We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird atmosphere”
Review of The Grapes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grapes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Maentwrog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weird atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Giving that I've heard good things about the place I thought I'd give it a try.
Most of the wines on the wine list were 'sold out'.
Waited 50 mins for the starters in a room that looked more like a kitchen! no candles, too bright and sticky tables.
Very basic menu.
FROZEN chips, I asked if they we're fresh homeade ones and the waitress (that hardly had any facial expressions) replied 'they're cooked here'.

I will not be returning for a bar meal again, I'll stick to drinking at the bar.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CymruBendigedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    63
    13
    11
    16
See reviews for
55
85
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Waited for a bar meal for over 80 minutes, with some people waiting even longer. No updates on delay, just left looking at knives & forks. Staff not concerned at all. Also good a bit pricy and not good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having stayed in Holiday Cottages before in Maentwrog , we thought we would have a weekend in the village and stay at the pub.
It was great to see Simon back in charge, he greeted us warmly and remembered us from visiting the pub over 18 months ago!
Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble , and we were made to feel at home and welcome .
The room was cosy and had a lovely view of the church and hills beyond.
Food in the evening and at breakfast times was excellent , large portions and excellent value.
We will return again soon.
Phil & Karen

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear , over looking the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights as a base for climbing snowdon and exploring the area, all of which are in easy reach, The hotel was lovely as were the staff, always asking how our day had been and giving advice of places to visit. The food was amazing, huge portions which we're well cooked & very tasty.
We're hoping to come back in the summer & will be booking again at the Grapes!X

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waghorndaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramelton, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great staff, great food and a very nice location. The hotel has changed hands quite recently and the new owners may still be finding their way but they have a good attitude and that makes up for any small mistakes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It was a really great place to stay. Met by friendly helpful staff who assisted with my luggage. Settled me into my room and gave me all the details of meals available and made me feel very welcome. The dinner was lovely as was the breakfast. The room was clean and quiet and the facilities excellent. Good local knowledge and happy to have friendly chats. Very good price for room.
Would stay again!

Room Tip: Not applicable as any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very friendly staff, nice rooms and good food at very reasonable prices! Nice location with great views! The breakfast was just lovely and you get a good choice. Nice pub with a good atmosphere and a menu that is varied and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maentwrog
5.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Hotel

Property: The Grapes Hotel
Address: Maentwrog LL41 4HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Maentwrog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maentwrog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grapes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Grapes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Maentwrog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing