We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and increadible rude owner!”
Review of Villa Belvedere

Villa Belvedere
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Beveren
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Few weeks back we were there to celbrate a birthday of my whife with the family, aperitief, wine, pizza coffe and degustive. I guess 12 people (4 kids) about 350-400 euro, so ok i would say as 3 hours income for them. But strange service...(i thought)

Now we we came back (for another birthday) and was imidiately told we have to order a full menu. (Also the kids). Since the owner cancelled reservations to get us a table? Strange planning I thought since there were at least 4 tables free throughout the evening? Well some ordered the menue but not all. Personally i never take dessert and also not coffee so why should I. There was a mix up with the ordering and wrong dishes were served, the owner argued for 10 minutes and got very angry, to tell us we ordered wrong!!

So all in all, kind fun evening but not in the udual way... Last time for all of us I guess...

And the worst thing of all, went to tripadvisor to find the adress before going there. I tried to write a review the day after, but it was taken off the site. Now a week later back on line... Thats really smart, 'bad evening off-line' then hope the customer forgets! But I didn't.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa B, Owner at Villa Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

We would like to clarify this review.
The first paragraph does not make any sense so cannot really understand or comment about it.

This incident described in the middle paragraph, we know exactly who this person is and when this happened, because we VERY VERY VERY rarely have issues with our clients and this was the first time the client left without clarifying even though people sitting at his table came to appologise for his behaviour before leaving the restaurant.

We advise our clients to have a menu when they are in a big group on the weekend, just to avoid having to wait long with no food. The reason here also being that we do not take orders of more than 4 different choices per table (apart from pizza) on the weekend, this is understandable and in the client's interest. (this is a practice in the restaurant business found in most restaurants)

The Menu DOES NOT include desert but only a starter, main and a free coffee comes with it.

For this particular table, it was ADVISED to take a menu, because it was a busy Friday, and NEVER do we expect children to have a menu. Now, not all of the people on this table had starter, or menu.

This mishap happened because the gentleman ordered a Pizza Tonnara, Pointing at PENNETTE TONNARA in the Menu page of the Pastas, now pennette is pasta not pizza and there is no Pizza Tonnara on the menu. The owner repeated Pennette Tonnara, when the gentleman next to him said same.
When the penne arrived at the table, the man started being rude, and said he ordered pizza. When the owner explained that he ordered pasta and tried to explain the misunderstanding and that it was not a problem and that he'd bring something else, this client started being rude and also offended with rude words, (including accusing the owner of not knowing how to read, apart from offensive italian words which the client happened to know) The owner also brought the Menu to the table and this client again pointed at PENETTE which he had ordered.

Misunderstandings happen we are not perfect, but usually when this happens, we just excuse ourselves and bring something else to the table. The is client understanding and we try bringing the desired dish as quick as possible. We have a large menu and misunderstandings can happen. We NEVER EVER EVER came across someone so rude. This could have resolved itself in 5 minutes, which it did after the gentlemen decided what he wanted to eat.

We as a restaurant have no access to removing any posts posted, so the off-line trip advisor is really an accusation that does not make sense.
We believe in what we do and always strive for every person to leave the restaurant happy and having enjoyed the evening and especially the food.

And I repeat people from this table apologised for this particular person before leaving the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were a large group and went into the restaurant planning to have a Pizza, but many were tempted by the wide range of food available.

Thanks to suggestions made to us by Stefano, who is a great host and the owner of the restaurant, we ended up experimenting with various great dishes and this turned out to be great advice.

The stone oven cooked Pizza was absolutely delicious and came in various not so common but well balanced combinations of toppings. The meat dishes included the fillet and the excellent Osso buco left a great impression. Also the Pasta dishes and especially the various Ravioli ripieni were absolutely outstanding. To finish off most of us treated ourselves to various desserts including the souffle, home made panna cotta and really good torta della nonna. Quite simply, the excellent and varied high quality selection meant that the next day ordering actually took longer.

The wine list was all very focused onto Italian wines which according to Stefano has to be Italian in an Italian restaurant! He actually takes his time to experiment with unusual Cantinas and came up with a great selection of unusual but very well priced and excellent wines.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RUDY316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

One night we were driving to Antwerp through Beveren when we stumbled across this gorgeous Villa which stands out amongst the other buildings on the road. Being visually stunning we decided to stop for dinner. We were truly impressed. It's classic interior with yet some modern features is truly outstanding. What is even more stupendous is the restaurant's amazing outdoors with a beautiful outdoor dining terrace area and an expansive lawn space where kids could freely run around and entertain themselves.

Back to the restaurant, our terrific hosts Stefano and Elizabeth kindly sat us at a terrace table (given the great weather) and promptly proceeded with handing to us their menus. And what Menus! We were spoilt for choice and since we couldn't decide on what to have for starters we chose their Antipasto Belvedere which had a bit of everything from their house-smoked fish (salmon, tuna and swordfish) which was simply out of this world, to lobster, fried mussel and clam goodness and beef carpaccio to name just a few... it was truly delicous. Their wine list is also fantastic with specially selected wines imported from Italy.

Just when we thought nothing could beat that, out come our mains. My husband opted for the Ravioli Ortolana which were delicious and home-made like anything else on the menu. I had the Pizza Carpaccio which was divine and definitely the best pizza we have ever tasted (after many visits we have agreed that all the pizzas are divine)!

The desserts also won us over with home-made gelati and Tiramisu which again were simply fantastic.

That was the first time we went and have been there an uncountable amount of times ever since. Now we have other favourites from the menu which include the mixed grill of fish and the Lamb. It is truly a perfect venue for all occasions whether it's just a laid back dinner, business or a special occasion. Pity I am already married otherwise it would have definitely been our venue of choice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Each time we ate here, we felt delighted! Best pizza in town, but it woud be a shame not to try the other dishes. Tastefull food, nicely presented, good wine, very friendly en helpfull staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casperke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We went there some weeks ago with some belgian friends. This place is fantastic. The garden (which includes entertainment for children) looks like a park. The terrace is absolutely gorgeous and the food just mouth watering. Everyone should go. I ate home made pasta and house made ice cream with really special decorations. our friends went for pizza and it was so special, cooked in a real wood oven. Definately a place to go whether for business or family. It's a casual chic relaxed place really unique.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank starsobright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Belvedere also viewed

Beveren, East Flanders Province
Beveren, East Flanders Province
 
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
Beveren, East Flanders Province
 
Beveren, East Flanders Province
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing