We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
73
159
62
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
159
62
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

the hotel and environment is great! please rent a bike and cycle through the environemnt: it's great! also the Onsen is realy nice and clean with a spectacular view.
there are two major dissapointments: the staff is hardly able to speak ANY English which makes it hard to ask anything at the front desk. The biggest problem is the restaurant: as many reviewers already stated: it's very difficult to get a table in the restaurant. We were able to get a table at 19.40, but the menu only in Japanese… when i said i saw an English menu at the front desk, the waiter got t from there, but the English menu is much smaller than the Japanese one…. but with Google translate and a picture of he Japanese menu we managed to order food and some decent wine ( not on the English menu) at 8 p.m. ( we were 20 minutes in the restaurant and just were about to get our starter) all waiters started preparing he other tables for the next day and didn't pay any attention to the customers. when you ask for some water ( my water glass had been empty for 20 minutes) they have to search for a waiter who is able to speak some basic English. The main problem is: you can't go anywhere else, unless you have a car, because there are no other restaurants in the neighbourhood. Restaurant is cafetaria/ pubfood quality for star restaurant prices… the most expensive food we had in Japan, but the lowest quality. but overall, the hotel s nice and the environment is great!
one other dissapointment: as we had to leave the hotel at 6 a.m. and the breakfast starts at 7, we asked if we could get ANY food before departure: not possible (never experienced that in a hotel in Asia…..) so breakfast at the Shinkansen Railway station on our way back to Tokyo.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Huubheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yutakasanada, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hakodate-Onuma Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your honest review of your experience while staying at the Hakodate Onuma Prince Hotel.
We have taken your criticism of our shortcomings at our hotel restaurant seriously and have already begun making the necessary changes to enhance our English menus and our staffs ability to accommodate guests needs in a more professional manner.
We hope you had a safe trip and encourage you to come stay with us in the future.
We are deeply sorry you did not have a fully positive experience with us, please know we value your opinion and thank you for taking the time to help to us improve.


Best regards,
Hakodate Onuma Prince Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Stayed here for a night as i was travelling with tour group.

Onsen was great, overlooking the lake and forest, perfect!

7-11 is nearby within minutes of walking.

Room was good; aircon was not needed during my stay, just have to open the windows and the extremely cool air will seep through. but dont worry! the windows had insect net! toilet was clean.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank irischew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yutakasanada, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hakodate-Onuma Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are expecting to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Originally meant to camp in Lake Toya area but it was very rainy and cold so we decided to stay last minute at the Prince Hotel. Our room was at the end of the corridor and it was not a big deal to walk even with suitcases and bags in our hands. The location in the forest was very nice with great views. The room was spacious but the best part was the rotenburo. It was a foggy night and the view just looked so magical. My daughter has been raving about it ever since and we have visited quite a few on our past trips to Japan, so that says a lot. Unfortunately, the bakery was closed. Our only regret was not staying longer than a night. Would definitely stay here on our next trip to Hokkaido.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KathleenOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yutakasanada, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hakodate-Onuma Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are expecting to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Nice clean and new room , nice forest & lake view, big onsen
But the breakfast menu average
Layout room hotel its very long corridor.
Tips: ask room near elevator smaller number xxx1-29, because the farthest rooms xx30-50 need 10 minute walk from elevator, very difficult to bring luggage on carpet, and the corridor dark at night.
15 minute by car to hakodate town

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank thiotomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yutakasanada, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hakodate-Onuma Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are expecting to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We stay only one night in this hotel. we arrive at night and after check in we go straight to onsen which is a good experience.

The view in breakfast area is wonderful.
The buffet is nice with choice of Japan menu and western menu.
The best is their pork bacon which is cook when you make the order.
Overall nice stay

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 370rudys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yutakasanada, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hakodate-Onuma Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are expecting to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews