We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belum Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerik
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights on our roundtrip of the Malay Peninsula and liked it very much.
We had a superior lakefront room with partial view of the lake and direkt view on the fish pond. Unfortunatly the room had twin beds and no king-size bed. They told us that the superior lakefront rooms have all twin beds which is not published on their internet page. If you like to have a lakefront room with king-size you have to upgarde to a Deluxe Room which we didn't. But this was the only disappointing point.
The food was really lovely. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel upper restaurant every day. The buffet had malay and western dishes which were perfect (e. g. different fish and meat dishes or "al dente" pasta). For lunch there is another restaurant where you can order Fried Noodles, Sandwiches, Fries etc. The Fried Noodles were some of the best we had in Malaysia.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WNDC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

Basically, we were very disappointed with this resort. Firstly, we were not informed it is a "dry" resort, not that we are raging alcoholics, but even soft drinks would be nice at the end of another hot and sweaty day. So for entertainment in the evenings, with no tv remember, we were reduced to playing "Scrabble" in the "restaurant" to the sound of big bugs dying horribly and noisily in the bug zappers. Our room was on the upstairs landing with the interesting view of the staff car-park and recycling bins, not what we were expecting at all. Not to mention the busy and noisy road nearby. But it was very new and clean. Now on to breakfast, this reminded us of a youth hostel where you are presented with bare tables in the middle of the room and the buffet against the walls. The food is still not to everyones taste and below par.
There was a trip organised on the lake which took us to the native village, rafflesia plant, salt lick and waterfall, by boat. The boat going flat out took an hour to reach the village, so no good if you get sea sick! The natives were bribed by our guides with sweets etc; but took it ungraciously, glared and wandered off, do they really want us to call? it appeared to be an unwelcome intrusion that nobody on either side enjoyed.
To get to the plant, salt lick and waterfall was a nightmare, as there is no jetties provided, the boats are beached and you have to get off the best way you can. Not easy for some of our group who were elderly and were wearing inappropiate footwear. You may also miss the salt lick if you blink! not impressed! considering the trek involved. To get to the waterfall is all right if youre used to clinging on to rocks with a rope handrail..
So, overall we thought 2 nights were long enough for our stay here, but there is room for improvement and it has the potential to please everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DustySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We almost did not make it to the resort and also the beautiful experiences we had at the Belum rainforest. Earlier we had an impression that the Belum Rainforest Resort was a shabby place as based on our past years memories while we passed the road to Kelantan, the place was nothing impressive or to be look upon.

However a search at the trip advisor changed our mind after reading through the reviews. Personally for me, the resort itself is a nature's sanctuary. Designed with many natural elements, I was certainly impressed to find elements of wood, water and greeneries everywhere around the resort.

Being a new butterfly enthusiast, I was caught surprised with the many varieties of butterflies surrounding the resort. Ask my boyfriend on my excitement with the butterflies and he will tell you I certainly look like a little girl with a new doll chatting non- stop. For those fish and bird lovers and even plants, this is definetely a place to come by. The resort itself has a Herbal Garden trail, though lacking in information but the well manned trail can be simply a walk for leisure at anytime of the day.

As for the facilities and service within the resort, I will give it an A to B. The room was pleasant (except for the bed which was really hard - we kept comparing it to the Eastin Hotel bed which we at last month) with the basic ammenities. View was really great with non-blocking of the trees. We had direct view to the lake from the Melia block and side views to the restaurant. Service at the resort were average. The resort can definetely improve their service with having staff improving their command of English. For such a great place to come by, communication is the key for success.

Food at the restaurant was decent. Breakfast was nothing fanciful but merely enough to sustain the standard of the resort. The muffins served should be warm up instead of being chilled. As for dinner, we ordered a set of Western Dinner which came with a mushroom soup (too salty and thick), Lamb shoulder (good portion and taste) and fruit platter (never came). We also tried their Fettucine Carbonara (fair), and mango kerabu (I love this).

Overall, the trip to the resort and its activities were delighful. We took up the Temenggor Walk activity which was at RM180 per pax. It's worth to go with the experiences we had from the activities (Raflesia bud sighting only, elephant salt lick, orang asli settlement and waterfall). I would certainly recomend this place for all nature lovers! Come now before the resort and rainforest got too discovered!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babytomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Hello, we stayed at the Belum Rainforest resort for 2 days. We intended to stay there one night and get into the jungle. After the night in the luxorius rooms we discovered that the government didn't give us the permit to get in the jungle. This was quit a deception for us. Especially Nida did everything to make ut up with us.

Our experiences was not that good, but the resort could not do anything about it. It was just the military who screwed our holiday.

Greetings Peter Hage and friends

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superhagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed 3 nights at RM200 for the run-of-house (meaning whichever room is available) and got the most basic superior garden view. Think we are paying for the location and the view more than anything else. Service was pretty good though, especially with the counter staff who were friendly and polite. The restaurant staff could do with a little more initiative.

Room was big and airy, but note that there is no bathtub. That is rather understandable, as it is touted as a eco-friendly resort. No TV, no radio, but there's a fridge and a safe in the room.

Breakfast was included in the price so we ate there for 2 mornings but nothing spectacular. Prices for lunch and dinner were definitely not attractive so we actually made the 45 min drive to Gerik everyday for dinner. People who don't intend to do that can choose to stock up on instant noodles/biscuits/bread and drinks at the Gerik supermarkets on the way to the resort.

DO go to the Gerik night market to get a feel and taste of local culture. Lot's of yummy food at great prices, but we were told it's open only Thursdays and Fridays. Jostle with the locals as they shop not only for the food, but also fruits, vegetables, poultry and fish!

We did not sign up for any of the resort's tour packages but instead found a boatman willing to take us around for the entire day for a reasonable price. However, you have to be conversant in Malay to do this as some of the locals speak little English.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miaows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Our family made a trip to the Belum Rainforest Resort with the intention to experience the rainforest environment. However, as we found out when we arrived the resort isn't located in the thick of the Belum Rainforest but rather on an island (named Pulau Banding) quite a distance from the rainforest proper. Note: the island is the mid point of the east-west highway to Kelantan and is connected by bridges.

What this meant was that most of the activities are not located in the vicinity of the resort and you had to pay extra for the excursions (e.g. to view the orang asli village, to trek to view the Rafflesia flower, to go rafting, etc). Furthermore the excursions are not cheap and doing a few of them will easily cost as much as (or more than) the room rate!

Coming back to the resort itself, we stayed in the Deluxe Lake View rooms, which as others have mentioned don't have enough of the lake view since trees obscure part of it. The room itself is quite large and furnished to 4-star standard. It was clean and fairly well appointed (comes with in room safe but lacks hair dryer). The bed was too firm for my taste though. And there's no TV.

The resort only has 1 restaurant which serves decent food. The menu has a variety of local and western dishes. Pricing is hotel standard (meaning not cheap). For cheaper food, there's a Malay stall at the jetty. There's no pool and you're not allowed to swim in the lake either.

At the end of the day, the Belum Rainforest Resort is merely a gateway. To experience the full rainforest you would need to sign up for the excursions or make arrangements to stay at their base camp. All this adds to the cost and as such a full stay with activities is not a value proposition. So this would be a qualified "yes" recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

this is no place for the city slicker looking for a designer holiday in the jungle. if you understand that you are coming to experience nature, live, eat and sleep simply, chill, then belum is a wonderful alternative platform (vs. taman negara) to enjoy the best of malaysian tropical outdoors.

the drive from KL may be abit long but with a brunch in ipoh and a tehtarik break in gerik, the journey can be pleasant. the roads were surprisingly good.

having seen the new hotel published in several design magazines, the first impression did not disappoint. even my kids were impressed. the construction materials used are simple but applied imaginatively - the unfinished timber wall panels, the broken brick walls, branches for balcony railings, skylights - all very complementary to the rustic character of the setting.

rooms dont come with TV's (neither does pangkor laut resort) but WIFI is excellent. rooms are very cozy and fairly spacious. my kids got in touch with simpler pleasures like badminton, pingpong, darts and carroms - and enjoyed them!

unlike the surrounding views, the food isnt spectacular. maybe the F&B manager can do something about it. the prices for the excursions are also quite high.

btw, the hotel under construction across the bridge is really really ugly!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tiniamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deezzul, The Management of Belum Rainforest Resort at Belum Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2009

Dear Ms Tiniamed,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback on your recent visit to our Belum Rainforest Resort.
It is certainly a pleasure to note that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at our resort. As for your discontentment on F&B, kindly rest assured that we are taking the necessary action to improve our F&B quality.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Belum Rainforest Resort soonest!

Best Regards,

The Management of Belum Rainforest Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerik
24.2 mi away
Mandarin Betong
Mandarin Betong
#2 of 4 in Betong
43 reviews
24.4 mi away
Betong Merlin Hotel
Betong Merlin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Betong
14 reviews
70.3 mi away
Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Belum Adventure Camp
Belum Adventure Camp
#1 of 3 in Gerik
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Belum Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belum Rainforest Resort

Address: Pulau Banding, Gerik 33200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Hulu Perak District > Gerik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerik
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belum Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belum Rainforest Resort is one of Malaysia's premier ecotourism holiday destinations. Set in the midst of a tropical paradise, Pulau Banding, the Belum Rainforest Resort, is everything nature-lovers and holiday-goers expect in a getaway destination: complete relaxation and serenity, stunning views and surroundings, adventure, and the chance to get close to nature.With the Belum-Temengor Rainforest literally at their doorstep, guests at the resort will have a rare opportunity to experience the soothing beauty and mystery of the vast jungle, which has remained untouched for centuries. Nature lovers will revel at the chance to observe the beauty of plants and scenery that can be found only rarely elsewhere. Meanwhile, thrilling outdoor activities await adventure seekers who crave for adrenaline-pumping experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belum Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belum Rainforest Hotel Gerik
Belum Rainforest Resort Malaysia/Gerik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing