We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal El Meson
Nearby Hotels
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kiuras Cafe and Restaurant(Jinotega)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Jose(Matagalpa)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Buena Onda(Matagalpa)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$34
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
3
8
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
8
9
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed here just one night i was passing through on my way to Honduras and i went downtown and i said to myself ''yes , this is what i'm looking for" , friendly staff, the price is ok 7$ clean , they give you a towel, hot water in the shower, wi-fi, excellent location, i mean, in downtown the cathedral is just around the corner.

Room Tip: ask for a lock
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

well... we stayed there for 2 nights. the first night we had a confortable double ensuite with tv and fan: it wasn't luxury but not bad for the price and quiet. the second night ( apparently it was fully booked) we stayed in what they called dorm, which is in fact more of a converted kitchenette with one hospital bed and one camping bed and not much space to move. the mattresses were in very bad conditions. one very small fan, too high up to do anything. the shared toilets were a bit cramped but the showers were nicer and spacious.
If you go there, get a private room!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeez4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel El Meson on our recent trip to Esteli. It is attractive and centrally located within easy walking distance of good restaurants and with the best souvenir shop in town right across the street. Our room was clean and had a shower with the capacity for hot water, definitely a nice option not always found in Nicaragua. The central courtyard has murals and a very pleasant sitting area. The staff was friendly and helpful and always available to open the door for us in the late evening or early morning. The owner is a Rotarian and the lobby is decorated with banners from visiting Rotarians from around the world. There is also a weekly Rotary meeting at the hotel. The only unusual thing about staying there is that at night you will hear the local security officers using whistles to signal to each other as they make their rounds at night. Once I found out what that was about, it was a comfortingly familiar sort of sound, sort of like the town crier saying "Ten o'clock and all is well..." We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoshannah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hostel is nicely located with basic rooms. The beds are quite saggy and the sheets too small to fit. The courtyard is nice and quiet - hot electric shower and wifi available. The staff at the front desk can range from extremely friendly to very lethargic. Average for the price...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hostel was full so we were directed to Hotel Meson, which also filled up within a few hours.
The room was spacious, with good light, bathroom with hot shower, towels. The people were kind and helpful, let us out at 5:30 a.m. We just needed an overnight stay before heading out to Miraflor. Don't miss Miraflor. Plan on staying there for two to three days.

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor and it was fine.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hummingbird5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews