We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
12
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor indoor outdoor onsen traditional style stayed here the river nakasendo trail bedroom taxi elevator lobby shower wifi baths town fukushima ryokan
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

My partner and I stayed at Iwaya in June while we were walking on the Nakasendo. Chigono-san, the innkeeper, was wonderfully kind and helped us find wonderful places to explore in Kiso-Fukushima. His english is excellent which was very helpful for us. The rest of the staff was also wonderful and kind and we felt very welcomed and cared for.

The rooms are large and beautiful and decorated beautifully. Our room had a stunning view of the inn's traditional garden and shrine, and the mountains of Nagano in the background.

Meals were absolutely delightful, with many courses, each one more beautiful and delicious than the last. And the cedar wood onsen (natural hot spring baths) on the top floor were beautiful, super clean, and very very relaxing.

The town of Kiso-fukushima itself was one of the most magical places we've ever visited, and Iwaya is centrally located so it is easy to walk to many incredible places from there. If you are thinking about traveling in this region, we recommend Iwaya strongly to you!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atszostek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Housed in a relatively modern building (compared to the other Japanese Inns we had stayed in), it has large, comfortable & traditional Japanese-style rooms with attached bath/toilet.
We also enjoyed the use of a small Public Bath (both indoor & Outdoor Onsen) within the hotel.
The elaborate & generous dinner, beautifully presented, was a treat.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We picked a plan to stay in this special room. For just two of us it's obviously too big but we wanted to see how this room looked like, it didn't let us down. There was a room with tatami, another room with chairs (western style). The 2nd floor had tatami and TV as well.

We noticed something when looking at the ceiling from 2nd floor that there was something written on the log as follow,

寄語宋無忌火光速入地
家在壬癸神日獻四海水

I found later from web that this was a kind of blessing for no fire breakout, originated from 臨済宗 (one of the Japanese buddism clans). One more thing I noticed was that this warehouse must be built for long time ago (at least earlier than WW2), because the Kanji "獻" is not written in this way nowadays.

It's a really interesting room afterall. For both breakfast and dinner, not much to comment but they were great.

Room tip: Try to look for 蔵メゾネット客室 plan, that's the renovated 2 story room.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmundduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

The outside looks more modern, but the family has owned a Ryokan on this spot for 14 generations. Some family members speak some English. They are all friendly. The hotel has communal hot springs baths (gender segregated) on the 4th floor. There is an elevator.
My husband and I had a room in the annex. It was huge.The bedroom overlooked the river. There was a beautiful lacqued round table with sitting cushions and backrests in the bedroom. Our bedroom had hot water and a beautiful lacquered tea set. The bedroom had sliding doors between the bedroom and other room.

There was another large rooth with a western table and chairs, foot massage machine, and flatscreen tv (only Japanese stations). There is a shower room with separate soaking tub. In traditional style, you shower before getting in the soaking tub. The room offers 2 razors, 2 toothbrushes, comb-brush combo, shampoo,conditioner, body-bathwash (we found these at all the Japanese hotels where we stayed.). Like most Japanese hotels there is no face cloth, but they do have a loose knitted body wash cloth(like a small fishing net).
They have sandals for your use and separate bathroom sandals. Remove shoes when entering the bedroom. The hotel provides yukatas (kimono with jacket) to wear around the hotel and to sleep in. The floor mats with futons seemed firm the first night, but hard the second. There were more mats so I could have added more cushioning. The bedroom also had a safe for us to use.

There are outlets for charging electronics. BUt the free internet is only available at a table in the lobby, and gets slow when multiple people are using the internet. There is also a garden that you can walk out into.
The hotel is quiet.

Room tip: We stayed in the annex and had view of the river.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manders2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

As part of our Japan trip we stayed one night at this ryokan. The location in Kiso-Fukushima is quiet and our room overlooked the river. The welcome in the hotel was very friendly.

The weather was very cold and rainy and we therefore shortened our hike for an extended visit to their onsen bath in the hotel which was nice. Our room was very spacious and we had good space for the four of us. They had put up a few extra heaters - so our room was also nice and warm.

The food was very good and offered so many dishes that we struggled to finish - great quality and presentation. Japanese breakfast was also high standard and completed the experience.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews