We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanmist Cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lockeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Mist Cottages
Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a great place to stay. The cottages are very clean and all the comforts of home. I loved the propane stove as it was a stormy cool weekend. Don't let the weather stop you from going as the scenery is amazing during the stormy weather. The cottages are located directly on the most beautiful beach. The town of Lockeport is a beautiful town and you can park your car and walk to everything in town. We will most certainly go back to Lockeport and Oceanmist Cottages for a visit

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

This was our first time staying at Ocean Mist in the wintertime, and what a lovely time we had! Once we unpacked, the first thing we did was revisit the beach. Crescent Beach is wonderful to walk on—the shoreline is long and wide and the twice-daily low tides expose an expansive beach of firm, clean sand that is easy for anyone to walk, or skip, or dance upon. The setting, even after many visits here, is one of constant wonder. The graceful sweep of the beach gives you a wide vantage point to see a good mile down the shore. Surrounded by unspoiled nature, and a view that is filled with the changing sea and sky, one’s senses are sharpened and almost imperceptibly, you find yourself relaxing and recovering. And that’s with just the first little walk. Imagine spending several days and nights here! That is what we did, and we are so much better for it. We spent our time on the beach, surprised that we were so comfortable, in January, walking between the dunes and the water, sun on our faces and the sound of the waves in our ears. Then back to the cottage we’d go for soup, and maybe a nap, and then out again, down to the further two beaches beyond Crescent Beach, a bit of easy climbing on the rocks down at the water’s edge, then back again for supper. Everything is easy here, easy to cook in the cottage kitchen, and if you need food or wine, a short walk to town—I mean, literally two blocks away—will get you what you need. We found that at Ocean Mist we wanted to go to bed early, lulled by the sound of the water and sleepy from all our walking; and we tended to get up early so as not to miss anything important, like the sunrise or the way the sea seems to change colour when the clouds clear. From the living room window, you can see the beach and sky and you are never far from the changing spirit and power of the sea, even tucked safely in the warmth and coziness of that tidy house. We have stayed at Ocean Mist in springtime, in the summer and in the fall, and each stay has had its special pleasures and memories. I would recommend coming here whenever you can manage it, and you will not be disappointed. This place is special at every time of year. The owners are local, hardworking and honest people who practice hospitality in the truest sense. They make you feel welcomed, and they do their best to take you in to this special place, for however short or long a visit. So many of the reviews listed here mention the owners for a reason—I imagine that like us, most guests leave Ocean Mist not only treasuring the place, but also deeply appreciating the hospitality and friendliness they have enjoyed. A stay at Ocean Mist is simply a good thing, one of those rare good things you want to return to again and again because your heart knows it is good for you.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed all the cottages and the chalet. The cottages are steps from the beach, and all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandyM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was our first visit to Ocean Mist and will not be our last. From the get-go, the owner Bill was personable and very welcoming, like chatting with an old friend. He loves to talk, is knowledgeable about the area, and makes you feel like a valued guest.

The cabins are solidly constructed, fully insulated and set back from the road. All face the beach and have their own fire pit. At low tide, the shoreline makes for a nice stroll. The cabins are fully equipped and spotlessly clean. Everything you need to prepare your own meals is available, including filters for the coffee maker and saran wrap and tin foil for any leftovers. The gas fireplace is simple to operate and really adds to the ambiance.

If you are looking for a serene location with all the amenities, I highly recommend that you check out Ocean Mist.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Me and my husband, and youngest daughter booked cottage #7 at the Ocean Mist Cottages. What a beautiful view! You can see the ocean view from this location the best. The night we arrived it was a stormy night, but it didn't stop us from sitting out on the front porch taking in all the spetacular power from the waves crashing along the rocks and shoreline. The waves were huge! It was a mild evening and it was so black out towards the sea, but you could hear the waves and feel the tranquility of the entire area. The cottage comes with a warm cozy fireplace. It was so beautiful, and the right setting for a romantic evening or just a night away from it all to enjoy with each other or with your family or even by yourself!. The cottage is fully functionable and they didnt forget a thing! It was nice to prepare a nice little meal for the three of us. My daughter(10) loved it. She couldn't get over the power of the waves and wants to return again. Hoping next time for the weather to be suitable to walk along the beach. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. I like the fact that the Cottages are open all year round! Me and my hubby travel alot and it's nice to have the option to stay at a nice Ocean view cottage instead of a regular hotel. This way you can enjoy the beautiful views and it gives you a more home feeling than a hotel does. I highly recommend staying here Staying here in the colder times is just as fun! We are planning on returning very soon and bringing our friends and having a Lobster dinner to go along wih the weekend. Maybe bring a few board games with us. We haven't checked out the local restaurants as of yet but it's nice to know you have the option there, and that your also able to bring your own food to cook if you like. Give it a try! I am sure you will enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Cottage #7 had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanalien67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My family and I recently returned from a week at the Ocean Mist cottages, and we were very happy with our experience there. The cottage was clean, the beach was close, and beautiful, and it was a quiet, relaxing week for my husband and I, and our two boys 3 and 1.

Crescent Beach was only a few steps away from the balcony of our two-bedroom cottage, and we could hear the sound of the ocean from our rooms. The beach is beautiful, with powdery white sand, but with relatively chilly water as it's directly on the Atlantic Ocean (you find warmer water on the Northumberland Strait if you're looking for a more swimable beach).

Lockeport itself is a tiny little town about 1 hr 45 minutes from Halifax, with not much in the way of amenities or dining options. There is one greasy spoon style restaurant on the waterfront (I think it was called the White Gull), and the food there was less than great - when you can't get fish and chips right at a waterfront restaurant in Nova Scotia you're doing something wrong. The other option was a more fancy place called the Parrot's Pins, which didn't look child friendly so we didn't go. Shelburne and Liverpool are easy drives, however, and each have more in the way of dining options and sight-seeing if you're tired of the beach. There is a nice town market in Lockeport, but there's a bigger Superstore in Liverpool with more options as well. There is also a small liquor store in Lockeport, but again, nothing fancy.

The cottage itself was very clean, and simply decorated. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots and pans, and there is a BBQ and firepit in each backyard area. Each cottage also has a propane stove for warmth, since these are year-round cottages. There are additional amenities available at the office including a lobster pot, washing machines, extra towels, etc. There is also wifi available at each cottage.

Other reviewers have menntioned how close the cottages are - and they are pretty close together. We didn't mind this, and never heard noises from the other cottages. One of the downsides to the close proximity was the firepits in the shared yard. I can't imagine how much smoke there would be if all of the fires were lit at once - but this was never the case when we were there.

The only other point I would mention is the up-keep of the cottages. We found the cottage VERY clean when we got there, however there were a few little niggly maintenance issues that should be addressed - i.e. the laundry line in the front of the cottage was broken, the hot water tap was on incorrectly (the hot was cold and vice versa), the door knob to the balcony was loose, and the switch on the propane stove was niggly, and needed to be babied to life. Nothing major, but as my husband pointed out, none of these are hard or expensive to fix, they just haven't been.

Overall, this is the kind of family oriented place that I would highly recommend for a relaxing summer vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreektravelHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was our first visit to Ocean Mist Cottages, and I hope it won't be our last. The cottage we stayed in was the Crow's Nest, and everything about it was wonderful. The location is perfect; peace, solitude, gorgeous beach, and all necessary amenities are only a short walk away. Bill was great to deal with - from booking through to check out - and he went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Intl_Border
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

stayed here for two nights..really lovely place. Cottages are really nice and have everything you need. I stayed on business but would love to come for a holiday. Owner is really friendly and helpfull, Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockeport
23.3 mi away
The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill
The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas...
#1 of 1 in Summerville Centre
130 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cooper's Inn
Cooper's Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
249 reviews
11.7 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Whispering Waves Cottages
13.1 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
52 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Cottages

Address: 1 Gull Rock Road, Locke Street, Lockeport, Nova Scotia B0T 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lockeport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lockeport
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Mist Cottages boasts one of the best beachfront locations in all of Nova Scotia with six fully equipped, two bedroom, beachfront units that promise to meet your every expectation. The tastefully decorated interiors of our oceanfront cottages create a cozy atmosphere that is bound to please. You'll find pine cathedral ceilings and locally crafted pine furniture with all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. Garden doors open to a spacious deck overlooking Crescent Beach where you're only a stones throw away from the Atlantic Ocean. Each of our cottages has a BBQ, picnic table, deck chairs and outside fire-pits. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist Cottages Hotel Lockeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing