We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Japan at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakuba Hifumi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hakuba Hifumi
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Japan at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Just as everyone else who has stayed here says -everything is superb and the staff so helpful. We stayed in the Hina room with the outdoor onsen. You can also see up to happo-one from the tub. It is an easy walk to gondola adam or just catch the free shuttle that leaves down the road. Free Shuttles leave all day long going to all of the resorts in hakuba. It is also an easy walk to the wadano area where the other hotels are. I totally recommend dining at hifumi as the food is exquisite!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

We are happy that you enjoyed skiing, Hina room, and our Japanese food!
And as you say, our hotel is located in one of the best and it is very easy to moving by walking or by catching shuttle buses. Please kindly choose us again if you are coming back to Hakuba!

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gymea Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

When planning our honeymoon we got quotes via our travel agent for many hotels within Hakuba however nothing really stood out until I did some research and found the Hifumi... As I had found this hotel myself I was a little nervous about the choice!

Well after staying at the Hakuba Hifumi all I can say is WOW! The staff were awesome, the room was awesome, the food was awesome, the onsen was awesome. Would recommend this hotel to anyone from families to couples to solo travellers! It is the perfect mix of Japanese culture with a hint of westernisation!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

It is our pleasure that you kindly chose us as a destination of your honeymoon, and you actually enjoyed it as “WOW!” experience. Of course any types of travelers are welcome. Please come back again someday with your family or friends!

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were here in Feb 2010 and stayed in a standard Japanese room and had such a great time. This time we stayed in one of the larger rooms. This is just such a great stay! Tomohiko and the whole Maruyama family including his wife mother and children, Yuta, and all the people working there were simply fantastic and made the 11 nights truly memorable. If you are not Japanese, then I implore you to have the traditional breakfast each morning. If you are Japanese then still have them! Stunning. And have an evening meal there please. All the options are sensational and we found the Japanese Casual Course to be exceptional value. The onsen options are just the thing after a day of powder. I simply cannot fault the Hifumi, so much so that my daughter and fiancée are staying here as well in a months time. We travel a lot as we are retired and this is one of the top places we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Fuki was a really nice room....but then so are the others. But in fuki you can se the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments on our hotel, again! Your praise is a great honor for us. You love our food including traditional Japanese meals, that is very good to hear from someone from different culture. We appreciate you kindly came to stay with us again, all the way from such a faraway country even with your family added! All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you in 2014-2015 winter season with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles as always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We've been to lots of different hotel rooms around the world and by far this has been my favorite one.

Not only because Maruyama-san and hist staff makes you feel very comfortable and special but because the Nagomi room was design with an amazing, huge and relaxing onsen, with two separate living spaces in combination with a very stylish Japanese and western details.

We felt very relax here and couldn't wait to go back to our rooms after a very exhausting skiing session.

We had issues using our credit card to pay at the end and Maruyama-san couldn't have been more helpful in finding ways to find a solution. Much appreciate it.

If I could make this the absolute perfect skiing retreat hotel I would move it closer to the lifts to make it a ski-in ski-out heaven.

Room Tip: in Japan, cash is king, I learn my lesson the hardway. Nagomi room is the one to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos-newzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

You truly enjoyed Nagomi! To make you relax and comfortable after skiing is one of our main aims. We are grad that you did relax and could not wait to go back to the room. Our free pick-up/ drop-off service between ski lifts and our hotel is available. Please kindly come back again and stay with us!

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We went in only with reviews from Tripadvisor and we drove there for our first time. We arrived late into the night after getting lost that night; however, the manager and staff were on hand to assist and welcomed us. The rooms were wonderful with the private onsen, with everything in the fridge for us anytime included. The breakfast was FANTASTIC! And the dinner at the hotel is something everyone should try at least once in their stay.... I will TOTALLY recommend this place to my friends...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

It is grate to hear that your impression of our hotel is very good nevertheless you got lost in the night. Private onsen is available only at our hotel in Hakuba. Please come back to us again with your friends. You are always welcome.

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here in late December 2012 and words can't describe what an amazing time we had. We want to go back to Japan but mostly we want to stay here again. Tomosan and the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive. Nothing is too much! We stayed in a beautiful traditional room which was large compared to the other places we stayed. The hotel is well designed with a great drying room and we really enjoyed the breakfast. The onsens were the perfect end to a day out on the slopes and our only regret is that we couldnt book a fuki room with a private onsen outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

It is very grateful to hear that you had an amazing time at our hotel. Please do come back again to stay in Fuki or any one of other deluxe rooms with a private onsen outside. You would definitely experience another comfortable time!

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

We( 2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in the fuki room with the outside onsen, it was fab.
Tomo (the manager) offered to pick us up from the bus stop when we arrived - make sure you go to the Happo one stop. Both Tomo and Utah ( who does everything from Taxiing to serving breakfast) could not do enough to help - taking us to the ski shop to get kitted up and to the slopes and back.
They are friendly and helpful and put customer service first.
The food is fab, we had both Japanese and western style breakfasts but we really rated the Japanese style. We were here for Chistmas day so decided to have the top Japanese banquet from the restaurant- it was worth it as the different flavours and attention to detail was amazing.
The room was a good size, beds comfortable and warm but the only negative was the aircon seemed noisy at night.
Having an outside personal onsen is a must.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjgcrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba.

Thank you very much for telling us about the noise of aircon. After all it seems you truly enjoyed your stay and our Japanese cuisine, and it is our pleasure. We are always glad to do what we can at our best for guests.

All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Hifumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Hifumi

Property: Hakuba Hifumi
Address: 4998 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#2 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#3 Onsen Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#4 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakuba Hifumi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hakuba Hifumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuba Hifumi Hotel Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing