We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The Grapes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grapes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Maentwrog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in January & came back to do mount snowdon in the better weather.
I cannot fault this hotel, Simon does a great job & always with a smile, nothing is too much trouble! Great food & drink as always & a great place to stay & visit north wales...we hope to come back again soon
Natalie & Paul x

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waghorndaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Grapes for the second time , although we have visited there for drinks and meals several times before .
Our greeting was again warm and welcoming from Simon and Will the barman . Food has got even better, the pork ribs are fantastic!
The bar area was always busy and had a good atmosphere with a mixture of locals and holiday makers.
Our room was very comfortable and we both slept like logs on all 3 nights.
I am sure we will both be returning again .
Phil & Karen

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear , with a view of the church and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked accommodation at the Grapes as part of a multiday walk on the Wales Coastal Path (an inland section).
I arrived quite muddy and tired and was grateful to be quickly led to my room.
It was enormous. So was the bathtub, and a hot bath was just the ticket after hours slogging through the forest on a rainy day.
Later I enjoyed a lovely meal and several pints of Welsh ale in the pub downstairs.
The next morning I was served a fine breakfast by the owner himself, Simon.
I understand The Grapes has undergone several owners and changes in recent years. This was my visit there. From my experience, I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkmirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at the Grapes for two nights over bank holiday weekend. We were very happy with all aspects of our stay, from the cleanliness of the rooms to the quality of the food (and cask ales). Simon and his staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sav1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Having read previous reviews was a little wary of trying the grapes but as we were only staying a few doors away it was so convenient. We'd called in for a drink a couple of times and found the staff very helpful and friendly and decided to have a meal on our last night. The food was great and the service really good with different staff on the night we ate. The real ales were excellent and would recommend the grapes on our experience.
My only comment to the management would be you have a lovely view out of the back of the restaurant please give your windows a clean and brush away the cobwebs from the railings.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have been here in the past and enjoyed great food , drink and atmosphere travelled a few miles to re-live the experience, should have stayed in and masse a sandwich.
Sat in bar as restaurant full but as bar empty not a problem.
Table was dirty and sticky.
Ordered food , soup was not flavour we ordered!
Waited 90 mins for main course , asked a couple of time when it was coming as my father is diabetic told a couple of minutes , 20 mins later it arrived.
not worth waiting for , streak was tasteless , cannot see how a chef can do this to a sirloin!
Lasagne was a gooey mess and again tasteless, my burger OK.
Complained to manager told us it was because we had rushed him!! Oh and also the chef was new!
He did knock of the cost of the 2 meals but whole evening ruined.
Will never go back which is a shame especially when places are struggling in this area , they need all of the business they can get.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIRKY1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were staying in a small cottage not far from this pub and we decided to have an easy tea on Friday night. We did not expect a great cuisine, but we were really surprised with it. The food is pub style (so, do not expect fancy dishes), but it was really tasty and good portions. The view on the back is amazing and gives a special atmosphere to the place. The drinks were not really special, but we loved the food. If you are around, I will recommend to have a meal here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reyna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maentwrog
5.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
10.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
61 reviews
6.6 mi away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
98 reviews
4.4 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Talsarnau
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Hotel

Address: Maentwrog LL41 4HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Maentwrog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Maentwrog
Price Range: £72 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grapes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grapes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Maentwrog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing