We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book your trip...”
Review of Marbella Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marbella Surf Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Book your trip...”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Marbella Surf Inn is just down the road from one of the most consistant surf spots in CR.. Comfortable with all the ammenities you need from WIFI to safes in your room for all your goodies. Even your coffe pot for the mornings ( trust me) Relax by the poll afer a Surf and some chicken fajitas (u gotta try awesome chef!!) With an Imperial of course.. The Wave... It's a really fun beach break sand bottom. Wheather you wanna get some tubes or just turn a burn.. You will not be dissapointed.. So book your stay boys and girls and ill see u there in March..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeguardwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Marbella Surf Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
James....I wish we could take credit for the fun waves but that's just a "Pura Vida" thing here in Marbella. The staff, my family and I appreciate the nice review and enjoyed having you as a guest. We'll keep cooking fajitas and keep the beer cold for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
memphis
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

i went to Costa Rica on a one way ticket....somthing i didnt realize i wasnt supposed to be able to do but they let me in the country anyways. my first2 weeks in Costa Rica were spent at Marbella Surf Inn, and they could not have been any better to me there. Not only is the food top notch, they have a COMPLETE FULL BAR!!!!!! with the coldest pilsens in town. Only a pleasant walk and you are beachside with beautiful offshore Guanacaste morning waves. The rooms were the cleanest ive stayed in in CR, and the pool with SWIM UP BAR is some serious baller shiat. Super clean pool and bathrooms....id give it 6 stars if they let me. i definatley will be staying here again this february...come holla at me!!!! --Ross tha Bo$$

Room Tip: you can stay upstairs or downstairs....either way the rooms are all clean and stylish...pura vida!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phannatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Marbella Surf Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Ross...thanks for the great review. I will ask TripAdvisor to add a sixth star on your behalf! The staff, my family and I really appreciate your business and will keep working super hard at helping everyone have the same sort of Costa Rica surfing vacation as you did. Pura Vida my friend...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am writing about the best place to stay in the wave rich town of Marbella. I was amazed to arrive to a absolute gem of a hotel. I have worked in the hospitality business for many years and this hotel is beautiful. The rooms are plush with beautiful wood work, bathroom, beading cable and cool ac. there is a beautiful pool and the food in the restaurant is absolutely wonderful. I was amazed by the food, such flavors and quality. I would highly recomend this as the best place to stay with world class waves less than 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Marbella Surf Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Clayton...coming from someone that has worked in the hospitality business I'm super happy about your review of our hotel. The staff, my family and I loved your words...and will keep them in mind with every guest experience. The only things we can't control are the waves and the weather...but they seem to be doing just fine on their own! Pura Vida and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you want a relaxing time with your loved one away from the rif raf or want want to have a world class surf break this is your place. Just ask for Joe he is the owner and has been down in these neck of the woods for over ten years and knows and understands the good times to be had in this glorious place. Whether you want a couples trip or a boys surf trip go to Marbella!!
My fiance and I had the whole beach to ourselves and after she had a nice bronzing time and I had a super fun bodyboard sesh in this glorious place, we ended it by having a gourmet dinner at the Tiki Hut which is on the beach. The owner is Jeff and his super Chef Garret creates the best grubs you can ever have in Costa rica let alone the states.
Go here and skip Tamarindo which is touristy, you might as will be in the states if you chose tamarindo.

Room Tip: They are all good, VERY CLEAN and great woods thought out the room. You wont be spending much time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Marbella Surf Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Jon....it was a pleasure having you and your fiancé here at the Marbella Surf Inn and thanks for the kind words about me. I've been here for a long time and nothing makes me happier than sharing the "pura vida" spirit with guests and friends. Come back any time....especially when you and the wife have some little surfers and boogie boarders on board.

Joe and family...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

For years, Marbella has provided the quiet, "off the beaten track" sort of surf / adventure that our family loves. With better beaches and better surf than Tamarindo or Nosara, Marbella is also free from the crowds and development that make both of the other spots a nightmare. We've vacationed in Marbella a number of times now, but had previously always struggled to find a legitimate option for housing while there. Thanks to the Marbella Surf Inn, that issue no longer exists. Prices were reasonable, rooms were big and clean, staff was kind, knowledgeable and accommodating, and the pool / restaurant / bar area provided the perfect escape from the sun when needed. The food in the restaurant was delicious and affordable, btw. In short, thanks to the Marbella Surf Inn, Marbella is now a legitimate family vacation spot that both wife and kids are on board with. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Marbella Surf Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Trent...thanks for the nice review of the Marbella Surf Inn. I realize this response is late but better late than never right? I particularly liked your comment "Marbella is now a legitimate family vacation spot that both wife and kids," as we feel exactly the same way.

Come back any time...the warm water and waves are waiting.

Cheers,

The Staff, Joe, Migdalia and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marbella
2.0 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
12.4 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.3 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Azul
Hotel Luna Azul
#1 of 1 in Ostional
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
10.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
8.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbella Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Surf Inn

Property: Marbella Surf Inn
Address: 300 Meters West of the Ice Tower, Marbella 50603, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Surf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Marbella, Guanacaste,Costa Rica you will find The Marbella Surf Inn, a quaint hotel within walking distance to a world class surfing beach. We offer six air conditioned suites that are tastefully furnished with cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker & coffee and Wi-Fi Internet. The hotel is complimented by a beautiful pool with swim up bar and our popular restaurant “El Rancho” -serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Marbella Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing