We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
12
17
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
17
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three nights enjoyed our stay the river carpet yukata tea reception wear town bath tour meals station dinner japan onsen ryokan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We stayed in this Japanese inn (Ryokan) for three nights, as part of a tour of Japan. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the station and located by the river. Our room had a great view of the river and the town. The room had traditional tatami mats and futon beds.

Set Japanese meals - dinner and breakfast - are served in the restaurant. There are communal hot baths for men and woman.

Service was friendly and efficient. The food was good quality and plentiful. The hotel was quiet, except for the sound of the river,nd comfortable. The town has plenty of shops and restaurants. There are a few things to see in the town, including some lovely temples, gardens and historic buildings. There are also some lovely walks in the area. The town is also convenient as a base for visiting other attractions in the area and for walking the Nakasendo trail.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay here in a traditional Japanese Riverside room. Not a lot of English spoken at check in but they have an English info booklet explaining all the hotels amenities including the free drinks area and how to use the hotel onsen. The futons were super comfy and cosy and please get fitted at reception for a Yukata and wear it to the onsen. Give it a try, it was our first time public bathing and there was no one else there...it was an awesome experience. The instructions on how to use the onsen in the check in book was perfect. Would highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: May 2018
2  Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We stayed one night here, and thoroughly enjoyed it. After a long walk from Tsumago, it was lovely to arrive and head immediately to the onsen in the basement for a good soak! Our room was huge, with a small seating area overlooking the river (a great view), a huge tatami area, and a bathroom and toilet. It's a big ryokan, and they were very busy as it was Golden Week, but all the staff were very friendly, welcoming, and efficient. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent; there was an enormous amount of food for dinner, and we also did the sake-tasting platter. They also had a self-service drinks area, with tea, coffee and soft drinks, which you could access at any time. It was a nice town to stroll around and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and we enjoyed it. Indeed this is a big hotel, however they have big room with tatami and futon; once you are in your room, you feel like in a traditional ryokan. It was super clean even if some pieces of carpet are outdated. Staff was very helpfull and kind.

They serve breakfast for 800 yens and dinner for 1800, not expensive. We took only breakfast and even if it's not "haute cuisine" it was good and mostly different each morning.

Even if you have private bathroom, they have public bath, clean and relaxing after a big trekking day. It was appreciated but I would have prefer to know in advance they have a public bath tax of 300 yens/night.

Overall it was perfect and kiso fukushima is a lovely living village in the middle of magnificent Kiso valley !

To hotel staff : maybe you could add bath tax precision on selling web sites like Booking.com ?

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 15vivianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed here in late April while doing some spring skiing at Mt. Ontake. The room was quite spacious for two but might be a little crowded for 4 people. We found sleeping on the floor on thick futons very comfortable with the downy bedding and enjoyed having tea in the sitting area overlooking the Kiso River.
An added bonus is the complimentary drink area (everything from hot chocolate to soup) that is available during the day. A traditional Japanese breakfast is included, complete with sterno burner to cook your food at your table. The onsen is rather small, but the hotel supplies onsen yukatas (spa loungewear) for their guests in different sizes. It is usual to see patrons lounging and coming to breakfast in their yukatas.
Service was great, and the front desk employees were very helpful with their limited English. A ryokan stay is a must when visiting Japan.

Room tip: River side rooms have best views. Rooms facing the street might be noisy.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 212slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews