We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super star Hospitality! Aqua Alpine's doing it right!”
Review of Aqua Alpine Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Alpine Hakuba
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Highly recommend Aqua Alpine. Recently stayed here nearing the end of the Hakuba snow season however had such an amazing time and there was still SOOO much snow in mid-march! The management and other staff at Aqua Alpine go above and beyond to make you feel at home and give hospitality second to none. We were actually on our honeymoon after being married in Thailand and found the location and friendly laid-back service really great. Due to changes in booking staff the team weren't aware it was our honeymoon on arrival as this would have been nice given the contact we'd had, however they well and truly made up for that by organising a beautiful candlelit private onsen which is located in the hotel itself, complete with champage and chocolate & strawberries. Thanks so much for this special treat guys!

As much as we usually love to immerse ourselves in the culture of our travels, we'd found our short stay in Tokyo full on and quite a culture shock so we appreciated the warm and friendly welcome from the Australian staff, many of which were very in tune with the locals and their language...and on this occasion we appreciated the comforts and ease of communication, along with the staff helping us to liase with locals for anything, and in particular recommend the best japanese restaurants.

We loved the open fire, loved the comfy warm beds with beautiful doonas and the heaters beside which are so nice to come home to after a day on the slopes. The proximity to Goryu ski resort is incredible and we found most times we'd walk through the picturesque village to get to the lifts, however whenever we wanted to venture to another resort the friendly resort basically offered us free taxi service when and wherever we needed to go. That aspect was amazing.

Whilst staying there its great to take the opporrtunity to eat out when you can and we'd totally recommend, Sushi-Katsu, Pizza Kaya and Canada-Tei... all awesome restaurants! Just get onto them early in your trip so you leave youself enough nights to return again! The hotel cooked breakfast is so tasty.

One of our highlights was having the staff encourage us to get up the mountain in our wedding attire for the perfect photo opportunity and we were stoked when Sam joined us to take the photos! Snowboarding down the main run in my wedding dress will remain one of the most fun things I have ever done and something we'll never forget!

Hakuba is such a beautiful area and it's so amazing to be within close proximity to 11 different resorts!!! So spoilt for choice! and just never enough time to enjoy them all! You must all go to Cortina for the pow pow!

A huge thanks to Josh and Sam! You guys are amazing! and you truly know what hospitality is about! We really can't wait to return some day! Emily, Andy, Mark and Ben - you were all awesome as well!!!

See you again next time! A huge thanks from the newlyweds- Saskia and Matt :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Saskia588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Recently spent eight nights at Aqua alpine as a family of 2 adults, 2 kids and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with deep soaker tubs, perfect after a long day skiing. The hotel is located in a picturesque area only a few hundred metres from the lifts with lots of great little bars and restaurants near bye.
However it is very hard to go past the hotel restaurant and bar with its relaxed atmosphere and cosy fireplace.
Above all of this its the staff that make this place really special. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel like this is your own private lodge and nothing is ever too much trouble.
Big thanks to Josh , Sam and the team for a fantastic family holiday we will definitely be back next season.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank PaulandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend of family skiing. The hotel was pretty quiet as we were going towards the end of the season but we were made feel extremely welcome. Lots of very thoughtful gestures by the staff e.g. they put on kids tv on the main telly in the lounge area to entertain our children; they gave advice on where to ski; they booked the ski school for the children, they organised the ski hire etc.
The staff will run you up and down from the ski lifts and are generally very friendly. They had a few new members of staff so there were a few moments where things were a little scrappy e.g. we are early breakfast eaters and came down prompt at the breakfast start time but I think we took the staff somewhat by surprise as they were not quite ready for us and didn't have everything out. But the warmth and friendliness more than made up for this.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was good - burgers all round which were very tasty. The breakfasts were good and portion sizes were large. All in all I would recommend it for a family ski trip.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nevynevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Super friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, delicious food...overall a great stay at the Aqua Alpine! This lovely hotel is very conveniently located, only a few minutes by foot from nearest ski resort. I've stayed here before and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank EvMarAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a great stay with the family at Aqua Alpine. Was introduced to this hotel by a friend who had stayed here before, and is now back for the third time.

The service was superb. All the staff were equally friendly, helpful and very accommodating.

This was our first trip to Hakuba. The folks at the Aqua Alpine arranged for the ski rentals and ski passes, and ferried us to the ski slopes each morning cheerfully.

In the evenings there is a cavernous lounge where we could unwind in front of a log fire.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_random_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

All I can speak to is the food and the lounge area because I actually stayed at a different hotel but Aqua Alpine is quite a beautiful little hotel located just a few minutes walk from the ski resort. We were well fed and the lounge area was perfect for our large group to dine and socialize. The ambiance was a bit more modern than other hotels in the area and we were well looked after by the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andypj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The staff are amazing! Everyone really takes their time to get to know the guests and to help them as best they can. They drop you off at each mountain in the morning, and pick you up off the slopes in the late afternoon. They give you recommendations on where is good to go that night.

They are always around in the main hall which has a bar and fireplace. It's like a big group of friends compared to staff and you feel welcome.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Hotel! We couldn't recommend it more as it made the days at the snow an enormous highlight for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#3 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
433 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#2 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Alpine Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Alpine Hakuba

Address: 22203-151 Kamishiro, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture (Formerly Aqua Alpine Hotel)
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £156 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Alpine Hakuba 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Aqua Alpine Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing