We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakeley Arms Bar

Oakeley Arms Bar
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Maentwrog
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Meals are ordered and paid for at the bar.
1 review
“Terrible!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Passing the Oakley arms hotel and think it's a quaint pub that would be a friendly place to sit and have a meal, well don't let the pretty exterior fool you! If you go inside expect unfriendly, incompetent staff who are more interested on flirting with young girls drinking at the bar than they are in actually doing their job. Expect to wait at least an hour for your food to be cooked and served to you, with an extra ten minutes in between for each party member to receive their said ordered meal and that's if they remember to bring all your meals to the table and at that not all the dishes were complete. Also expect music that you would only appreciate if your partially tone deaf or a parent of the saxophonist.

Overall poor service, unhelpful staff when you enquire about your missing meals and food is overpriced for what you get. Would never recommend to anyone, I would suggest that you avoid this place at all costs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    18
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stopped for lunch whilst visiting family, the food was tasty and reasonably priced for the area. The staff were very pleasant and we will visit again when the weather is warmer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liderth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Bar, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to place a review. look forward to seeing you again in the future:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“OaKley Arms OK: nothing more Wifi: what wifi?!?”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We left our hotel before 11am and drove a beautiful coastal route to Aberdovey via Barmouth, Dolgellau etc.
We opted to try here - circa 6.30pm - for a quick & easy meal.
Dated decor, poor choice of beer (deceptive Bass sign outside - Bass not served) terrible choice of wine (Stowells: only red a Merlot) and horrid sticky dirty bar menus put us off - thankfully - ordering food in this empty hostelry on a Tuesday in half term.

Glad we returned to our gorgeous hotel again.

Would not be enticed to return here...very unwelcoming.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic pub grub in spacious surroundings”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Good quality food off a fairly small menu. Prices reasonable and service was good. Large pub and fairly quiet when we went. We would be happy to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rogercliffe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Bar, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The food at the oakeley was lovely,the sunday carvery being my favourite,it was pretty busy when I was there last,but to me that says a good meal,and a lot of people must also know that,i will definitely be going back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 685Susan102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oakeley Arms Bar also viewed

Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Oakeley Arms Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing