We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice average hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Average hostel. We were in a 4-bed dorm (2 bunks) and shared bathroom (in between ours and a private room). 'hot' water is more off-cold, depends on your time off showering.
nice garden to hang out and big kitchen to use. wifi everywhere
laundry service is possible, for a good price
there're no lockers in the room

they offer tours to Miraflor and is definitely worth it!
ask them how to go to the rodeo. i liked it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We've been tinkering with our hot water heaters and they are more consistent now (though sometimes can take a minute or so to warm up)! All the best for the rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Our room had little natural light. The bathroom really stank and because we had no window to open the smell of drains permeated the room and was really unpleasant. There were no shelves or places to put our packs. The room and bathroom were dirty and the concrete floors were dirty and sticky.

The place has the atmosphere of a school or hospital the concrete corridor outside our room echoed with footsteps day and night. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everyone else's alarms as well as people chatting in all of the public rooms, from our bed.

There were cockroaches on the kitchen work tops and the cats got all the food and packages out of the bins and spread it all over the kitchen floor as soon as you put it in the bin.

The staff seemed to sleep on the sofas in the reception.

We didn't like the atmosphere of this place. We wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PjBark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi, thank you for your review.

We're very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Sonati. As a backpacker hostel, there are a lot of common areas and people chatting, though we have taken more steps to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum at night and in the mornings.

We clean the floors daily and have added more storage space in the private rooms. As an eco-hostel, we do have compost, garden beds, cats etc. and sometimes this can result in bugs coming in to the hostel. We have since engaged a pest control company that specialises in environmentally friendly methods (as opposed to blanket fumigation) and this has proved to be a great success with bugs in the kitchen. We also provide boxes for food and ask that guests do not leave food in the open, as this can attract animals.

We have staff at reception 24 hours a day to assist guests with early check out, late night taxis and any other issues. Sometimes those working the night shift will nap on the sofa if it is quiet.

Again, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have taken steps to remedy some of the issues you discussed and invite you to return next time you are in Esteli to see the improvements. Enjoy the rest of your journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Las cucarachas appear to be under control! I am staying here now (mid-January 2014) and am very happy with this place. I think it's great value for the money, especially because I am here for an extended time and so the kitchen is a great feature. The cleanliness of the shared kitchen depends on whether guests clean up after themselves or not. The lovely young ladies who work here seem to always be cleaning, but when people leave food around, they can't always keep up. At the moment, there doesn't seem to be an insect problem, but I can see how it could easily happen. The staff are friendly, there's a nice courtyard area with plants, hammocks and tables and the wifi usually works.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms with private bathroom actually share the bathroom with a dorm, so be sure to ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarriefromSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review, we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place has an infestation of cockroaches,not just one or two, but hundreds of them, all over - bathroom, kitchen, rooms. In fact, there are so many that altough we had planned to stay for a while, we left after two nights: seeing a cockroach walking on my backpack was too much. Other guests and volunteers at the hostels did not seem to mind too much, in fact they cooked at dinner time and left dirty plates and pots in the kitchen for the cockroaches to feast on it I suppose. Cooking was a challenge, although the website says the kitchen is available. In fact, cockroaches come out of every corner, and pots are left dirty. I had to wash my pot before cooking, and it is nice having to clean after other people's mess. The overall vibe was weird. Rooms are spacious and bathroom bigs, but the hygienic conditions are enough to make me run away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that you did not have a good experience at Sonati. We did have a problem with cockroaches over the holiday and did our best to rectify it as quickly as possible.

We have since engaged a pest control company that uses eco-friendly methods and are happy to report that we are cockroach free (as mentioned in the reviews above).

We are very sorry that this happened while you were staying in the hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night as we went on the somoto canyon tour the next day. As soon as we turned up we were greeted with smiles by the very polite staff. Our room wasn't cleaned from the previous occupants so we went and got groceries and within 15mins it was spotless. Kitchen is very spacious and has all cutlery and cooking equipment to make life easy for those making your own meals to save a buck.
There were no rats like a previous post talked about.. Can't imagine there ever would be with two gorgeous cats parading around the property. :) the property was very clean. the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating for our needs organising our tour guide for the next day and storing our bags while we were away after we checked out. Super place to stay and well worth the drive north!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back to visit us in Esteli soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Dorm beds were good, with private bath. Good kitchen, hammocks, lounges, computers and plenty of tables and chairs. Staff were helpful and kind. They offer a cigar tour for $10 but if you get to the factory yourself ($2) its free. Close enough to everything and good wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

For the most part, this is a good hostel with a great cause (environmental education for the community).

HOWEVER - it is not a clean hostel. There are cockroaches all over the place, especially the kitchen, and there are a good number of rats, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonati, Manager at Hostel Sonati Esteli, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for your review. Just to clear up, when we introduced the compost and recycling systems there was an increase in the number of bugs around the hostel. We have since engaged a pest control company to manage this (they use environmentally friendly methods) and the issue is all cleared up.

We're very sorry it wasn't up to standard when you stayed and hope you can visit again some day to see all the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esteli hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteli
Hosteli
#7 of 22 in Esteli
1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Hotel Santa Elena
#3 of 20 in Esteli
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Namaste Yoga Hostal
Namaste Yoga Hostal
#1 of 22 in Esteli
20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera
0.5 mi away
Posada Cuscatleca
Posada Cuscatleca
#8 of 20 in Esteli
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sonati Esteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sonati Esteli

Address: Costado norte Catedral, 3 cuadras al este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Esteli
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful non-profit environmental hostel! We offer a central hostel with excellent facilities, spacious common areas - a great place to meet like-minded travelers. SONATI is a non-profit environmental education organization; ALL hostel profits finance our FREE environmental programs for thousands of local school children! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sonati Esteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing