We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite excellent”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent six nights at the Phoenix in January. We had a great time and I'd love to rate the hotel "excellent", but I don't think it quite earns that.

Location is great . . . lots of restaurants within walking distance once you get to know the area. Shuttle bus is 5 minutes to the slopes or town. You can walk to the hotel next door for free shuttle buses to other mountains. Mimis restaurant in the hotel is excellent, perhaps the best Western food in Hakuba, though expect a long slow dinner. Also useful that Hakuba Physio has a room at the Phoenix, so you can have a massage to go with your onsen.

I guess if we had stayed in one of the chalets then we would have had slightly different (more self-service) expectations. But we were disappointed by a few things, mostly minor, at the hotel:

-- Old worn out towels that look like something you'd use to wash the car (sorry to be harsh)
-- Very mediocre breakfast buffet that staff seemed incapable of keeping stocked (ie, milk would constantly run out, etc)
-- A bit of inconsistency with staff. I think they struggle to recruit and retain great staff in a place like Hakuba and turnover is high. There was one girl who was always polite but clearly just didn't want to be there!
-- Nothing in the mini-bar, no room service, only a couple of English TV channels (though they have a good DVD selection)
--Also, we ended up carrying our bags up and down from our room because there are no "bell boys". I'm sure the hotel would have got one of the guys to do it if we had asked, but it seemed like too much effort.

So, overall we liked the place and enjoyed our stay. I'd rate it very good, but not quite excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npvpositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful skiing holiday at Hakuba, staying at the Phoenix. Sally and Pete are the most thoughtful and caring hosts who look after their guests and their needs. Sally met us at 2.00am when the snow shuttle pulled in and greeted us enthusiastically. This set the scene of what to expect at the Phoenix. Sally suggested a range of restaurants to eat at, and when we made our choices, she organised the reservations. We also ate at Mimi's at the Phoenix, an amazing fine dining experience
Maddie and the breakfast and bar girls are also fantastic!! So friendly and keen to make your stay special.
The Phoenix offers a great range of facilities, including some transport to and from some popular skiing areas. They have their own onsens and steam rooms. The bar and lounge is a meeting spot for guests to relax and socialise.
The Phoenix Hotel is in a great location. Near Rhythm Snowsports for excellent snow rental and close to shuttle buses.
We will return! THANKS!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennym_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Beautiful location, very close to town and slopes, however there are a lot of flaws with the hotel. There is no lift so you start the trip by carrying your own bags up a flight of stairs. Some of the rooms do not have showers, there is nothing in the minibar (not even water),the TV has only 2 channels hooked up to the Internet and connection is constantly lost, and room maintenance and service is very poor (if you even get it that day). Breakfast is very unorganised and the buffet is very basic, we got in late one day and they were out of bread and yoghurt. Some staff were lovely, however a few had attitude problems and seemed annoyed at a request for a cappuccino. Dinner was quite nice, a bit expensive but that's expected when eating in. Overall the place was nice, however if we ever come back we certainly would look for somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Out welcome to the hotel could have been warmer and could also have provided a lot more information. Having said that, once we expressed our concerns to management they were quickly dealt with. We stayed in a two bedroom chalet which was well appointed, comfortable and warm although the walls seperating the adjoining chalet are thin and noise sometimes annoying given the tarrif being paid. The hotel is well placed and walking distance or short taxi ride to good restaurants and minutes away from ski lifts via shuttle bus. The hotel offered a shuttle bus service to local supermarkets and assistance with making the right purchases, which was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay again and would be keen to stay in a lodge style room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyAnne255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband and I and our five-year-old daughter recently spent a week at the Phoenix Hotel in a Combination Room. We loved it. It was fabulous having Mimi's downstairs, we ate there every night as we figured it would be unlikely to find such excellent food anywhere else within walking distance! Also, once we'd come home from skiing after lunch (all our five year-old could manage) and relaxed with an afternoon sauna or on-site onsen, which was lovely, we didn't much feel like putting all our winter gear on to go back outside. All the staff were warm, welcoming and very happy to help with anything we needed. All the facilities were clean, the furnishings attractive and while the room wasn't huge, there were nice chill-out spaces both upstairs and downstairs that we utilised. The Combination Room worked well for us in that our daughter could sleep on the double futon in one room (which unfortunately also had the television in it so we couldn't watch a video after she'd gone to bed), and we could slide a partition across to give the sense it was a two-bedroom. As it turned out, we generally just read our books in our own two single beds (would've preferred a double to share but anyway! They were very comfortable) and were asleep by 9pm after a tiring day on the slopes. A minor criticism is there were no bedside lights which would have made this reading more comfortable. Another thing to consider is the fact it's about a 10minute walk to the closest ski-lift (although they do offer a shuttle bus in the morning and afternoon) which is just a bit too long to do in ski boots. But we would definitely go back and I'm so glad we chose it for our first ever trip to Japan.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank laughlovenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Phoenix is in a good location - 2 minutes by hotel shuttle to and from the gondola (5 minute walk) and walking distance to many good restaurants (and a great apres-ski meeting place - The Pub).

The rooms are Japanese-inspired (think futons and tatamis) with mod-cons such as flat screen TVs and iPod music docks. The male and female onsens and steam baths are a nice luxury.

The service is prompt, friendly and efficient.

All this at an affordable price!

Room Tip: Pick a room that does not overlook the driveway - snow clearing at 4am can be a slight annoyance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a fabulous time staying here in January 2013 with the family (2 adults and 3 children) in the 3 bedroom chalet. The place was super warm, very spacious, and much better fit out than other chalets we have stayed in Australia. They had this amazing bath that kept water warm at 41 degrees celcius, so we used this every night to help relax our aching muscles and joints. I'm really glad for the space especially with 3 young kids. The kitchen has facilities to cook although we only cooked simple things such as scrambled eggs and toast. There is a dishwasher attached. We had trouble figuring out the "microwave" as the buttons were all in Japanese so in the end we gave up. The chalet had its own drying room which was great for our wet clothes, we did our own laundry, and all the clothes were dry overnight. The owners were very helpful, they are Aussies (so English is not a problem!) and made us feel at home. The hotel has a shuttle service leaving at 8 30 and 9 30 to take you to the ski resorts. If you miss then you have to make your own way there to ski. This place is not a ski in ski out type place. The same shuttle picks you up at 330 pm or 430 pm and if you miss those then you have to find your own way back to the hotel/chalet. The shuttle runs to Goryu Limori, and Happo one. There are plenty of other ski resorts but you have to organise your own transport there (the hotel can help with calling taxis). Their staff are very nice and every evening there is a shuttle run to the shops so we got groceries, beer and what ever else we needed then. There is a night time public bus but its not very convenient. We caught it to a place to have soba noodles and the journey back took over an hour (but cheap as only 200 yen pp). One little note is that the chalet didn't have any chopsticks! The place had free high speed wi-fi (faster than Aussie speeds) and tv to entertain the kids at night. This was our first time to Hakuba so our travel agent booked the place and the whole trip was hassle free and seamless to get here. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smooch4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
237 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#10 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#18 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
76 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#13 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
143 reviews
Wadano Forest Hotel
#8 of 103 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: 4690-2 Hokujo, Hakuba-Mura | Wadano No Mori, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £96 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Rakuten so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing