We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant OK”

Auberge les Glycines
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge les Glycines
Ranked #1 of 4 Cancon B&B and Inns
Kent, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Restaurant OK”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We only ate at the restaurant. It was clean, basic as were the menu options. The local house wine, both red and white were very adequate. The presentation of the dishes was done with care. As the restaurnat was almost empty, the loud music was lowered so we could have a conversation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
43
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stopped here by chance for lunch and had the most delicious omelette and salad, and their coffee was the nicest we have had in France this trip. We shall definitely stop there again if we are driving through that part of France again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank misssunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel had a friendly welcome from the family who owned the hotel. The swimming pool had plenty of chairs to relax on and was a good temperature. The restaurants in the local village did not seem very welcoming and we had dinner at the hotel. This was excellent value and a really nice meal. The breakfast was a bit limited and not such good value. The room we had ...number 1 was of a good size with a nice bath. There was a smell of burning wood and a humming noise which lasted most of the night but was not too loud to stop us from sleeping. Our friends has a very nice room with a shower no5. this was by the road and was very noisy , the lorries run past all night and even with the windows shut are still loud enogh to interupt sleep. The location was fine for a quick trip into Bergerac and surrounding countryside. There was no lounge area to sit at at night as this was also the breakfast area and was made up from the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1...seemd to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was my second visit and I thought it very good value. Its not inspired cooking but wholesome and3 courses with wine and coffee for a little over 12 euros has to be a bargain.
Very pleasant staff and general ambiance

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2009

A pretty hotel with a nice pool in a lovely location but next to a noisy road. The food was very average and the couple who run the hotel seemed friendly enough until we queried the bill then they suddenly stopped understanding English and became argumentative, all for the sake of 5 Euros that we felt they had overcharged us. We paid the extra 5 Euros just to get out of the place. Their attitude left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon9951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

A disappointing hotel. The owners are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful and, behind the hotel is a swimming pool with a pleasant lounging area. Unfortunately, we found other sitting-out areas areas impossible owing to the noise from the heavy traffic on the nearby main road. We had a room at the back of the hotel, so didn't suffer from traffic noise at night. Sadly, however, the job of keeping us awake was passed to some mysterious mechanical source - we guessed a freezer or large refrigerator, which hummed and reverberated continuously.

In other respects, this is a pleasant hotel which would be very convenient for an overnight stop. We shan't be giving it another chance, though!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancon
9.7 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#1 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
226 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
#2 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monform
Hotel Monform
#1 of 3 in Monflanquin
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Camping Lot et Bastides
5.2 mi away
Moulin de Labique
Moulin de Labique
#1 of 2 in St. Eutrope de Born
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
B&B La Tuquette
#2 of 4 in Cancon
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge les Glycines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge les Glycines

Property: Auberge les Glycines
Address: Avenue des Pyrenees, 47290 Cancon, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Cancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge les Glycines 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
inn wisteria restaurant guest room cottage France 3 ears , apartment with 2 bedrooms and kitchen + room with a love SPA see on our ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge les Glycines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing