We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times at Allure”
Review of Allure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allure
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Thank you to the management of Allure as we had a fantastic time in Hakuba. Your service was outstanding, even providing us with a carrot for our snowman! They drove us into town whenever we needed and gave us excellent reviews on the ski fields so that we were able to choose which ski field was suitable for us. This place was clean and warm and very good value for money. They also gave us great advice on restaurants and day trips and booked them for us when we needed. We were very happy with our stay at Allure and would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay at Hakuba. From Binets and Crowthers Sunshine Coast, QLD

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Allure
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

My experience of the Allure hotel was wholly positive,
The service was friendly and the staff were especially helpful in helping us understand the local cultural nuances as well as helping with organising lift tickets and ski hire

The rooms were comfortable, well heated and clean, although slightly lacking in storage space and the beds were comfortable and warm
The bathrooms are easily useable, although smaller than I was used to.

The restaurant was western-style and superb, serving some of the best food I've had anywhere (particularly the house-made pate and steaks)

The hotel has a warm, family friendly atmosphere and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone traveling to the Hakuba area with children (over 5)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximus_Shadow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

First thing that comes to mind is Shane the owner, my friends and I all agreed that the whole time we were there we felt like he didn't want us there. We all saw through his fake smiles and thought he was rude on many occasions.
Like one other reviewer pointed out, the place was always cold. Lodges are supposed to be warm and cosy, but every time we got back from the mountain to our disappointment the fire was never burning.
Rooms are tiny, I have seriously stayed at better backpackers.
The only plus for this place is Maryanne, Shane's wife, she was lovely to us and did anything for us with a smile, and you could tell she genuinely wanted to help.
Breakfast, well what a joke. Seriously guys, please put more on the guests plate, no one wants to go onto the mountain on an empty stomach. One egg on a piece of bread is not going to fill a teenage boy’s stomach, or any adult for that matter.

Finally the place is in a good location, although it may take you awhile to find it.
The place does have a lot of penitential, so I hope the can get it up to a decent standard by next season. But I know I want be staying at the Allure ever again

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank onesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is the only place we stayed in Japan that we were disappointed in. First impressions were not good, it smells old and dusty and it is dirty. The fact that the place needs a total refurbishment could have been overcome if the atmosphere or service was great but sadly it is almost non existent, the place lacks attention to basics let alone detail. Lots of things do not work, breakfast is woeful, ski sortage and drying areas are the worst I have encountered. Hosts did not know a lot about surrounding areas, we had to work it out for ourselves.Skiing in this area is good but find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kickalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This is a older facility which has only recently changed hands and can do with some updating but the standard of service, cleanliness and extra effort to make us feel at home made up for the dated facilities. The hostess was absolutely lovely and extremely helpful - she made us feel like we were old family friends when she went out of her way to drive us places and help source replacements for damaged snowboarding equipment. The rooms are modest and a little drab in their decor but very clean and tidy. The breakfast varied from day to day and was a little on the petite size on a couple of the days but quite generous most of the time. Probably a buffet continental breakfast with the option of the patron’s choice of bacon, eggs and/or sausages would be more in keeping with the class of hotel. Likewise the quality of the food served in the restaurant for dinner was excellent - probably too high standard for this level of hotel. The location was really nice – nestled right in the forest with nice views all round - not right on the ski slopes or in the town centre but within a short walk or bus ride. Our only real disappointment was that the drying room heating was not always working and our gear was still wet and quite cold most mornings. Overall, I would rate this hotel as a friendly 3 star basic accommodation with a potential to be higher if the owners can achieve the renovation work soon. We will consider staying at Allure on our next visit to Japan.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broadrunhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We spent three great weeks at Allure and will definately be returning. The hotel is well positioned, just a short 5-8 minute walk to the shuttle bus or even walking distance to the lift access for those a little more energetic. The shuttle buses provide access to the slopes and the ski village. Most times the hotel managers were happy to provide us a lift. For site seeing and hotel transfers, the buses collect you at the door and the management were more than happy to organise this for you.

Rooms are cozy and warm with comfortable western style beds. Bathrooms are modular units and best suited to one person at a time. Hot water was always plentiful.

We found the atmosphere friendly and this was the result of caring hotel management and likeminded people staying at the hotel. Nothing better than relaxing at the end of the day and sharing the days experiences with others. The restaurant serves great western style meals prepared by an aussie chef who spends his aussie winters at one of Thredbo great restaurants. Menu is diverse as is the wine list.

The managers at Allure are snowsports enthusiasts. Asside from offering ski race training for junior racers, they are able to assist with advice on ski equipment and lessons. Our daughter was involved with one of the ski training camps and had a ball.

Allure is not 5 star, (if you want that there are two places within a couple of hundred metres) but if you are looking for a value for money hotel, from which to base your ski holdiay in the Hakuba region, I am sure you will find Allure can deliver.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We were a group of four friends skiing in Japan for the first time. We have skied in NZ, Aust and Europe many times. We stayed at the Allure in January 2009.
I am writing this review now because I am shocked from reading all the very positive reviews (except one). Something seems very strange, considering the shocking stay we experienced.
The owners, Shane and Maryanne, had just opened the Allure and clearly did not understand the ski lodge business.
When we arrived it took an hour to find the place as there was no sign at all (this would be fixed by now but having the owners think this was a joke did not amuse us). Breakfast was tiny (orange juice was served in a shot glass, one egg only and three sausages the size of my little finger). We all had to constantly ask for extra bread, coffee, juice etc. The breakfast room was also freezing - we had to wear our ski jackets each morning.
We never had dinner there, given our breakfast hell and so can't comment on that front.
The fire in the foyer was rarely lit when we came back each day after skiing. The only wood pile was green and would not burn. We had to constantly steal dry wood from nearby chalet's to get the fire going. Shane, on a few occasions, would visit the foyer and drop his rubbish from the kitchen in the fire. he said it was a great way to get rid of his rubbish. This is not the "cosy fire in the lodge" experience I, and other guests we spoke to, have seen in any other lodge I have stayed.
The rooms were very very basic. My room door was difficult to shut, toilet seat cracked, brown decor cheap/rough/ugly and heating difficult to control. If you can imagine an abandoned barn, you have got the picture.
The shower was so tiny I was constantly touching the curtain and the wall. The temperature of the water went from very hot to very cold every 20 seconds. This was infuriating.
The owners kids woke early every day (6am) and always woke another couple we befriended on the trip. This is not ideal after a full day of skiing.
When we asked about snow/wind/visibility conditions at each of the ski fields, the owners never knew and couldn't help.
We didn't complain at the time because all the Hakuba mid/low priced accommodation was taken and we wanted to put this out of our mind and enjoy our trip - which we did when away skiing each day or at other hotels restaurants/bars each night.
Things may have changed since then but I hardly believe it is now a 5/5 place. Listen to the "No NO NO" review - this person is definitely on the money. These people ripped us off for the prices they charged. None of us would ever return to the Allure.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Herman009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfence, Owner at Allure, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2010

We are very sorry to hear of your experience, especially a year after you left. Please let an establishment know if you have a problem so they can try and improve your stay, but also to help them learn how to provide a better guest experience. We have been working very hard to bring the 30 year old building up to current western standards and very much has been done since your stay. Very little looks similar to when you were here, which as you stated was immediately after we opened. Unfortunately the GFC occurred at the worst possible time for us and caused us a very difficult time which we are only just starting to recover from. If at any stage in the future you visit Hakuba, please let us know as we would like show you how much the place has improved and we would like to offer you the opportunity to experience our hospitality from a fresh perspective. We thank you for bringing the issues you listed to our attention, and can assure you that changes have already occurred regarding most of your points, prior to hearing from you. Kind regards Allure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
K's House Hakuba Alps
#11 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
45 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cultured
#84 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
22 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
231 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#16 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure

Address: 4972-2 Hokujo Wadanomori, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 102 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £149 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Allure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing