We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms and staff!”
Review of Hakuba Echo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed here for one week in February 2013 with a group of friends, having organised the trip through Snowbeds Japan. Throughout the entire stay the staff were extremely accommodating, and when available, helped with local area transport, taxis, restaurant recommendations, and organising sightseeing. Easily the friendliest staff of any hotel I've experienced.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, with TV and Hulu (selected movies/tv shows/youtube free on demand).

There was a daily western breakfast (eggs, sausages, baked beans, as well as cereal & toast), and large common area on the top floor, as well as a small bar on the ground floor with reasonably priced drinks, however at the time we were there it was usually very quiet.

It's about a 25 minute walk to the Happo-One ski area, and the shuttle to all the ski areas leaves from right across the road. Plenty of restaurants and bars literally across the street, or within a short walk.

Highly recommended; I would definitely consider coming back here on my next trip to Japan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve_M_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was my third time at Hakuba but my first at Echo Hotel. I took 5 friends with me and we stayed in one of the condo's at Echo Hotel. The staff were welcoming and genuinely nice and very helpful. The hotel and condo is really nice and great value for money. It's very easy to book from Australia and it's so much easier having all lift passes and ski gear rental organised by this team prior to arriving at no extra cost. The only issue was that they couldn't keep up with our red wine and scotch consumption :)

Thanks Echo Hotel, we'll all be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We just recently stayed for a skiing break over Chinese New Year at the Echo Hotel. We really enjoyed it. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Great service: I forgot some very important documents in the room and they directly mailed them to me. This does not happen every day.

Otherwise, the deluxe rooms are very spacious and clean. The Western breakfast was good.
All in all, it was a beautiful holiday and we would go back to the Echo Hotel any time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GStarxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at the echo hotel for a week in December, just as the season started. We arrived at midnight and were greeted on arrival by Ali and told we were upgraded to a condo.
The staff were really nice and helpful, the condo itself was so great only thing was the pool table above us at night time. You could hear every ball.
I would absolutely stay at echo again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at Hakuba Echo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hi Kelly A, Thank you for staying with us in Feb 2013 which was our first season running Echo Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade to a condo for your stay. We note your comments on the pool table and you will be glad to know that we had the carpet replaced prior to the 2014 season with thick underlay sounding proofing any noise heard from the pool table. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

snowbeds travel,5star rating ,stress free holiday”
Pending review
5 of 5 stars

my son and I had a thought, let ski japan,Hakuba,as the family has done the Canada thing,well go to Japan.As I have planned many trips before, and working for Qantas to many years ,I wasnt really looking forward to planning transfers,hotel booking ski passes etc.at this point 4 other member had said yes to Japan,now a party of 6.from the first phone call to Snowbeds Travel and Talking to Tina,every part of the trip was made so easy.The Knowledge of the area is second to none.We deceide on a small self contained 3bedroom cabin,50 metres from Snowbeds hotel,100 from the ski bus stop.Transfers were booked,7day ski passes booked,this is to easy ,While snowbeds may only be a small travel company they they have a range of accommodation to suit everyone,backpackers,cabins to hotel,But most importantly with the personal touch.
In Hakuba We were met by Mitch, taken to our cabin for the next 7day ,and let loose,free wifi so the kids we happy.At one point 2 of our party wanted to do the monkey tour,Mitch no one for doing things later,booked the bus tour and even a taxi to pick them up and return to the cabin,again all done with no fuss.This was more like being on holidays with friends that just happen to own and run a travel company.So to Mitch and Tina and all the staff at Snowbeds Travel again many thanks from the Oneils ratpack we already planning to do this again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oneilsratpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We had a great trip – Echo Hotel was great, the room (2 bed family apartment) was really spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely. Steve and Ali especially went out of their way to make sure everything was OK for us. Having the shuttles to the resorts right outside was very convenient and there were a lot of places to eat close by that worked for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We loved our stay at the Echo Hotel in the two bedroom condo on the top floor with fantastic views of the town are of echoland. The staff were very nice and so helpful with making sure we were okay. We arrived early in the morning and they stayed awake to greet us and took us to meet our tour to the Fire Festival and the bus station home. The condo was very spacious by Japanese standards and had the largest walk in wardrobe I have ever seen. The hotel is across the road from the weather station bus stop for the free buses to any ski field you wish to visit in the hakuba area. It snowed every day we were there and the best powder snow for skiing. There was a laundrumat downstairs and lots of restaurants within walking distance and a great store called Jah Jah for milk bread and groceries open all the time. We will definitely be back, loved the service, and skiing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiegal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#5 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
147 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Echo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Echo Hotel

Address: 3020-503 Oaza-hokujo,, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £129 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Echo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular hotel comprises two bedroom kitchenette suites, two bedroom family suites, deluxe twin/king rooms, twin queen rooms, compact twin/queen rooms and luxury two, three, four and five bedroom condominiums. All room types come with ensuites and mountain or tree views. The top floor lounge has stunning views of the mountains including the Olympic Ski Jump and has a pool table, lounge area and large flat screen TV. There is a second lounge with cozy fireplace and a bar at street level as well as a laundrette which is open to the public. Echo Hotel is one of Hakuba's best value for money establishments with its excellent location, spotless rooms and friendly staff. Echoland, the area it sits in the heart of, is surrounded by restaurants, shops and bars. This area known as "the village" is where most of the independent restaurants are and has a large selection of international cuisine. If you are not wanting to dine in hotel restaurants then you will more than likely come into this area at night if staying in any other area. Located in the main street this hotel is only a five minute free shuttle to Happo One or 47/Goryu Resorts. The free resort shuttle stop is right opposite the hotel and walking to either of these resorts takes 10~15mins. The hotel also offers its own morning shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Rakuten so you can book your Hakuba Echo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing