We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun Inspite of the Earthquake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Eternal Flame
Ranked #13 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Agana, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Fun Inspite of the Earthquake”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Despite being in Tokyo during the 9.0 earthquake of 3/11, we braved the trip to Nagano, then to Hakuba, WITHOUT REGRETS. We had the best time!!!
Nao& Kimi with Kari's help were the best host. They were quick to reposnd when we rang the bell for assistance. They gave great recommendations on restaurants, ski slopes, onsens, gear rentals, etc. Kimi even played Wii with my boys :) Nao hooked us up with a discount to the ski lifts & Kimi cooked excellent breakfast in mornings. She even indulged us with our request of Omu Rice. Thank you Kimi.
The pension house itself was a great accomodation. Thank you to the previous reviewers that recommended this place. This is our second time in Hakuba & we really like this better. EF is only 5 mins walk to the bus stop at Alpine Chalet. Restaurants are 5 to 10 min walk.
The pension house itself was awesome. It had lots of windowsgiving it a bright, cheery & open feel. My only pet peeve was the hard bed & pillows. Hoping for softer next time please as we will definitely go back.
Thank you Nao, Kimi & Kari.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexadel671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed here for 8 days over the Christmas period, and the owners, Nao and Kimi, and their staff were very kind and helpful all throughout our stay. One of their staff, Jay, even lent my boyfriend his own ski goggles because the ones we hired were no good. We tried many restaurants in Hakuba and we think the food at Eternal Flame is the best value by far. The food was really delicious and such a good price compared to other places which are just overpriced because it's an isolated area. Kimi serves 3 course breakfasts and 5 course dinners which and the menu changes every morning/night. We liked it so much we decided to have a Christmas dinner in the private room with some friends and it was perfect.

Their common area is really warm and open, you can help yourself to tea and coffee, and they always offer up some biscuits when you come back to the lodge to relax. There is also a Wii for people free to play and it was really fun - we even played with other guests. The rooms are decently large, and clean with a big screen TV in each room and free wifi. They have movies you can borrow as well. The beds are comfy and the blankets are warm. We stayed in a room without a private bathroom, but the shared bathrooms are perfectly clean.

Kimi and Nao are so kind, they helped us so much with ski rental gear when we lost a beanie (they leant us one of theirs), and someone accidentally took our snowboards by mistake. They helped us sort it out with the rental place. When the beanie was found at the ski resort, they went and picked it up for us.

We really reccommend staying at Eternal Flame, you won't regret it. The service will beat any other lodge.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Like most we chose Eternal Flame based on the reviews. We can support all the fabulous comments posted here. We arrived with a little disaster on our hands with our 1 year old vomiting for the previous 6 hours. He was in a bad way. Thankfully we were staying with Nao and Kimmy who drove us to the hospital and supplied Jay who acted as our interpreter. Things improved and we started to enjoy our holiday. The food was wonderful, but be sure to ask Kimmi for some Japanese style food as she is a wonderful chef of both cuisines..

The location is great and Nao's selection of local restaurants is spot on. If i can leave one tip for you, that is to ensure you book your first nights dinner with your booking as it is not clear on the web page that you need to advise them that you want to eat at the pension the day before.

With our young son and our friends also with young children Nao and Kimmi were very accommodating with our early meal times and heating of bottle milk to perfection. Meal times were fun for the kids with colourful place settings and a high chair.

We wish Nao and Kimmi much success and happiness.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowflakes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at Eternal Flame based on Trip Advisor and it has exceeded our expectations...it was the first time to Japan for us and we were really unsure on how things operated....our hosts and staff were amazing, so helpful 100 percent of the time. The accomadation is very cosy and comfortable...the breakfasts were amazing, perfect to give you the energy you needed for riding that day...the dinners are definately worth having here for one or two nights as it is a five course meal that is beautiful...the location of the pension is perfect, it is near the shuttle buses and all the awesome restaurants...we will be back to Eternal Flame and tell all our friends, Staying at Eternal Flame has made for a very memorable experience for us that we will always cherish... claire and eric

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay , Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We chose Eternal Flame because of the great reviews and were not disappointed.We felt completely welcome and relaxed at Nao and Kimmi's pension. About halfway between two shuttle bus stops (We skiied back from Cherry Pub) and 5 mins from Echoland , we thought the location was excellent.
Kimmi is an excellent chef and we really appreciated those onsen at the end of the day. As mentioned by others , breakfast (large and varied) set us up nicely and the food both on and off the slopes was so good we sometimes had to choose whether to have lunch or dinner.
Eternal Flame is a good size and not crowded. We met some really lovely people there. We were upgraded when the week- end visitors had left and Nao's recommendations for good restaurants were spot on. I would definitely stay here again....and take the family with me.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Everyone in the world who wants to run a hotel/lodging should come here and see how it is done. Everything is superb, from when you are greeted at the bus station to when you are dropped off by the warm hosts, Nao and Kimi.

Even though there are good restaurants 5-10 minute walk away, I recommend eating here every night. Kimi's cooking is exceptional, and the service and comfort of home style cooking cannot be matched.

Hakuba is not a compact ski village, so there is the potential for stress with going to hire ski equipment, transiting to the lifts etc, but the quality of the hospitality here made the whole ski trip a breeze. We got a discount at the best value hire place in town, plus Nao arranged for us to be taxied to and from the hire shop (free), and for our equipment to be picked up from the house (free too).
The rooms are compact, but the communal areas are lovely and cosy.

Stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

As with previous reviewers we picked the 'Eternal Flame' based on Tripadvisor reviews. They were certainly not wrong. Nao and Kimmi could not do enough to make sure our skiing holiday was great. The breakfasts were good and Kimmi's dinners were sensational. The lodge is warm and cozy with a very welcoming communal sitting room. It is well located and within easy walking distance of the ski bus and plenty of restaurants. The rooms are small but we were lucky enough to be able use the adjoining room as it was unoccupied for the whole of our six night stay.
If you experience bad weather a trip to see the snow monkeys is well worthwhile and Nao gives you very detailed instructions as to how to reach them using public transport. Also, Nao and Kimmi were kind enough to pick us up and drop us back to the bus station at the beginning and end of our stay.
Nao and Kimmi's warmth and hospitality certainly made our skiing trip to Japan most memorable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
226 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Villa Hakuba
Hotel Villa Hakuba
#1 of 365 in Hakuba-mura
75 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Eternal Flame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Eternal Flame

Property: Pension Eternal Flame
Address: 2455-11 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Eternal Flame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Pension Eternal Flame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing