We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday Lunch”
Review of Vaynol Arms

Vaynol Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Tregarth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We were originally going to try Y Gors Fach Inn on this day but when we got there at a little after 12 mid-day we discovered that it was closed. However I remembered the Vaynol Arms at Tregarth. When we called there were a lot of reserved tables and thought that they were to busy however a table was found for us by one of the most helpful and pleasant waitress who was pleased to serve us. We opted for the trio of roasts and we were not disappointed by what we received, the food was served on a super hot plate and the portion of meat was more than generous, Yorkshire puddings were crispy and fresh and there was more than enough veg for the two of us. The beer was served at as far as I'm concerned at the perfect temperature, We were offered a sweet but there was no way we could have squeezed one in. All in all the quality of the food was excellent and the service was also above par. We shall definatly be calling there again but hopefully in a greater number.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Wow, thank you for you kind response.
I will make sure all concerned are notified.
Thank you again and hope to see you when you return..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Visited twice on successive nights as we were impressed with beer selection and good portions of tasty food, all freshly cooked. Thanks Karen x

Thank hogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello Hogboy,
Thank you for you excellent review. It was our pleasure. We hope to welcome you again next time your in Wales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Baked Suet Steak and Kidney pudding, best ever had, the Roast Lamb, good job the dog was with us to share as it was,so large and delicious. We couldn't manage the desserts as tempting as they were.

Thank RegularFineDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you Regularfinediner,
The baked steak & kidney suet pudding is one of our best sellers. It’s not for the faint hearted and certainly fills you up. We are glad you enjoyed your meals. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Called here on Friday night after spending an afternoon at zip world slate caverns (Mrs Davies and I were booked into the b&b opposite, more of that later).
Did we need to book? It was recommended but, at 18:15 when we turned up, it wasn't necessary and we were seated immediately.
Drinks delivered we browsed the menu, cod and chips for Mrs Davies and a mixed grill for Mr Greedy.
Mrs Davies's food arrived first and looked very good, then my mixed grill arrived.... It was huge! Steak, pork chop, gammon, chicken breast fillets, sausage, egg & black pudding all fighting for space with the generous portion of chips, onion rings and peas.
Needless to say we both thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Vaynol, we sat in the bar area after our food and enjoyed a few more drinks before retiring for the night.
Welcoming, accommodating staff, good food and cold beer, what more can you ask?

Thank Duncan462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Vaynol Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Wow Duncan462,
What a glowing review.
Thank you for your kind words , we are glad you lived your time in Wales.
We hope you call in again when you next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Had a week in north wales with family, needed somewhere for lunch, used trip advisor and this pub was local so myself, wife and two year old girl popped in, greeted and sat down, ordered kids meal, starter and mains, food was lovely, I had dragons kitchen, wife had scampi and my daughter had sausage, mash and gravy. My daughter ate all hers which can be rare, ordered lemon meringue for desert, once again it was lovely, I highly recommend this pub, it's a a bit off the beaten path but worth the drive, it's a very traditional inside even with a pool table. A real hidden gem.

1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaynol Arms also viewed

 

Been to Vaynol Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing