We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakuba Powder Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hakuba Powder Lodging
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Pleasant stay with our kids. Nick and Hiro were helpful and provided transport, tips and booked ski lessons etc. Like staying with friends in their home really. My two boys especially enjoyed staying here

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
9
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at Hakuba Powder Lodge for 2 months in 2013 and to finally leave felt like I was leaving home. I arrived in the midst of the busiest part of the season and left at a time when guests were few on the ground and at all times the lodge was a thoroughly enjoyable place to be.

The lodge is comfortable, clean and appropriately-equipped. There is ample storage space, both for luggage and ski equipment. It is well situated – walking distance to Echoland, bus stops, train station and surrounds – though nicely separated to give you a sense of quasi-isolation from the seasonal hoardes. A daily run to the supermarket keeps any tired legs happy.

The lodge bustles in busy times but this is neither a burden on facilities or services. As in any similar environment the space is necessarily shared, though never to the detriment of any and this only serves to enhance the community of the accommodation. The weird and wonderful spectrum of like-minded guests gives the lodge a unique liveliness. I was essentially travelling solo and the lodge was an ideal place to meet new people to ride, relax and regale tales with.

Nick, Hiro and the kids are the heart of the lodge and create a warm, familial environment. Together with their staff they are friendly, welcoming and always willing to help out with information, bookings and transport.

The true appeal of Hakuba Powder Lodge lies not in its structure, fit out or location – which are all great. The appeal lies in the community of the accommodation and the sense the owners have created that you are not just a name attached to a booking, you are part of a bigger family.

Certainly this will suit some people more than others. To arrive with an expectation of hotel facilities, to-the-second attendances and isolation from other guests, is unrealistic. However if you are looking for somewhere relaxed, friendly and inclusive Hakuba Powder Lodge ticks all the boxes. When I return to Hakuba, I won’t be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareC_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Going from Colorado to Japan to ski seemed extremely daunting as I had no friends who had completed this trip. I did some research on TetonGravity.com's forums and found Hakuba Powder Lodge as a resource to stay while in the central mountains in Hakuba. We arrived in Hakuba a day late, but was still able to get picked up at the bus station with no issues. Once there, we were greeted by a very warm, clean, and welcoming lodge. It is not luxury, but that was not what I was looking for and the price was very reasonable.

The lodge was full and never felt like I was crowded and could not use the shower, kitchen, or even sit around the fireplace. The skiing in the location is great and the owner of the lodge will go out of their way to ensure you ski the best terrain you are looking for. I will never forget waking up after a long night on the town to the owner letting us know the days conditions ad that we had 5 hours to ski the lines we were scoping the day prior. He handed me a highlighted map of where to ski and how we get to and from the location.

I would not only recommend, but would suggest if you are going to Japan to ski this lodge a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Opposite of one persons review I liked a lot when stayed at this Lodge.

Yes it's a lodge and don't wait 5-star hotel amenities and some times drying room is full of peoples stuff, but hey that's normal when the lodge is fully booked. I still always managed to dry my clothes and boots.

Location is good, just couple of minutes to the ski bus stop and under 15 min to Echoland
Kitchen, dining room, lounge and our room were clean as a lodge standard. Props for that.

Staff is friendly and it feels just like at home. We got transportation to food store when ever we wanted :) That's quality when you're traveling /wo a car

Do I come back? Absolutely

Best rgds,
Harri

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macharza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dred
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Powder Lodge is the nicest and most homely-feeling lodge I´ve ever stayed in. You are with other guests that come there to ski every day, so it´s quiet at night, owners and staff do everything possible to help you, tell you where to ski or go for dinner or just have a nice little chat (mainly about skiing of course). Rooms are clean and really nice for that price. Good and big kitchen where you even can move when 20 Swedes make breakfast at 6:30 am.
It´s located 1 minute from the bus stop, 5 minutes to the supermarket and 5 minutes to Echoland, where you can find many restaurants and bars. If you don´t want to walk to the supermarket, staff does a shuttle every evening. They also pick you up and bring you back to the train- or busstation.So if you go to Hakuba to ski every day and want to find good friends, there is no better place than the Powder Lodge!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bavaria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Cosily & lovely. Great housekeepers. Always give your advice and help to find different information for their guests.

Of course, if you look for some luxury hotel it's not a correct choice, but if you need to spent your vacation in the atmosphere of "big house for friends" - Powder Lodge is proper one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirillSurikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great lodge! Although it was the off season Hiro and Nick and the kids made me feel right at home as if I was a cousin visiting from Canada. Great dry room for storage and even gave me lifts to the gondola to ski with my gear as the local buses were no longer running, even to the train station at the end of my stay. Rooms were clean, kitchen was big and useful and warm cozy fires at night watching the snow fall from the bar made it a real lodge like feeling. Comfy bed and bedding. Great place and just a short stroll from Master Braster and 902 bars and restaurants of Echoland.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hottubbinsnowmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#16 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Powder Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Powder Lodging

Property: Hakuba Powder Lodging
Address: 2595-1 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301 , Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Hakuba Powder Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing