We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hosts & Gorgeous Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Lindos Ojos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esteli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Lindos Ojos
Ranked #4 of 17 Esteli B&B and Inns
EL PASO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hosts & Gorgeous Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My friend and I recently spent a 4 day weekend at Finca Lindos Ojos. Unfortunately for me, I arrived with a stomach bug that I had picked up in Managua BEFORE I got there...but FORTUNATELY for me, I could not have received any kinder care anywhere else. The hosts delivered tea and healthy food to me as I lay pitifully in my hammock for most of my time there. When I was feeling better, it was very interesting to hear about organic farming, coffee raising, the lives of the campesinos, and the history of the region during the contra war. Truly the hosts and staff are fascinating people.

While I would have rather been hiking, the view from my hammock was lovely - thousands of butterflies, locals riding by on their horses, finca horses grazing nearby, friendly dogs, etc. Our cabin was clean and very comfortable. There is a mosquito net if wanted, but no problems with mosquitos with or without a net. If you need a 5-star hotel, then this is not the place for you - but we loved our simple but comfortable accommodations in a very special place...I could have stayed there many more days. The temperatures are chilly at night, so we appreciated the option of paying a bit more for hot water in the shower. I hope to return again so that I can actually participate in hikes and horseback riding.

My sincerest thanks to everyone at the finca for taking such good care of me!!! Gracias! (ps - I did get to finally spot sloths when I got to Costa Rica!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElPasoMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    6
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
23
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is my third straight year visiting this very special and unique place in the middle of paradise. The cloud forest is unspoiled and continually provides the serenity that my soul craves. If you need a reminder of who you really are, come here!

What makes this finca unique is their commitment to cleanliness, great food and an ambiance that makes you feel you at home. This is not easy to do in a cloud forest where nature competes with our plans. Yet, for the most part Gene and Katharina are able to pull it off! Fresh coffee from their finca is always available and the price is included. And the food? Magnificent! What an amazing time. I can't thank them enough.

Room Tip: Consider staying in the cabin. It has a European flair with plenty of water. Cabins with hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience here. Our cabin was idyllic and peaceful. The amenaties here are not for people who expect a five-star hotel in the middle of a cloud forest in Nicaragua. The place was perfect for us, and Katharina and Gene (and their staff) really made our experience both fun and interesting. They are a wealth of information and very open to sharing their experiences with guests who want to learn more about the region and its history. They are well-integrated and respectful members of the community.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chompipe840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is our second visit to this little slice of paradise. If possible we had an even better time than the first a couple years ago. This time we brought a couple of friends with a four year old.
Rooms:
We chose the cute cottages with our own porch. They are tiled, clean and airy.
The little luxuries in a natural environment like the freshly tiled showers with hot water were a nice surprise on a rugged adventure trip to the fog forest.
(we saw there is also a group room for 6 for the travelers on a shoestring budget). This is a solar powered little heaven, don't expect air conditioning. Haha.
Activities:
We enjoyed the breathtaking flora and fauna including colorful birds, orchids and even the waterfall for a refreshing dip on foot and on horseback with the Finca's guide Marcial. We heard the howler monkeys, didn't actually get to see them. What a lucky surprise that we could borrow rubber boots on a muddy day ;)
Food:
Can you say homegrown organic coffee?! The food is a delightful combination of Nica and European meals. Yum!! We even were able to make our Vegetarian in the group happy. We felt safe with hosts who know to wash fresh foods in filtered water to accommodate our American stomachs. A special surprise was a French onion soup made from scratch one night, veggie burgers, fresh avocados with eggs and a mean noodle casserole at others. Breakfast included rice and beans to remind us we are in Nicaragua!

Room Tip: We loved the cabins with all inclusive meals buffet style w. free coffee tea and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolapf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindosojos, Owner at Finca Lindos Ojos, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
hallo
it is a pleasure to share these experiences with you and i hope very much that you will return many times to Nicaragua and our place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Perhaps in the 1980's this place was revolutionary and a farm-stay leader in the Miraflor. But, sadly, the owners have gotten on in years and now are not as energetically involved as they need to be. The result is that the experience was disappointing, especially when compared to other accommodations nearby.

The owner/manager was not on site for most of the first day. The food (provided by the staff not used to cooking for guests) was basic beans and rice and way overpriced.

We went to the Miraflor to see it's amazing bird life. Although I arranged for a birding guide a month in advance, they failed to set it up. We cut our visit short.

I would recommend Finca Neblina del Bosque, the owner of which are everything Lindos Ojos is not: creative, artistic, sustainable-minded, clean, gourmet cooks, and VERY energetic. The price was right also, $25 pp with 3 meals included.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicaXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindosojos, Owner at Finca Lindos Ojos, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest

first of all I am apologizing again for not serving you completely as i had tried to. The guides in Miraflor are not so reliable and the contracted bird specialist simply did not show up.
Finca Lindos Ojos was initiated only 15 years ago, so in the 80ies we did not exist.
It is true that my husband and i am not youngsters any more, but as you can see from other comments, many guests appreciate when we share our experiences and stories.
Rice and beans: well this is what we serve besides many other ingredients for breakfast, a typical Nicaraguan food which many tourists would not like to miss, but our staff is flexible in cooking with the ingredients which are available so far away from any civilization and our food mostly consists of our own organically grown products from the finca.

The fact that our finca is a calm place, that we do not sell alcohol, that we preserve and respect nature and wish to present to our guests the best possible cloud forest experience makes in deed the difference when we are compared to our neighbors (who you mentioned in your comment), who follow a completely different concept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

PROS:
Knowledgable about flaura and fauna (owners will take you on hikes)
Hot water available for a fee
On a full working farm, animals all around
Can use there horses for hikes
CONS:
Family style food but lots of it
Dishes, coffee mugs dirty
Food was not good at all, was not prepared, or served well. Lentils, French onion soup is weird for place in nicaragua
Rooms were gross: mattresses were dirty, sheets were floral prints so couldn't tell if they were clean or not, roaches and other bugs all over the room (The ceiling and roof don't connect), I don't think the room was actually cleaned before we got there, floors were dusty and dirty.
Can't flush toilet paper

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindosojos, Owner at Finca Lindos Ojos, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
dear guest

thank you for your review and visit in finca lindos ojos. i would like to respond to some of your comments. i am glad you found positive points in our finca. concerning the food, and relating to our website, you can see that we are trying to give a variety of food to our guests, and we always hope that everyone finds some of his/her taste, our food is a fusion of nicaraguan, german and other plates, as we are also of different origins in our team. we are always very concerned about the cleanliness of our rooms, but as our place is in the middle of the nicaraguan cloud forest, there are many insects, no help to find about this, same reason to have a space between roof and wall so that the room gets ventilated and the humidity of the environment does no stay in the rooms and causes bad smell. as we have mosquito nets, our guests normally sleep well.
in no place in nicaragua you can flush the toilet paper, this is because the pipes are too narrow and would get obstructed.
we hope very much you will get back some day and you can add some more pros to your experience in our finca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greeney5
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed on this lovely farm in Dec 12 and have some very fond memories. The owners were away, however, Angellica and her husband Herbertus looked after us fantastically well. We were taken to the waterfall, shown the (many) stages of coffee processing - Angellica arranged for our 3 year old daughter to come and watch the cows being milked in the morning- which delighted her, and showed us how farmers use slightly different techniques to those in the UK. We took a wonderful horse ride to a local reserve, and upon leaving after only a couple of days, we really felt as thought we'd learnt a lot about the local area (even if we were a little heavier from all the delicious food).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esteli hotels
12.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca Neblina del Bosque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera
12.3 mi away
Hotel Los Altos Esteli
Hotel Los Altos Esteli
#3 of 17 in Esteli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Gueguense
Aparthotel Gueguense
#5 of 17 in Esteli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Lindos Ojos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Lindos Ojos

Property: Finca Lindos Ojos
Address: Apartado Postal 80 | Miraflor Nature Reserve, Esteli 31000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Esteli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca lindos ojos is the ideal place to relax from the stress during the visits to cities, loud and hot places in nicaragua. We offer you a rural ambiente, the opportunity to hike our nature trails in the virgin forrest, ride on horses peacefully to observe the pretty landscapes and comfortally reach to the interesting places which are not so close, eat our delicious organic home cooked food for its mayority harvested on our farm and share our experiences as a german family living since 25 years in nicaragua. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing