We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirayama Ryokan
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband (non-Japanese) and I (Japanese) were shouted at by the owner on the phone ("get out of your room!") on the morning of the second day of our stay, possibly due to his wanting to clean our room at a certain time (which he never mentioned beforehand or afterwards). He agreed that we could stay two nights so we technically didn't have to check out or leave the room that morning. So I went to talk to him in person trying to find out why he was so upset. Now this time, he told me that he was cancelling our room for the (second) night so we must move out right away and go somewhere else. But we had an agreement so I wasn't going to move out. Instead, I patiently explained why we were resting in the room (tired, unwell, etc.) then he finally backed off. Also very unpleasant was his way of approaching us; he often yelled "Oi!" to get our attention, even when he came to apologize to me later on (probably sent by his wife). All these bad manners of his were very unprofessional, as far as I’m concerned.

What’s also interesting is the contrast between Japanese and non-Japanese tourists in feedback about this place; quite a few positive comments from Japanese (in Rakuten Travel) and not so positive comments from non-Japanese guests (in Tripadvisor). Does this mean the owner has a racial issue, I wonder.

Having said all this, Hiraizumi itself is very pretty and fun to cycle around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mentalhealthadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Something happened here which never happened to me in 3,5 years cumulated in Japan, I had to pay in advance for 2 nights, when after the first night we wanted to leave because my wife got an eye infection, the owner refused to refund the amount of the second night (12000 Yen for 2 with room and breakfast). He refunded half of it after discussion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Food is so so good and owner couple is nice. However, they ask too many questions which annoyed me so much.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank omatsu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank settyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiraizumi-cho hotels
0 mi away
Shizukatei
Shizukatei
#2 of 4 in Hiraizumi-cho
26 reviews
0 mi away
Iris Yu
Iris Yu
#3 of 4 in Hiraizumi-cho
7 reviews
0 mi away
HIRAIZUMI Hotel Musashibo
HIRAIZUMI Hotel Musashibo
#1 of 4 in Hiraizumi-cho
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Minpaku Hiraizumi
#1 of 2 in Hiraizumi-cho
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Shirayama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirayama Ryokan

Address: 139-8 Shirayama Hiraizumi, Hiraizumi-cho, Nishiiwai-gun 029-4102, Iwate Prefecture
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Iwate Prefecture > Nishiiwai-gun > Hiraizumi-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiraizumi-cho
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Shirayama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing