We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
Certificate of Excellence
Glenelg, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 10 days in January 2014. Both of us had never been to Japan before and it was very overwhelming.

When we first arrived at our hotel we were greated by a very friendly and helpful man named Souza. I've done my fair share of travelling and have never recieved such amazing personalised service as I did staying here.

Just to name a small few.. I sprained my ankle snowboarding and was picked up by Souza himself from the ski resort, he brought me ice for my ankle and prepared and brought me food up to the room. He arranged all of our tours and he knows ways to save you money. I saved 75% doing the snow monkey tour by catching public transport (about $75) and this way I interacted with locals and experienced it differently. A few times we slept in and we were always ALWAYS phoned to give us a "wake up call" so we didn't miss breakfast. The hotel have a big bus and mini-van and we were given lifts to the bank to exchange our Australian dollars and Souza was our own little personal interpreter. We got taken to the convienience store also and to local supermarkets. All the other staff were extremely polite and friendly, always smiling and happy. English speaking abilities were limited so we weren't able to interact as much as we would have liked to. Might need to pick up on my Japanese.

Souza is a local who can speak fluent English and Japanese and he knows everything to do and see in Hakuba and this really made our trip great.

The hotel itself is in a great location around 600m from the Goryu ski resort, theres plently of bars and restaurants all within a short walking distance. Convience store closeby, regular bus shuttle which literally stops out the front of the hotel.

Wifi internet is super fast with a good range signal. Rooms are adequate and heaters are extremely warm, breakfast and dinners are good here also. Normally I can not be bothered writing a review but I feel it is the least I can do in return!

Arigatou gozaimasu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Thank you Martin for choosing Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor, your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

We would like to request the kindness of simple copy and paste your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site)So that the next guests will know about your experience with us.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba Group the next time you're in Hakuba-mura.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    46
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, W.Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Fourth time staying here and although the rooms are pretty much the same since I first stayed 8 years ago, there is always fantastic service. The breakfasts and dinners are delicious and the location is a super convenient stroll to the ski lifts.

The in room wifi is super fast which is a massive bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazilmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Thank you for choosing Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor, your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

We would like to request the kindness of simple copy and paste your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site)So that the next guests will know about your experience with us.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba Group the next time you're in Hakuba-mura.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Close to slopes, easy ambient, great service, very competent and friendly staff. breakfast was good.
Very simple rooms, not particularly fan of the Japanese style room with the futon on the floor, but you have the western style bedrooms to choose. I would recommend it if all you want is to ski all day and just to crash in somewhere close

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review Jenn, your options and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

We made a few changes in the menu and we have a mini buffet alternated with baked beans, toast, fruit, corn flake, granola, yougurt, cheeses, salad, fries, nuggets, juice, milk, citron tea, coffee, black tea, and the Hot plate with eggs, bacon, ham or sausage and 2 breads (croissant, roll, cheese bread).
In the rooms we are sticking cups and bags of green tea and English tea as a courtesy.
We also have a partnership with Spicy rental one of the most renowned in several resorts. With equipment always renewed and of excellent quality.

We hope to host you again.
Best Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights in early January. Great service, staff really go out of their way to help. Felt very welcome on arriving there on the first day. Souza's english made organising things very easy. Rooms were clean, warm and spacious. Our room had 2 single beds that we weren't able to push together but this wasn't such a big issue. Pillows were a bit hard (like many places in Japan) but was something we got used to. The snow scenery outside our windows was truly impressive.

Only a very short distance from Hakuba goryu and 47 ski fields, can walk but there is a regular shuttle bus to and fro. Buses to Escal plaza (goryu ski field) start from 8:30am and run every 1/2 hour until 12:30 from memory. Breakfast was delicious with enough variety, coffee was excellent! Since everything seemed to be pre-made for breakfast it would be advisable to rock up earlier as the hot food would be on the cold side if you turned up later. Several nice restaurants nearby (recommended Canada-tei) to chose, all of which are walking distance. If you want more choice can always skip over to Echoland by bus/taxi.

Only let-down was the all-pervading smell of cigarette smoke even though we were on a non-smoking floor. It seems that the cigarette smoke from the designated smoking area downstairs tends to waft up a lot.

Would highly recommended this hotel for anyone seeking a comfortable, enjoyable and relaxed time in Hakuba.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katzy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Thank you Katy for choosing Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor, your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

About the pillows we change all for western style and guests have 2 for each person.
The smoking area now is outside the hotel (No more at the lobby how was before).

We would like to request the kindness of simple copy and paste your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site)So that the next guests will know about your experience with us.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba Group the next time you're in Hakuba-mura.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Mont Blanc for 8 nights from the 14-22nd December. For people travelling before the official season kick off (21/12) I wanted to give some extra info that we would have found helpful!
1) The inter-resort shuttle buses don't start until the 21/12. The hotel owner kindly drove us one way to Happo-one and then we caught a taxi back which works out to be about $30 one way (quick expensive)
2) Many of the restaurants also don't open until the 21/12 however we were fortunate in that a new restaurant called sushi-katsu was newly opened just around the corner and the food here was divine
3) We had AMAZING snow, but from what I heard we were very lucky and you are hedging your bets going this early in the season.
During the week, the slopes are deserted and skiing is very enjoyable, on the weekends however it feels like 1/2 of Tokyo arrives and I've skiied in many locations around the world at peak time and have never seen a run so busy as was here on the weekend.

Onto the hotel...
1. Service was fantastic. Souza truly went out of his way to arrange lift passes (at a discounted rate), and gave us excellent information on restaurants and other things to do in the area. I can't emphasize enough how much of a difference this made the trip and he really is such an essential person at Mont Blanc (for English speaking guests). Everyone was very friendly though and always trying to help.
2. The room was warm with the heater but I found the hotel itself (breakfast room and corridors) cold - central heating with radiators doesn't seem to exist in Japan so there were often large temperature differences between rooms in the hotel.
3. The rooms are basic but for the price I think reasonable. There wasn't a double bed but two singles which we simply pushed together. The only thing I found uncomfortable were the pillows (very small beanbag type pillows) but got used to them as the week went on!
4. There is a shuttle bus up to Hakuba-goryu from the hotel each morning at 8:30 and returning at 4:30, it is otherwise a 10-15 min walk (wearing ski boots and carrying your skis and poles) and a 5-10 minute walk in normal shoes!
5. The breakfast was tasty but relatively (compared to Europe lodges with huge buffet breakfasts) very small and I would need to be eating at 11am with often a 2nd smaller lunch at 2 or 3 pm with all the skiing you do but there are many places to eat on the ski fields so this wasn't too much of an issue.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for the wonderful service and hospitality, and if you're from Aus and heading to Japan to ski this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess240790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montblanc H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review Jess, your opnion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

We change all pillows at the hotel for western style and the rooms have 2 for each guest.Also we sorry about the singles beds , we do offer the alternative to pushthen togheter.

I would like to request the kindness of posting your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site) so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.
We hope to host you again.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were there in Mar, 2013 for 9 nights stay, the hotel staffs are nice and with good English, the room is clean, food is delicious, overall the services are good and we are having a good experience. We will stay again if we are Hakuba in the future ^^

Room Tip: Japanese room will be much bigger than the western one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fione P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soulza, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your review Fione, your opinion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

Was very nice to host you again season 2016. As always Your are welcome to return.

I would like to request the kindness of posting your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site) so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our Family's Christmas eve 2013 were spent at Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba - Japan.
A warm hotel with their delicious breakfast and dinner made our holiday gorgeous.
Our Family (5 members) stayed for 2 nights in Japanese style tatami room.
The room was clean, warm and had a beautiful snow scenery over a big window.
All the staffs were very helpful and friendly. Especially the old man who always give us
his happy smile. Mr. Souza is an energetic man who always take good care of his guests.
We are truly recommend this Hotel for Family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wibowofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soulza, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Montblanc Hakuba, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your review, your opinion and suggestions are very important to improve our service and make stays of future guests as pleasant as possible.

Also its time to plan another hakuba trip!! Season 2017/18 ?? we are waiting for you.

I would like to request the kindness of posting your review also on booking.com (if your reservation has been made on the site) so that the guests who search our hotel will have the option of your experience with us.

Regards
Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Hakuba
Hotel Hakuba
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montblanc Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montblanc Hakuba

Property: Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
Address: 22200-8 Kamishiro, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montblanc Hakuba 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba Manager Nice hotel,located well,very good prices,free parking,free internet wirelless,also notebook to rental,japanese&western style roons with b , young friendly employees ,portuguese & english talker,drier & lockers roons,collective bathtub,smal living.... Our restaurant offers a diverse menu set on a backdrop of the beautiful Hakuba. Our 'East meets West' menu is sure to delight even the pickiest eaters. Traditional Japanese & Modern Western dishes are made from the finest ingredients Japan has to offer such as Japanese rice, famous Nagano apples, vegetables and selected meats prepared by our Chef from overseas. A vegetarian menu is also available if required. An assortment of beverages are available including soft drinks; Japanese & International beers; Shochu (Japanese Sake); Hakuba's selected wines; Bathe in natural springwater bathtubs (from the Japanese Alps) after a day on the skifields to reinvigorate & relax. If you would like, you can even enjoy a more invigorating & scenic experience at the nearby Rotenburo Onsen. Discounted tickets are available for all our valued guests. Our Services Built in a traditional Japanese/Western style, our aim is to provide a hospitable & personal service to make your stay as comfortable as possible in Hakuba. The Services we offer include: Daily Serviced Rooms Wireless internet access and Internet kiosk with Ski-lift passes & Equipment hire all inclusive (Any information in regards to Ski Lessons, Rentals, Tours, Transfer to and from Hakuba Goryu by regular shuttle and Hotel transfers to other Hakuba resorts is very easily accessible). Business facilities: Air conditioning TV In-room heater Refrigerator (available in some rooms) Private Shower (available in most rooms) Wireless / WiFi internet access Japanese Onsen (i.e. "Bathtub") with facilities including hairdryer, shampoo, soap, toothbrush set; Mixed Menu (Western and Japanese) Vegetarian menu also available on request We can advise and help to book airport transfer to hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montblanc Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing