We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Cerza Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermival-les-Vaux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cerza Safari Lodge
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, great welcome and had a great view over looking the monkeys. Was lovely sitting on the balcony at night watching the animals wandering around. Then in the morning how the rhino just wanders out for the day. Lovely please to visit and even nicer if you get the chance to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    74
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
106
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crook
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Have just returned from a fabulous break at Cerza zoological park. This holiday booked through 'Four Seasons' is great value for money.The park is wonderful,very clean and the animals are kept in very large enclosures which mirror their natural habitat. there are two walking routes around the park and one route taken by an overland 'train'. This trip last almost 30 mins and gives a good view of the animals. the facilities in the park are good ,spacious clean restaurants and outside eating areas. The safari park is open to the general public but is not overcrowded.
The accomodation is either safari lodges, yurts or observatories.This is good accomodation basic, clean but with everything you need for a comfortable stay.This part of the park is for staying guests only and is car free, the wallabies, pot bellied pigs and deer roam freely around the park and the children,and adults, can feed them. The site is very quiet and relaxing, we went as family group with my 8 year old granddaughter who was sorry to leave.Thev privilege tour which has a maximum of 6 people allows you to get close to the rhinoceros and other animals, learn about feeding and also the international wildlife programmes thepark are part of. Although this resort has mostly french visitors the reception area is staffed by an English woman and some of the guides speak english.
The safari park is close to the town of Lisieux with good supermarkets and shops and only 4 kilometers away is the lovely village of Moyaux with a very good restaurant and creperie.
We took the ferry from Portsmouth to Caen and then it is just about and hours easy drive from the port.
I really recommend trying this resort, four seasons who we booked through were very efficient and helpful and I,the grandmother of the group, certainly look forward to a return trip

Room Tip: We were in lodge 26 which is right at the end of the road and overlooks the pelican lake and a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We took our 16 year old daughter and 7 year old son. I would recommend the privilege and "Who eats what?" experiences. The animals are kept in spacious enclosures and the parc contributes towards international wildlife welfare programmes.

It was so relaxing waking up to a view of monkeys, rhino and gazelles. If going with another family ask for a lodge by the pelican playground as the lodges are in a semi circle over looking the playground.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmite43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Conseillé pédagogique/ guide animalier at Cerza Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Cerza Safari Lodge team wishes to thank all the english visitors for coming to Cerza. It's a pleasure for us to greet english speaking clients who are always happy, pleasant and sympathic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I took a group of disabled adults to the lodges (we had 3 of them) following a mailshot, and I'm so glad we did. The accomodation had views across the park, with a lake of pelicans right in front of our verandas. Wallabies, pot belly pigs and muntjac deer wander freely around, and the rhinos and baboons can be seen also. Once you have paid the park entry fee, you can wander in and out of the zoo as many times as you wish - and you'll certainly want to visit more than once.
The animals have plenty of space and are well kept and healthy.
There are a few restaurants on site, if you don't want to cook (we ate in one on the last day - food was good and reasonably priced) but most of the time we cooked in the lodges.
Equipment is fairly basic, but with everything we needed. There are only 2 hobs in the kitchen, but there is also a microwave, and we managed to cook for 12 with no problems, using 2 of the lodge kitchens.
There are plenty of other interesting places within a short drive, if you don't want to stay on the park all week - just wish it had been around when my own children were younger!

Room Tip: All lodges were good, also have yurts and some observatories - ask for one at the front overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacames2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have visited Cerza twice now (2010 and 2012) and will certainly be booking to return again. We travelled as a young family with a babe-in-arms and our young daughter and cannot fault our experiences here. The lodges are situated in a peaceful and tranquil setting overlooking Cerza Safari Parc, so you have entertainment on hand (courtesy of the animals!) as well as a handy base for all the delights Northern France has to offer. Whilst they are simply furnished they nonetheless provide you with everything you need for a self-catering holiday.
The staff are excellent in every respect and the environmental ethos of the place is also a plus.
Book a stay, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The best lodge depends on what you are looking for. The lower numbers overlook 'monkey island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermival-les-Vaux
3.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 13 in Lisieux
359 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
Hotel Mercure Lisieux
#5 of 13 in Lisieux
257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Campanile Lisieux
Campanile Lisieux
#9 of 13 in Lisieux
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Lisieux
Premiere Classe Lisieux
#3 of 13 in Lisieux
160 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
9.1 mi away
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Pont-L'Eveque
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerza Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerza Safari Lodge

Property: Cerza Safari Lodge
Address: Pas de rue | Manoir du Saint Laurent, 14100 Hermival-les-Vaux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Hermival-les-Vaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hermival-les-Vaux
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a Zoological park close to nature and all the wildlife. The Cerza Zoological Park proposes a variety of accomodation for those who wish to relax, away from city noise, hustle and bustle. The close proximity with the fauna and flora creates a sense of wellbeing and a new-found serenity. The domain with its limited capacity, increases the feeling of being "alone in the world" with nature being the only companion.According to budget and choice of adventure : 26 equipped lodges (4-6 people), 6 zoobservatorys (2-4 people) and during the summer months 6 Normandy Yurt(2-5 people) are available for rental. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cerza Safari Lodge Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing