We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Soyokaze(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Herb no Yado Kunugi(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heidi Hof(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Yamano Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Pension Funny Inn(Hakuba-mura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
60
15
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
15
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvbar downstairshot optionsthe busdelicious cooked breakfastfourth floorfamily holidayon arrivalspecial thanksski clothesdrying roomdaily breakfastthe hotel stafffree wifisee you next yearend of the dayhotel shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Well it's been four weeks since we left Hakuba and already I am wanting to go back, still checking the resort cams everyday just as I did leading up to the trip.
It was our second trip and our second time at the Echo Hotel. We just can't wait to make it THREE times. Everything, and I mean everything was, on both occasions, just perfect. Right from the first contact with Tina, the first of many contacts as Tina happily makes way for my many and varied changes, tweaks, adjustments and whims, through to hopping into the departure mini-van off to catch the Shinkansen to Tokyo, it is all a well oiled machine to allow you to enjoy your trip to the maximum.
The staff at the Echo are as obliging as you could want for, making sure your room is perfect in every details, with Apple TV tuned just right, making dinner reservations, arranging any tours or luggage/gear transport. Breakfast is created to your individual liking as tips and hints on today's weather and best skiing/boarding is discussed. Rooms are modern, clean and very, very warm with views of the village, nightlife and mountains oh, and lots of snow right outside the hotel...LOTS OF SNOW. The beds are to die for, so comfortable, cosy, large and warm. The ski drying room is large enough to cater for all guests so your gear isn't tossed around. The bar, cosy enough for a quiet drink, with bar food good enough to have the occasional dinner in house and lively enough for a night out.
In a nutshell, Echo the first year, Echo the second year and most likely Echo the third year.
The village has an abundance of eateries and bars enough to go somewhere new each night, along with some shopping, groceries if you like, ski/board shops, hire and tunes. The locals are genuinely happy to have you visit their valley and town.
The slopes, well do I need to say anything? So many resorts so close, so much variety and all on one pass, with free shuttles almost at the front door of the Echo Hotel. The skiing/boarding is spectacular, virtually no lift lines and multitudes of trails and powder. Like I said about the Echo Hotel, it's the same for Hakuba.... Hakuba the first year, Hakuba the second year and YES! Hakuba the third year.

YOU HAVE JUST GOTTA GO!

Room Tip: The family units have plenty of room and nice views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Staff are exceedingly friendly and accommodating. They went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible, even driving us to doctors appointments when my boyfriend dislocated his knee.
The location is great with free shuttles to all the resorts and many great restaurants along the strip. A hot breakfast daily was an added bonus! Would recommend this hotel to any couple of family.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Loved this place from the second we got there til the second we left. Staff were amazing, friendly & helpful, with customer service that goes beyond the norm. We are a family of 6 and stayed in the 3 bedroom condo, it is gorgeous.

The hotel is on the main street of Echoland, many restaurants to choose from right on the doorstep. Day trip to Snow Monkeys is a must.

Negatives: To get to the slopes you need to catch a bus (minimum 5 to 10 mins, or longer, depending on where you go) shuttles to the snow resorts are limited to certain times, very important to plan your day around the bus schedule of the resort you plan to go to. Also, the drying room is very small, only 2 stools to sit on & it was always very crowded in there, especially in the morning when everyone is trying to make the shuttles after breakfast.
Would we recommend it ? Absolutely !!! This small boutique hotel felt like a home away from home. Tina from Snowbeds Japan, is based in Australia & organised everything which made it very easy for us. Mitch, Kanako & all the staff in Hakuba made our holiday one we will never forget.
Thanks to all the staff who always treated us like old friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKSLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Unless you get the large apartment with proper bedrooms the family 2 bedrooms can b a bit small. The hotel laundrette is not just for hotel clients so getting a machine can b difficult when there r only 2 working!!!! Not good
Staff r friendly and some of them really went out of their way
to help us. The free shuttle bus is a pain as service doesn't run all day.
Echoland is a bit out of the way. I would suggest staying in Happo where there are stacks if places to eat

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina D, General Manager at Hakuba Echo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hi Debra S, Thank you for your review and feedback. Unfortunately when you asked for an upgrade when your eldest son decided to join your holiday we had no larger sleep 5 rooms available however we did offer for him to have a compact room which you declined in favour of futon being added to your room. This of course made your room more compact as the family rooms are designed for 4 not 5 people. Last season was also unexpectedly busier than normal and the resorts shuttles at times were busier than previous seasons which they were not prepared for. As a result we are expecting more shuttles for coming seasons as well as now Echo Hotel will have its own shuttle service. At the time of your stay we had a washing machine breakdown, please know this was booked for immediate repair and was back working very quickly: I note your review was posted on the day it broke down. Having talked and emailed you directly I am glad you stated you “loved your hotel” and you had an enjoyable stay, visited multiple resorts rather than just Happo One Resort where you mentioned you had previously stayed. There are also more restaurants in the concentrated area of Echoland than in any other area and there will be even more opening for next season. I hope you choose to come stay with us again. Kind regards Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

What a find! Thanks to Snowbeds who arranged our 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment (thanks Tina), we arrived to find fresh friendly faces welcoming us to Echo Hotel. In a great location, we walked everywhere to great restaurants and bars (which staff could readily recommend), and if we couldn't there was the hotel mini-van to take us. Mitch, Sally, James and the gang cooked ski-ready breakkies, complete with vegemite for the desperados who can't cut their Australian umbilical cord. Our roomy & spuriously clean apartment had lovely morning and evening views of this winter wonderland, albeit any late night revellers or early morning snow ploughs can be heard - but we figure its all part of the experience. The Snow'd Inn bar on site overlooking the street, sports a great concoction of Sally's gluhwein amongst other bevvies, bar tapas, on-screen winter sports and a passing parade of visitors with their daily diet of ski war stories. Honestly this is Hakuba's best as the team go above and beyond who made our stay into the New Year at our HAKUBA home. Arigato - the Hume's and Davis's

Room Tip: We liked the apartment without a key because as friends we could come and go and not worry who had the key. Always ask if something is missing as staff are very obliging to make your stay what you expect. No restaurant on site, only breakfasts, but so, so many at your door.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews