We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again”
Review of Hakuba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hakuba House
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We arrived 28 Dec 2012 and stayed 4 nights & had two rooms next to each other so the kids were close but not in the same room (perfect). We were well looked after by Grant & company. We booked the kids in for 3 days of lessons at Iimori which is at the other end of the the Hakuba set up but there was a bus leaving every hour or so from the hotel next door (which also houses the public onsen I loved) so it was convenient for us. Grant also arranged for us Central Snowsports to pick us up & get all our gear sorted. They were great & also replaced a broken stock without hassle. The food was great - breakfasts fairly basic but a different hot option every day to compliment the cereal & fruit; dinner is available in every second night & Grant drops you off to restaurants on the alternative & there are basic options at the bar if you aren't up for that. Special mention has to go to Ai's Japanese Hot Pot she served on NYE....absolutely awesome. Can't wait to go back & finish that jigsaw :) One tip - there are no ATMs at any of the ski centres we went to or at the information centre so take plenty of cash as the bus we took didnt stop at 7-Eleven and we were not near the post office during opening hours. Ask Grant...he will help!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here in mid feb and found the location to be fantastic for us. When we were there, we could ride in and out from the front door. The bar was a great place to have a drink, play some pool, relive the days awesome riding with a fun group of people before retiring to bed to recoup for the next day. The room was adequately sized, the beds warm and comfortable and the unit bathroom on the small side but very hot with great water pressure. Dinner every second night was tasty and filling, allowing us to sample the local restaurants on nights dinner wasn't offered. Breakfast was healthy western continental style and plentiful. The staff knew the area and various resorts very well and were always available to give advice. The shuttle buses to different resorts left from just down the road and the manager offered lifts to meet them. A great experience, will be staying here again next time we go to Hakuba.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winter_Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

On the basis of 2011 reviews we decided to give Hakuba House a try for 2012. As it was later in the season we ended up literally having the place to ourselves for 8 of 9 nights. On that basis I wonder how things would be if the place was full because that pool table takes up a lot of space with pride of place in the loungeroom. We certainly couldn't fault the excellent friendly service from Ashleigh & Tomoko . Our Takoyaki night in particular was great fun. Also seeing a Kamoshika and a small troop of snow monkey nearby the lodge was simply amazing. There were however a few less impressive aspects. Firstly being at the end of the village it's simply too long walk from Happo and not too convenient for bus connections other than to Hakuba 47. The drying room was pretty ineffective and the bathrooms the smallest we've been in anywhere in Japan. My rating would be 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have skiied 4 years in a row now at Hakuba, each time coming to stay at Hakuba House. I just wished I had written a review earlier! (Although, maybe keeping the good places to yourself is the way to go.......) Fell in love with Hakuba House when Mick and Sarah were managing it and went back this year despite them selling it on. Well, I can tell you that they have entrusted it to good hands. Grant, the manager, went out of his way to squeeze me in on a very busy weekend and I am very grateful. The lodge is a great, friendly, well set up lodge. For the price, in Japan, the rooms are large, neutrally decorated and clean. The bathrooms are small, but this is Japan! Good breakfast, great bar and pool room but, above all, friendly, helpful staff! Grant even went out of his way to post me my jacket that I stupidly left there! So, all in all, still the best place to stay in Hakuba.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here for the weekend and Hakuba House had it all, and if it didn't it was pretty close. Enough activities with pool table and games and bar to keep you busy while my friends were getting ready. You can snowboard down the hill to the lift and come off the hill just the same. A dry room downstairs for your stuff after a hard day of powder and moguls. There is a wicked onsen next door that was just beautiful. Picked up and showed around by Grant. "Thanks for that." The guys and I were thinking that this would be an awesome yearly escape for the boys. Will come again next year, if not earlier.

Room Tip: Second floor may be a bit quieter than the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrAiGnEggS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at Hakuba House in February 2012. A great place to stay for anyone, friends, families with kids, couples, singles..The staff, James, Sophia, Ashley and japanese girl Tomoki made our time in Hakuba to one of our highlights during our trip in Japan; told us everything worth knowing about the Hakuba area, made dinner reservations, booked us in for ski lessons, drove us around town, helped us to get ski gear etc... Never any problems, always smiling and helpful! They truly made us feel just like home!
The fields are literally right outside your front door and you can ski all the way back to the lodge which is great, although it's a bit of a hassle to get to the village, train station, supermarkets.. Very clean everywhere and the lodge has a great atmosphere which made up for the rooms that are very basic. Other than that, again, great place and fantastic staff!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OGK1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I can't rate Hakuba House highly enough. The accomodation is in a great location just a short walk/ski away from the Happo One lifts, which then lead you to a great ski area. But location aside, it is the staff and comforts that hakuba house offer that really make the stay. Nothing is too much for Grant and the team. They will drive you to restaurants, book ski lessons and onsens, even play pool with you! Happy hour is perfectly timed for your post-ski tipple and the rooms are clean, comfortable and warm.

The skiing in Japan is brilliant, but the trip was really topped off by staying here! Go!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Shakespeare Hotel
#40 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
87 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#11 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
218 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#4 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
452 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#12 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
246 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo
#9 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba House

Address: 4892-2 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 121 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £85 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like skiing incredible backcountry trees to your front door then Hakuba House is the only place to stay! One of the best tree runs in Hakuba ends right at our front door, where you can unclip your bindings, come in and relax by the open fire... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rakuten and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hakuba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuba House Hotel Hakuba-Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing