We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski holiday”
Review of Hotel Moegi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Moegi
Ranked #33 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in Hakuba for a skiing holiday. The hotel is well located, situated at the base of the Shirakaba 2 chair lift with a short walk to several restaurants and bars. Very helpful staff, warm rooms, typical Japanese breakfast. The Onsen was great at the end of the day as was the massage chair. Beds were comfortable but the pillows were of an 'unusual' consistency and when travelling there again would pack my own. Secure lockers and ski equipment storage. Washing and drying clothes on site is very inexpensive. Would definitely choose to stay here again for a true Japanese experience. We had dry weather but not sure how well ski gear could be dried if you experienced rain, did note the equipment storage area had fan heaters but there did not seem to be areas to dry ski clothes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2010

We arrived early in the season and were the first guests to arrive at this hotel, run by a very nice couple Japanese couple. While they don't speak much English, they were most accommodating and helpful with our requests, from extra pillows to making local calls. Husband is also the resident chef, who takes the intiative to vary individual hot breakfasts daily. They also serve different kinds of breads, which they make themselves. So good I just eat that for breakfast. He also serves up a mean steak (Japanese style, with rice) for set dinner, very good indeed. Reservation required.
Since we didn't read Japanese, we didn't realize the free massage chair is closed after 10pm but it was so relaxing we used it till 11pm. Still nobody stopped us.
Room was a tad cold on first night, possibly because it was just opened for us but got nice and warm towards the week. Love the onsen and free internet with pc for use. Took us a few days to find out there was a ski chair lift opposite our hotel. Must learn some Japanese since we are sure to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClaireSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Hotel Moegi is close to food, ski hire and the main Gondola at Hakuba Happo making it a great central location for those who want to get the most out of their lift passes!
The only downside is that it is a fair uphill hike if you're a beginner trying to access the green slopes near Evergreen hotel (where the ski classes meet), it is a 15 min walk or bus ride to the main Happo town centre and quite far from the Olympic ski jump if you prefer to sightsee.

Three friends and I stayed in a Japanese style room with tatami mats. The room had its own private bathroom but we sampled the onsen and fell into a routine of going to the onsen every evening to ease the muscles from the day at the ski fields.

The hotel had lockers for ski equipment storage, washing machine & dryer. They also had a computer with free internet access as well as a massage chair in the lobby. The hotel also had free wifi. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 冬大好き
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomohiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azusa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank 伊豆リピーター
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba Gondola Hotel
#80 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba Hotel Paipu no Kemuri
#34 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
37 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#12 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#20 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
103 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#5 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
122 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Ryokan Miyuki
Ryokan Miyuki
#54 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moegi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moegi

Address: 4390-1 Kitashiro, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £98 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moegi 3*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing