We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little bit of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barbieri

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Barbieri
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altomonte
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I went to this hotel when touring Italy with Saga Holidays and loved it at first sight. We were met by Mr Barbieri and other members of the family, given a drink and a very warm, sincere welcome. Then was so pleased as a single traveller to be given a large room with a view to end all views over to the old town of Altomonte and beyond. I had a balcony but sadly the weather was not warm enough to sit out there or on the public terrace but 2 very brave people swam in the swimming pool.The food was excellent and varied and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. This is a place I would love to revisit. I have to say I had the smallest shower I have ever seen, thankfully I am only small.

Room Tip: Ask for a "ROOM WITH A VIEW" and a balcony to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 133Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    61
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
99
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altomonte, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a place where you must go to experience true Italian hospitality. Delicious Calabrian food made by family recipes coupled with home-like atmosphere makes this place a must if you happen to be in Italian south.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasssiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
555 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We were somewhat surprised to find such a wonderful and modern property in the small town of Altomonte. The Barbieri family pays special attention to every detail. The rooms are very nice and modern. The restaurant is wonderful! The outdoor spaces are expansive and beautiful. We love this property!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We carried out in hotel spent week, everything is very good. The restaurant is magnificent! Very beautiful look on old Altomonte. Near the pool a very nice terrace, there was a festival of Porchini. It very tasty! We will back on next summer.

Room Tip: all rooms is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleXXXandeR525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

First the hotel isnt the easiest to get to its a bit of a trip off the A3 and has very small (surprise i know in italy) roads to reach it. The hotel itself is in a nice location overlooking the town of Altomonte. I came on a Sunday night in the very off-season and was one of maybe 10 guests staying there and i assumed i would be able to appreciate that great view from my room but i was stuck looking out over the parking lot. The rooms are dated and i could hear my neighbors (again 10 people in the hotel why put everyone together?) TV quite easily and had a constant drip in my bathroom that was behind the wall of the toilet which meant i slept with headphones on.

The best part of this hotel though was sitting down in the restaurant and the owner was great. He asked me if i wanted wine and i said yes and he brought me great local red wine but not a menu. I was confused. Then he just started bring out food, TONS of it. I got 6 plates of local anti-pasta and then some delicious gnocchi.

The patio looked excellent but a bit to cold to go out to. I would go back but only if they made some changes. It was still a nice hotel.

Also they served me 2 eggs over easy in the morning which in my experience is very rare for Italy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Altomonte, Italy is a lovely small town with a beautiful family run hotel. We met the mother, father, and adult children who have a great restaurant, hotel, and grounds. Our room had a balcony looking across to the other part of the town. Everything was clean and comfortable! We were so glad that someone had mentioned that this would be a good place to go and visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here twice, on the way to and from Sicily. The first time, our GPS took us a strange way, along narrow, grassy roads....easier & quicker to head into Altomonte first, then begin following the GPS. Although we had reservations confirming a room with balcony and view, we were disappointed to find no balcony in the room we were given. It did have a view from the window, though, and was a comfortable room. Decided to stay another night, as we needed more of a rest after the Sorrento Peninsula, and managed to get a balcony. Enjoyed sitting out with wine and taking in the amazing views of the town and mountains. The only unpleasant thing was that when someone smoked in the room next to us we could smell it, especially strong in the bathroom. Upon our return from Sicily, we were given a larger, newer room above the parking area. The window looked out onto trees. Not having a balcony got us to spent more time on the wonderful terrace however. In this building, all bathrooms had high windows that opened onto a hallway. Again we were bothered by smoke, as the windows were open. I managed to close ours, which helped. The hotel and grounds, however, are beautiful, as are the views. The staff were friendly and gracious. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We enjoyed walking into town and exploring it. An excellent location and value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altomonte
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Villa Fabiano Palace Hotel
17.1 mi away
Il Cormorano Exclusive Club & Spa
15.6 mi away
Bouganville Palace Hotel
Bouganville Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Belvedere Marittimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Grand Hotel San Michele
9.5 mi away
Hotel Don Carlo
Hotel Don Carlo
#1 of 2 in San Marco Argentano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
19.1 mi away
Sibari Green Village
Sibari Green Village
#1 of 13 in Cassano allo Ionio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbieri

Property: Hotel Barbieri
Address: Via Italo Barbieri 30, 87042 Altomonte, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Altomonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altomonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barbieri 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barbieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbieri Hotel Altomonte
Hotel Barbieri Altomonte, Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing