We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you Like 60's Decor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abcot Inn

Abcot Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abcot Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sylvania B&B and Inns
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“OK if you Like 60's Decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The best thing about this motel is its location and tariff, the worst is it's décor and cleanliness. Other motels and hotels in the district are all very upmarket and expensive so $120 per night including a continental breakfast is great value.
The only problem is that there has been very little work done on the interior since the place was built. The cabinet on the TV wouldn't close, there was dirt behind the sliding door to the bathroom which was off it's rollers and the bed wasn't very comfortable with a big dip in the middle.
Out in the car park there is a giant lemon scented gum inhabited by a tribe of very noisy Lorikeets. Now I love out native birds especially parrots, but this lot love tearing the flowers and bits of branches out of the tree and dropping them all over the cars. This combined with an overnight heavy dew allowed the crap to stick. The management should provide an area where you can at least hose this rubbish off.
I think that I would stay here again but I would take the time to have a chat with the boss about some of these issues.
The Continental breakfast is served in the dining room but on the Sunday morning we were there I was going to upgrade to a full hot breakfast but no one appeared until we were leaving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pioneer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    29
    8
    13
See reviews for
25
25
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Me and my wife were recently new on a posting to Australia and had to stay in a few hotels until our furniture arrived. We have 2 miniature yorkshire terriers and finding pet friendly hotels didn't come easy. When we arrived at Abcot Inn, we didn't realize what was supposed to be a couple day stay turned into 9 weeks! I have to commend the staff of Abcot. Lucas, Anneta, Anna, at reception and Vicki in housekeeping. They made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Would highly recommend anyone, especially with pets to make Abcot Inn your first choice.

Roger and Son Mi Miles
and Foxi and Chung Chung (the dogs)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddhaSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I appreciate your kind words and will pass them on to our team. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I would recommend Abcot Inn if you want to stay in Sydney South - even thought it was on highway I could not hear traffic as rooms are not close to road. I had an Executive room and price was reasonable, room was clean and had everything I needed. Staff were excellent - from check-in, breakfast and check-out. Lucas was very friendly and helpful at check-in, as was the Polish girl with long dark hair who served me breakfast and also was on Reception at check-out. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you the kind review. I will pass your comments to the team members you mentioned. Looking forward to welcoming you at the Abcot Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

There is no unnecessary luxury in this place. My room was from the cheaper ones, but it was quite clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable, even the couch was good enough for me to sleep like a log. The personnel is polite and helpful. The continental breakfast in the restaurant is like at most of the places. If you want something more special, I do recommend the English breakfast. I've tried the swimming pool as well. I had some problems with opening the child security fence, but after I managed to do that I had a great time.

Room Tip: If you need a good internet connection, you should take a room close to the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsvetan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the kind review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Its a bit hard to find reasonably priced good accomodation in this part of Sydney, this place fits that bill quite well though. Nothing particularly flash but clean and comfortable at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QbnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for submitting your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was impressed with the room which was an excutive, very clean, nice comfortable chair and bed. Staff very helpful was late arriving on the first night, manager was very cheerful when i arrri9ved and booked. The blond girl (know this is not a nice way to discribe her but i didnt get her name) who worked in the afternoon was very helpful about finding a place to eat, (even though the golf course changed to you had to make bookings and not advised them). Will stay again if ever back in sydney. ps Book for a meal at the golf club.

Room Tip: stayed in room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markMediflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for submitting your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Abcot Inn. I will pass your comments to the staff member you mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Do not choose Room #39. Carpet torn. TV older than 2000. Not 1 hook or rail in bathroom apart from 1 rail over bath and over 2 metres up for the bath towel. Toiet seat was pitted and old. How much is a new plastic toilet seat? Bathroom door warped and paint peeling. Bathroom air vent vibrated so loud had to turn off. Needed face washer to turn taps off. Given last available room, which was a family room and took it as desperate. Big mistake. Give this hotel a big miss. Big time.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room #39. Carpet torn. TV older than 2000. Not 1 hook or rail in bathroom apart fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Abcot_Inn, Manager at Abcot Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Carol, it's disappointing to see that you were so dissatisfied with the room you stayed in. I admit there were some maintenence issues in that room and it would not have normally been rented out on the night, but as you mentioned yourself we were full and we still had many customers desperately looking for a room. In hindsight the decision to rent the room out was probably wrong and I regret it, but there is little I can do about it now. We value our customer and strive to keep them happy. Had you told us straight after check in that you were unhappy with the room we would have gladly refunded you in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sylvania hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sylvania
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Miranda
Metro Hotel Miranda
#1 of 1 in Miranda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.8 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
7.2 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutherland Motel
Sutherland Motel
#3 of 6 in Sutherland Shire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abcot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abcot Inn

Property: Abcot Inn
Address: 410 Princes Hwy | Sylvania Heights, Sylvania, New South Wales 2224, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Sylvania
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sylvania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abcot Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Abcot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing