We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Justin and his team are 'spot on'”
Review of Penke Panke Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penke Panke Lodge
Ranked #4 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed with small group of lads (5 in total) and had a 3 bed room (double bed and bunk) and the other 2 shared 2 singles. Small but exactly whats you need. The people make the place and for this reason you should stay here. Perfect for families, groups and couples.

Great bar and food make it the best spot in that area. Its not a busy place so having a small bar with a few familiar faces makes it even better. Justin and the team are excellent. Only thing could make it even better - Eggs in the morning!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different - its either upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at Penke for the first time in 2013, and returned again this season for another stay.

This place has it nailed. Great staff, immaculate, very inviting atmosphere, and Justin will go out of his way to help you with anything. The lodge also has a way of attracting likeminded guests, a great mix of people from all walks of life.

The location is a bit out of town, but the lodge provides nightly shuttles to the supermarket, echoland and Onsens around town. There is a shuttle but station about 50m down the road so I is easy to get back there at the end of a night. There is also Penke bar which is in the front yard of Penke Panke, which is super convenient for a quiet few drinks, or to cap off a day on the mountain :)

I travelled to Penke solo for my first trip and found the dorm style accommodation quite good. I met a group of other Aussies who all returned this year to meet up and share another season together :)

I will be returning in 2015 to stay in Penke again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The 2 weeks we spent at Penke Panke were some of the best of the whole trip. The staff are incredibly helpful - both in the booking process, once there and even after we left to help track our bag! They have a great presence and share their experience, be it lift passes, travel advice, activity suggestions, translations, restaurant bookings, mountain knowledge, ski rental, bag transfers or meal recommendations and are generally really genuine, friendly people!
Penke Panke was a really comfortable home base for our group at the mountain - meals, beds, baths were all exceptional, the kitchen and lounge are really easily shared and the whole place had the nicest atmosphere of all the (many) places we stayed in our time in Japan. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. Thanks again, Brodie

Room Tip: Dorms have big beds but minimal storage space so be prepared to live out of a bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a group of three guys that stayed at Penke Panke for almost two weeks in February. This is an great place, one of the best hostels I've stayed at. The rooms are tidy, they have all the amenities you could ever need, everything is clean and in great shape. On top of that the staff is great, very friendly and they give guest lifts to ATM, supermarket, etc regularly. There's also a really nice bar, breakfast is really good and included in the price, and they have a small onsen. All in all there's simply nothing to complain about. Thanks Jason & co. for a really great time in Hakuba!

Room Tip: We had the family suite for the first part of our stay which was really nice. It's a little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Thank you Justin, Paul and team for our brilliant stay at Penke Panke.

Clean new facilities, friendly helpful staff, excellent location (walking distance to Happo and Sakka). Didn't want to leave Hakuba.

Highlight of our trip in Japan!

Jam, Nat and Jodie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have arrived back home in Tokyo after another fantastic holiday in Hakuba.

Travelling with a 16 month old child is never easy and yet staying at Penke Panke Lodge couldn't have been any easier for us.

Penke Pankes close proximity to the kids area at Happo One was fantastic for us! Not only could we take our daughter down to play in the fun park but the daycare provided by Happo One, which is located by the Sakka ticket office, allowed us a chance to ski together for a day while she made some new friends in the trusty hands of the staff there.

The room was perfect! It was nice being a little away from everyone else which meant it was quiet and gave us a little more privacy. The price they charged for our room meant we could stay a few extra nights and we didn't feel we had to rush home counting our pennies, or lack of, on the way back.

The lodge staff were always willing to pass on advice and help out with bookings, directions or even offering to take us in the van. They couldn't have been more helpful!

If you have a young family and are looking at a stay in Hakuba then Penke Panke is the lodge you are after!

Room Tip: We went with the family room at the back of the lodge. Small kitchen and private bathroom made this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After staying at Penke 4 years ago, I have come back every year since.
The rooms is great which they are constantly upgrading, the heating is great and lots or room and storage so you don't feel like you're living out of your suitcase.
The kitchen and common rooms are great and the place has an incredibly friendly vibe!
The location is really close to the slopes and right next to Penke Bar and Bistro aswell as several other great resturants less than a 5 minute walk.
The staff have been great every year, with vast amounts of knowledge, friendly and incredibly helpful!
Breakfast provided is always a plus and the supermarket and onsen runs each night are brilliant!
The best place to stay in Hakuba

Room Tip: All rooms are great even ones with shared bathrooms which are kept incredibly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Villa Hakuba
Hotel Villa Hakuba
#1 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
82 reviews
Grove Inn Skala
#7 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Asuka
Asuka
#12 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
59 reviews
Mojo Lodge Hakuba
#4 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
75 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Ski-kan
Hakuba Ski-kan
#10 of 456 in Hakuba-mura
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penke Panke Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penke Panke Lodge

Address: 4836 Hokujo | Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £98 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 21 guest rooms spanning 3 buildings accommodation ranges from budget friendly dorm-style rooms to spacious self-contained suites, with fully equipped kitchens and private bathrooms. We have the perfect combination to complete your booking needs including a modern Communal Kitchen and Cozy Lounge. Continental style Breakfast is provided featuring fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pastries, juice and coffee/tea. Our chef prepares a hot delicacy daily to fill your nutritional and culinary needs before hitting the slopes. Visit the Penke Bar & Bistro next door for Apres Ski fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penke Panke Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing