We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tregarth Homestay B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tregarth Homestay B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Tregarth B&B and Inns
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A taste of home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

This was my fourth stay at Tregarth Homestay B & B. The warm welcome, wonderful hospitality provided by Kathleen and Peter each and every visit makes the Homestay a definite must return to spot on travels in North Wales.
I've enjoyed the use of two different rooms while at the B and B. Both were very comfortable and provided a nice view of the area.
If you are using public transportation to get around, Kathleen and Peter make it easy to reach their B and B by providing a lift from/to the Bangor Train Station. The local bus #7 runs regularly and it is only about a 15 minute trip from Bangor. Conwy, Llandudno, Caernarfon, Penryn Castle are all easily accessible using public transport.
Peter and Kathleen are excellent at offering tips on what to see, where to go, how to get there. I have been invited by the Coleman's to attend an Eisteddfod, a symphony by the Welsh National Orchestra and a presentation on bird watching. None of which I may have participated in without their local knowledge.
Each visit has also included a trip to somewhere in North Wales that would have been difficult to do on my own and with public transportation (Portmeirion, Betws-y-Coed, the Ogwyn Valley, Llanberis to name a few ).
The B & B itself has a comfortable tv room with lots of reading material on the area, a little kitchen for your use and a laundry facility.
I enjoy most the sense of home away from home and friendship offered by Peter and Kathleen. I least like not being able to return more often.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chester03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you Blaise for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay; it was good to see you again.

Peter & Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
19
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

A very useful place for those of us who believe that there is not a single good place to stay in Bangor itself! The owners can't do enough for you, and their attention to detail is excellent. It's also good to have your own kitchenette to make drinks etc. It should be noted, though, that the rooms are not en-suite (although this is no problem - there are two bathrooms for guests' use, both excellent).

A couple of minor niggles were that the room was very cold - although to be fair, there was a notice saying that we could request heating to be switched on, and a blanket was provided - and the TV remote did not work.

But overall, an excellent night's stay and just 10 minutes' drive from Bangor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caerphillytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tregarth, Owner at Tregarth Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2011
Hello Caerphilly,

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sorry about the little problems; yes, it was a bitterly cold night ( as we discovered in the morning!) and yes, we would have been happy to have given you an extra heater had you asked. The faulty TV has been replaced (we didn't know there was a problem until we read your review). For future reference, one of our double rooms is en-suite, fore which we charge a slightly higher rate.

Peter & Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We can only echo the reviews already made on here.
Peter and Kathleen were Superb Hosts who really put themselves out for us, making sure we had everything we needed in order to make our stay enjoyable, comfortable and indeed memorable. The Homestay idea is superb and gives guests that extra flexibility to make use of these facilities if they need them. It is a real boost being able to make something simple to eat in the accommodation, which is what we did. The breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day. The kindness of Peter and Kathleen was a model of ideal hospitality coupled with genuine sincerity in the guests welfare. We can't thank them enough. What sold this for us was all these wonderful reviews which are well deserved.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micris54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed with Kathleen and Peter for three nights, and after breakfast each day, cooked by Peter, we visited wonderful villages, scenic Snowdonia mountains and forests, ancient castles and tearooms along the way. Returning to the B&B, we were able to use the kitchentte in the guests' area to prepare a light snack for dinner and to make tea. They also provided the use of their washing machine which was a real bonus. We enjoyed our stay, and left having made new friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FolksfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Tregarth Homestay several times now. The owners are extremely hospitable and always on hand to tell you the best places to visit. The location is wonderful - very authentic, with nice views of the sea and mountains. You certainly feel like you're in Wales which you wouldn't necessarily get if you stay in Bangor. In fact, you only have to step out the door to go for a scenic and relaxing walk in the coutryside. The rooms are very comfortable and the shower is excellent (best I've ever had on any holiday). There's also a great reception area where you can chill out and a kitchen area for general use. All in all, you won’t go wrong with this B&B - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Very warm and hearty welcome, clean and guest-oriented facilities (such as a mini-kitchen and a washing machine), great breakfast and a lovely garden with a fine view, peaceful nights with complete silence and mornings with birds' chirping!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haru318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

A wonderful, friendly, helpful, warm, and welcoming place to stay. You feel right at home as soon as you walk in the door. As a family of three (including 1child who is now a teenager) we have years of experience staying in B&Bs, and this one ranks at the very top of our list. Everything is clean and comfortable, there's a small lounge available to guests as well as a kitchenette where you can make tea at any hour or store food in a small fridge. The breakfasts are hearty and delicious, and the owners, Peter and Kathleen Coleman, bend over backwards to help make your stay in their home and the area more generally a memorable one. They have traveled extensively themselves and thus easily anticipate their guests' interests. The location is great, too--an easy 15 minute drive from Bangor and to castles and other sites, yet nestled in the foothills of Snowdonia National Park in the serene village of Tregarth. We stayed four night and wish it had been longer. We'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bionicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregarth
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
3.6 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pant Teg B & B
Pant Teg B & B
#1 of 2 in Tregarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Joys of Life
Joys of Life
#1 of 3 in Bethesda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plas Tirion Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregarth Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregarth Homestay B&B

Property: Tregarth Homestay B&B
Address: Llain y Grug Dob, Tregarth, Bangor LL57 4PW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Tregarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tregarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregarth Homestay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Tregarth Homestay 3-star B&B. Situated at the entrance to the beautiful Ogwen Valley/ Nant Ffrancon Pass in the foothills of Snowdonia, the elevated setting gives views of the mountains, the Menai Straight, Anglesey and Puffin Island. In a quiet rural location on the edge of a small village, yet just two miles from the A55 Expressway/A5 and 4 miles from Bangor. Llanberis (for the Snowdon Railway) is 20 minutes drive; Caernarfon, Conwy and Beaumaris medieval castles are 20-30 minutes. There is something for everyone within easy reach! We have 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 twin and 1 single bedroom both with their own private bathrooms, and a cosy lounge. Arrive as guests, leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregarth Homestay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregarth Homestay B&B Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing