We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Cucarachas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Cagliari
Level Contributor
365 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Las Cucarachas”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place has an infestation of cockroaches,not just one or two, but hundreds of them, all over - bathroom, kitchen, rooms. In fact, there are so many that altough we had planned to stay for a while, we left after two nights: seeing a cockroach walking on my backpack was too much. Other guests and volunteers at the hostels did not seem to mind too much, in fact they cooked at dinner time and left dirty plates and pots in the kitchen for the cockroaches to feast on it I suppose. Cooking was a challenge, although the website says the kitchen is available. In fact, cockroaches come out of every corner, and pots are left dirty. I had to wash my pot before cooking, and it is nice having to clean after other people's mess. The overall vibe was weird. Rooms are spacious and bathroom bigs, but the hygienic conditions are enough to make me run away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that you did not have a good experience at Sonati. We did have a problem with cockroaches over the holiday and did our best to rectify it as quickly as possible.

We have since engaged a pest control company that uses eco-friendly methods and are happy to report that we are cockroach free (as mentioned in the reviews above).

We are very sorry that this happened while you were staying in the hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
21
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as we went on the somoto canyon tour the next day. As soon as we turned up we were greeted with smiles by the very polite staff. Our room wasn't cleaned from the previous occupants so we went and got groceries and within 15mins it was spotless. Kitchen is very spacious and has all cutlery and cooking equipment to make life easy for those making your own meals to save a buck.
There were no rats like a previous post talked about.. Can't imagine there ever would be with two gorgeous cats parading around the property. :) the property was very clean. the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating for our needs organising our tour guide for the next day and storing our bags while we were away after we checked out. Super place to stay and well worth the drive north!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back to visit us in Esteli soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Dorm beds were good, with private bath. Good kitchen, hammocks, lounges, computers and plenty of tables and chairs. Staff were helpful and kind. They offer a cigar tour for $10 but if you get to the factory yourself ($2) its free. Close enough to everything and good wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

For the most part, this is a good hostel with a great cause (environmental education for the community).

HOWEVER - it is not a clean hostel. There are cockroaches all over the place, especially the kitchen, and there are a good number of rats, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for your review. Just to clear up, when we introduced the compost and recycling systems there was an increase in the number of bugs around the hostel. We have since engaged a pest control company to manage this (they use environmentally friendly methods) and the issue is all cleared up.

We're very sorry it wasn't up to standard when you stayed and hope you can visit again some day to see all the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here at Sonati. The staff were friendly from the moment I arrived and always had time to talk with guests and help with information. The common room and garden and spacious with a guest computer and a large kitchen for guests to use. There are 2 cute cats running around the place. The only negative I can think of is the beds were very squeaky - whenever someone rolled over there was a squeak, and the door to our room squeaked when someone closed it. Nothing a bit of oil won't fix!
All in all a great hostal, good location and great staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ianmcgillivray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I really enjoy staying in this hostel. The staffs and all volunteers were very friendly. I stayed about a week to relax a bit for al the travels, and felt a bit like home!
They also have two lovely kitties very funny to watch and pet!
The hostel is also well located...
Anyway I recommend this hostel! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiedoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice place with kitchen, run by great people! Thanks guys, very helpful. The work you go here is inspirational. It would have been nice to be able to stay longer, but for some financial reasons i had to go. For anyone who likes to meet nice people, have interesting conversation, and learn a lot from talking to people about what they do, then this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank None N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esteli hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Namaste Yoga Hostal
Namaste Yoga Hostal
#1 of 20 in Esteli
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friends and Family Hostel
0.8 mi away
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
#3 of 17 in Esteli
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sonati Esteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sonati Esteli

Property: Hostel Sonati Esteli
Address: Costado norte Catedral, 3 cuadras al este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Esteli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful non-profit environmental hostel! We offer a central hostel with excellent facilities, spacious common areas - a great place to meet like-minded travelers. SONATI is a non-profit environmental education organization; ALL hostel profits finance our FREE environmental programs for thousands of local school children! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sonati Esteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing