We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and Beer!”
Review of Vaynol Arms

Vaynol Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tregarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really good food and Beer!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very good friendly pub with great food and selection of beers and lagers , Hosts were great.Warm atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    92
    42
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pub meal”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited the Vaynol Arms as it was recommended by the owners of the holiday cottage we were staying in. We were made to feel extremely welcome and chose a lovely table by the window. The food was delicious and as it was curry night, I had the Chicken Balti which came with rice, onion bhaji, poppadum and mango chutney ... YUM !! My husband had the steak burger, with cheese, bacon and a fried egg. Both were really generous portions and extremely enjoyable. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys good quality pub food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great way to start a trip”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I came here with my DofE Gold group before our expedition. A hearty meal before the challenge begun was just what we needed and close to the site over the road. Amazing food at a great price. Real ambience and I shall certainly be back there for some walking weekends when I move to Wales for Uni in September.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent pub grub”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited the Vagnol Arms on our last night in North Wales, the service was excellent and the was food fantastic. We decided to try out the Sunday roast and the British Steak and Ale pie. Both meals were excellent with large portions, fresh veg and lots of tasty gravy. The local cheese platter and traditional pub grub sticky toffee pudding were also fabulous and needless to say we both left the pub very full !! The service was excellent and we would not hesitate to recommend the pub for their food !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJones31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad country pub!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ate here on the first night of a stay at nearby Pant Teg B&B. We found the service excellent (quick and friendly) but the food was a touch over done.
The black pudding starter and pate were both excellent (the toast was initially a little over-done, but was immediately replaced on asking with no fuss). The steak & ale pie was very good if a little brown on top, but the pastry on the steak & kidney pudding was quite hard. The contents of both were very good though.
There is a selection of real ales on pump, and I recommend taking the time to look for the 'hidden' beer garden on a nice day and say hello to "Castiel" the resident bird of prey out the back - well worth it.
Reservation is recommended as the place does fill up quickly after 6pm. Prices were reasonable. If you are in the area for one night, definitely try it, but if staying for longer I'd try further afield after the first night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Debs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaynol Arms also viewed

 
Bangor, Gwynedd
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to Vaynol Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing