We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski is better here”

Hakuba Happoone Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ski is better here”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

slope in the afternoon are bit of bumpy and hard. not ideal slopes are snowboarders. try Tsugaike or nearby resorts instead.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank liunate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    219
    65
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not ideal.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hakuba Resort s quite spread out and getting anywhere is an undertaking.
There were no shops in Wadano, (the area within Happo where we stayed),so we had to ask our hotel staff to drive us to the supermarket for any supplies we needed. .Lugging skis and walking in boots to the Happo chairlift each day in icy slippery conditions was not ideal either.
We loved the option of going to Iwatake for the day but having to stick to a bus timetable is not something we wanted to do everyday,
Happo has lots of runs and minimal crowds but does get busy on the weekend. Try to make Saturday a travel day as it is the busiest day on the slopes with lots of locals skiing as well as the tourists. There is a good variety of cafés on the slopes and terrain for all levels of expertise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Snow Experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wide variety of runs with very few people. Lift lines were virtually non-existent which was good as lift etiquette in Japan is odd to say the least & the lifts not that very fast. Was easy to navigate one-self around the hill & the close proximity of our hotel enabled an easy stroll both to & from the hill.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maitlandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great skiing”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our family loved Happo-one. They have a variety of runs appropriate for all levels of skiers and a cool sled park for the little ones.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RONALD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Interest was waning at the season end”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

In mid march some places had closed and some meal options had run out for the season. Some lifts were not operating. Although the skiing was what individuals made of it some establishments had had their fill of tourists and wanted to be left alone. Some restaurants were also empty whilst being open.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakuba Happoone Ski Resort also viewed

Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun
 

Been to Hakuba Happoone Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing