We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Yamano Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba Hifumi(Hakuba-mura)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Echo Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
60
88
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
88
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdays skihot springssofa bedski fieldsviews of the mountainsonsen experiencebreakfast and dinnershuttle busoutdoor onsenstayed nightsski resortlobbyfireplaceguestsstationyukataalps
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed at hakuba highland hotel for my 5 days ski trip. Pros: very friendly staff, excellent service, onsen with a panorama/arguably best view of the Japanese alps, buffets breakfast and dinners. Cons: room is slightly old (although they are kept very cleaned); location is rather (not an issue if you are only there to ski as there are daily shuttle buses to the various ski resorts. However, you would need a cab if you intend to look for some nightlife. Genki go bus doesn't pass by hakuba highland). Overall, this hotel is very good valued for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Tips:
For equipment rental, you would do better trying central snowsport besides happo gondola than to use the rainbow rental besides the hotel. For approximately the same price, you get far better equipment at the former.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thoramex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

For the price paid this was good value. had it been more expensive the review wouldn't be as positive. The negatives:

- Buffet items during dinner were cold (there are better ways to keep hot food hot at buffets)
- Buffet items for breakfast were obvious items used for dinner the night before.
- Smoking room on the way from the lobby to the elevators has doors wide open, I think it would make more sense to close the doors.
- Hallways, room, hotel in general looks late 80's/early 90's style and there are definite signs of wear and tear.

Positives:

- Great views!
- Nice onsen to relax in
- Friendly staff!
- Good value (which helps to offset the negatives mentioned).

Overall Hakuba was a great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I'm not giving this 5 stars for luxury but for overall GREAT experience. Nothing negative to say about my stay... VERY friendly and helpful staff. Quick taxi ride to train and bus station, easy shuttle to Hakuba-One and other mountains, excellent breakfast and plenty of it, wonderful views from the dining room, ski rental shop across the way, and -oh yes- the onsen!! This was the nicest onsen (hot spring) that I visited during my stay in Japan. You are encouraged to wear your guest slippers and robe around the hotel, which felt very welcoming. The hotel had a lot of Japanese visitors with a few ex-pats, which was also very nice. I really felt like I was visiting Japan.

Room Tip: Mountain view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virtualfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I had a large room to myself, very clean. Food was good and plenty of it, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The views from dining room were spectacular. Enjoyed the outdoor hot springs with mountain views.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairlightfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I visited Hakuba in summer, which is off-season to this ski resort town (and an Olympic site).
Hotel is overall fine for people who do not look for luxury, except:
- we were not allowed to check in 30 minutes before 3pm though there are no many guests this season, and there were probably ready rooms.
- There are no "non-smoking rooms", so there is this constant smell in the rooms
- Breakfast is reasonable but nothing to write home about. Bread is a bit old, fruits are mainly preserved fruits, and so on.
- rooms are not isolated enough. I could hear the ladies next door chatting at 5am

There is hotspring downstairs, which is nice. Landscape is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuval_adler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews