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three days. Very helpful and nice staff.
We could rent the ski equipment in the hotel and the mountain Naeba was right behind the hotel. Unfortunately not a lot of tracks were open in early December. But there were two other ski mountains nearby I.e. Futai and Mitsumata. Just 15 minute bus from Naeba. Can also get there from Naeba with Dragondola.
Ski rental and ski lesson were reasonably priced.

Room was clean. Wifi was only available in the lobby.

Good place to stay at if you wanna ski in Naeba!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuzawa-machi hotels
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
NASPA New Otani
NASPA New Otani
#2 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
234 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Hotel Angel Grandia
Hotel Angel Grandia
#3 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
203 reviews
Naeba Springs Hotel
#33 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa
Hotel Sierra Resort Yuzawa
#1 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
113 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Yuzawa Grand Hotel
Yuzawa Grand Hotel
#5 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
126 reviews
Echigoyuzawa Onsen
Yuzawa New Otani
Yuzawa New Otani
#6 of 93 in Yuzawa-machi
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naeba Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naeba Prince Hotel

Property: Naeba Prince Hotel
Address: 202 Mikuni, Minamiuonuma-gun, Yuzawa-machi 949-6292, Niigata Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Minamiuonuma-gun > Yuzawa-machi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yuzawa-machi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yuzawa-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Naeba Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its prime position next to the ski lifts in the enormously popular ski resort of Naeba, the hotel has everything a winter sports lover could want and more. In the summer, the hotel transforms into the perfect resort for warm weather activities including golf and tennis. The Naeba Prince Hotel offers a total of 1,782 rooms. It also provides a dazzling array of restaurants and bars featuring everything from French and Italian cuisine to authentic Japanese and Chinese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Naeba Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Naeba
Prince Hotel Yuzawa Machi
Naeba Prince Hotel Japan/Yuzawa-Machi, Niigata Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing