We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belum Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
99
224
144
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
224
144
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshornbill restaurantlake viewdeluxe suitebamboo raftinginfinity poolboat ridebreakfast and dinnernight walksalt lickoutdoor activitiesrafflesia flowerday tourkuala lumpurala cartenearest town isno alcoholtheir website
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The food in this hotel is terrible and extremely over priced. They are literally unable to cook an egg. Malaysian style food was without taste, western style was undercooked.
The tours on offer look great but the guides do not provide any information. The groups are way to big for the sights. The visit to the Orang Asli (natives) was felt very uncomfortable and felt like entering a petting zoo. This was the worst part of our round trip in Malaysia.
p.s. The rafflesia in this area does not get any bigger than 30cm. The huge ones grow in Borneo and that is the picture they use.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelumAM, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback. We truly apologise for any shortcomings of your stay. We are taking all actions to improve the quality of our food and have taken your comments into consideration to improve our level of services.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival at the resort one immediately sees the contemporary design. The lobby fits very well to the surroundings allthough modern and also the major part of the resort is well desinged. Some parts could use a bit more natural feel but all in all a really impressive resort from the looks.

Check-in was not too easy, most staff is short on English, but all went well and we were transported with buggies to our rooms.

We stayed in deluxe rooms and also there the design is nice, rooms are big, nice bathroom etc. only the beds are far too hard, these are back breakers, too bad ! Also the rooms are a bit noisy, specially when people pass the doors but also we could hear the upstairs neighbours too much. The wooden floors are nice but a carpet would be better in order to avoid the noise.

The bathroom walls are semi-open and all the noise from outside hallway is coming through. This is a real design issue and has to be solved for a comfortable stay.

We were really hot and tired from the long trip and needed a dip in the pool. The pool turned out to be really over crowded and only 8 beds for 30+ guests. Ok the pool is nice, beautiful designed, but really not suitable for the size of the resort.

Then to the bar, beautiful location. Only minor part is that drinks are double priced compared to normal Malaysian prices and you have to pay cash, charging to the room is not possible.

The next door outdoor restaurant has by far the best location and view, but is only open for lunch. Really unbelievable, I am sure the major part of the guest would prefer this place anytime instead off the ugly restaurant upstairs.

Dinner in the main (crowded) restaurant. We were lucky with an outside table. Buffet style only - not really my thing but ok let's do it. Next restaurant is some 30 minutes away so not really much choice anyway.

The buffet on the 1st night was surprisingly good, specially considering the recent bad reviews on TO. A bit overpriced though. But again, really good (I tried only Malaysian food).

The 2nd night (9 August) however, complete different story. The food was extremely bad, by far the worst I ever tasted in any hotel and I have seen quit a few. They only served western food at the buffet that was cold and very bad tasting. Why does this resort not just stick to their basics, Malaysian kitchen. Please manager do not try Western style food, your cooks really do not know anything about this. I skipped dinner and just had some fresh fruits.

We also made a tour, Orang Asli village, waterfall, elephant salt lick and seen the big raffles flower. Not a bad tour but spend about half of the tour in a extremely noisy speedboat rushing from a to b to c etc unable to speak due to the engine noise. Not really back to nature and most certainly not adding to a rainforest feel. We were hoping for some wildlife, but we did not see anything.

The most important issues that need immediate attention are:
- change the matrasses
- change the outside bathroom wall design
- add more beds in the pool
- only cook Malaysian food for the buffet or get a Western chef
- open the restaurant next to the bar also for evenings and make it a la carte

There is still a lot to be done at this resort and I do hope they will pick up. The resort deserves it !

Tip: arrange transportation yourself to and from the resort. Local possibilities are extremely limited.



Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank MvdK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelumAM, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear valued guest,

We welcome any constructive criticisms by our guests as we strive to continuously improve and provide the level of standards expected. We greatly appreciate your attention to detail and have taken necessary steps to address your concerns. We look forward to having you visit us again in the near future so you can witness for yourself the improvements made. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It located middle of the lake, hence it call Banting island… I believe most of the tourist stay there because of Raffles flower, me too. It is their selling point on top of others. However end up a disappointment due to flower blooming season has gone, we came not in right time. We did write an email to clarify before we depart, however no respond from the resort. We don’t mind to adjust our schedule if they reply honestly, at least visitor won’t cancel the room and won’t feel cheated in the end. Kindly give a call if Raffles flower is your travel purpose.
Furthermore the room rate is not cheap, please make thru Agoda with reasonable rate compare with walk-in or others. The cheapest room is close to main road (East - west highway), is very noise due to trucks passing thru the whole night, I didn’t sleep well although the room is comfortable and the bed is big enough. Other rooms close to the lake site will be ideally stay, however that will be luxury price.
Besides Raffles flower, the resorts do provide many activities, the swimming pool looks attractive. I went to spice garden, end up mosquito attacked, please prepare mosquito repellent.

Room Tip: The cheapest room rate is the noisy room at the highway site...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WeilekHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelumAM, Director of Sales at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi!,

First of all i would like to apologize on our behalf for not answering the email you send to us about the raffles flower. Besides that i hope you had a good time in Belum Rainforest Resort.
Because we are a Resort that wants to keep improving. I would like to ask you if you could fill out our survey, it will only take 5-7 minutes.
You can copy the link and paste it in the navigation/adress bar:
http://kwiksurveys.com/s.asp?sid=pwsk3btrrlalt98400033

Thank you very much,

Belum Rainforest Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The only thing I recommend this hotel for is the possibility to do the round trip on the lake, which is really an amazing touch with nature.
However, several things were dissatisfying.
First of all, and main, the bathroom in the room was dirty: on the cabinet there were signs of old "liquids", what is really disgusting and terrible.
Matresses are really hard: not to easy to fall asleep, in my opinion.
Food was poor: breakfast doesn't offer anything interesting neither doesn't dinner. The quality is mediocre.
An highlight is the swimming pool: amazing structure on the lake view.
Unofortunately, I don't feel like to suggest this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Silvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelumAM, Director of Sales at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi!

First of all I want to apologize on the behalf of Belum Rainforest Resort.
The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory.
Because we don' t want this to happen Belum Rainforest Resort wants to keep improving, so i would like to ask you if you could fill in our survey which takes 5-7 minutes.
You can copy the link and paste it in your navigation/adress bar:
http://kwiksurveys.com/s.asp?sid=pwsk3btrrlalt98400033

Thank you very much and our apologies.

Belum Rainforest Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Hotel is located on the main road just when you enter Banding Island and the Belum Rainforest. The Buildings all feature a very modern design and the rooms are very spacious. All buildings are designed to be eco friendly and there are ponds with fish between the walkways to the various buildings. The reception is very open and so is the whole concept of the resort. On a few buildings they have installed terraces so you can enjoy the view on the lake. The staff at check-in was friendly although not quite what we have experienced in other places in Malaysia.
The breakfast buffet was very good, with an egg station and plenty of choices. The dinner buffet was ok, but not great. The restaurant seemed a bit too small to accommodate a fully booked resort and there are no alternatives around. Also all you got for dinner was water and juice. However that didn't spoil the overall experience. We did not expect a modern design hotel in the rainforest and were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralf_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelumAM, Guest Relations Manager at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to know that you like the contemporary design and sustainable theme of our resort. As we want to continuously improve and serve our guests better, we are addressing the matters highlighted by your goodself. We look forward to your next visit at our resort in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews