We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to have the Grapes back, but elements are still questionable”
Review of The Grapes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grapes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Maentwrog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Walked in, well not really - the front door was locked - only 5.15pm! Some nice changes, looked bright and clean, the lounge bar was mainly unchanged in it decor and the fact that staff and/or friends of staff we still lolling around draped over chairs etc. Waited at the bar for service a little to long, was told "XXXXXXX" (can't remember name) was round the corner in the public bar (chatting to locals actually). Eventually was served by one of the 'loungers'. Asked if table available - no fully booked. Thats fine, nice to see a place doing good trade, but seperate to us (we went back to the Golden Fleece in Tremadog - worth remembering should this happen to you) a couple appeared speaking with I think an Oz accent, and were also told that - sorry tables tonight. It turned out, if the girl had listened first, they were residents and had been told on booking in that they could eat in the hotel tonight, but no-one had booked them a table. They were offered a table in the public bar. I know it is small, but if from the earlier reviews if they are to get back the reputation the Grapes once held then details really matter.

Room Tip: Cannot comment as use only for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank welshnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, Manager at The Grapes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Welshnewton,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip adviser. I am rather disappointed that being fairly local, you felt that you could not bring these points to me personally.

with regards to the door being locked, we are open all day from 12 until 11.30, unfortunately the front door does sometimes self close, due to the draft coming through the building with the public bar door being open. for this i apologize. I have now rectified this issue.

With regards to the staff "lounging", again i can only apologize, this is definitely not the impression we are trying to convey. I will of course look into this and rectify with immediate effect.

We do operate a table booking system, as we can get very busy during peak times, it is very disappointing that you were not given the option to wait and perhaps have a drink at the bar until a table became free.

As you can appreciate, we are still a young business and team to boot, without feedback we can not improve our service etc.

Please accept my apologies, and if you would like to please get in touch with me personally, i would be happy to try and rectify your view of this great little pub.

Kindest regards

Mathew Pugsley
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Planning visiting Snowdonia National Park this recently modernised hotel could prove a good base. Friendly and welcoming staff, clean and comfortable rooms and great food served efficiently in restaurant overlooking a great view. Good range of local beers in a comfortable lounge and public bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Warm, welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere here with excellent food and accommodation, well kept local real ales too. There is a very comfortable lounge bar and restaurant for diners but also a proper public bar which is sadly missing from some establishments these days. All staff are friendly and laid back but efficient and motivated, being led by a manager who knows what he’s about. Most importantly, this place has retained it’s status as the village pub catering for local people and visitors alike, and doing it well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Just to say this really was a fantastic stay and really great value for money. The rooms was to a excellent standard clean and modern Food was great and staff was great and chilled out . Thank you very much sam Claire and rose

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We chanced upon the Grapes Hotel whilst on a tour of North Wales. We were met with a very warm welcome- superb rooms, with great views and lovely and clean, good comfy bed and well equipped bathroom. Food was very good, we ate dinner in the evening, after a lovely relax in the sunny gardens of the hotel, food was home cooked, very generous portions and reasonably priced. Breakfast was perfect too, we were very well catered for. I really recommend and we will definitely go again! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The best black pork ribs in Wales
Great atmosphere with excellent beer
In the beautiful countryside of North Wales
This place has character and I have enjoyed many a night sampling the food and fine ales
Well worth a visit, if your passing or for a short break

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed a night with some friends as part of a mounting biking trip. The pub is very close to Antur Stiniog so a great location if you are aiming there. We arrived during a serious rain storm, covered in mud and were greeted with a warm welcome. After a quick shower, in newly refurbished rooms, we headed to the bar and enjoyed some local ales and a fine evening in the restaurant with good food and a great atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schweenmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, Manager at The Grapes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Schweenmachine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip adviser. I am so glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Mat & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maentwrog
10.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
18 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,364 reviews
4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Glanddwyryd
Glanddwyryd
#2 of 2 in Maentwrog
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Grapes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Hotel

Address: Maentwrog LL41 4HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Maentwrog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maentwrog
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grapes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grapes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Maentwrog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing