We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation! WAS NOT disappointed at all!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great accommodation! WAS NOT disappointed at all!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My partner & I stayed here for 3 nights. Bobby and all the staff were truly amazing and the hotel lived up to all our expectations! From the minute Bobby picked us up from the train station to the moment we were waved off, we knew this was the right choice. When we weren't out checking out the local area & skiing, we enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. Enjoy an evening relaxing in the Haspa Onsen, breakfast & dinner in the restaurants downstairs. When my partner & I missed the bus to a ski resort for our ski lesson, Bobby was more than willing to help by taking us over there. Choose a King room to get amazing view of Happo-One! Free WI-FI in the hotel and a spacious room (in comparison to the rooms you get in Kyoto & Tokyo). You won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a King room! Amazing views of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGirl_Mel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    39
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 7 nights at the Hakuba Springs Hotel. We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. There are many hotels in this area to pick from, and we are soooo glad that we chose this hotel - It truly, deserves its no. 2 (or should it be no. 1) rating in Hakuba! We loved the nightly onsen - my husband was a bit reluctant at first, but he quickly got into the swing of things. Our room had a good view of one of the ski areas and the bed was very comfortable - a must when we travel. The staff were fabulous and went out of their way to satisfy our every wish without being 'in your face'. We were the only 'western' guests for most of our time there and we were made to feel at home. All the staff spoke English and there were a couple of Australian staff members who gave us the low down on the ski areas and local restaurants. We had Shabu Shabu 1 night at the hotel - one serve was enough for the two of us - a memorable meal!

We found this location perfect as we were in the village and it is only a short walk to some of the ski areas, also around the corner from the free bus that takes you to the other ski resorts and we were able to walk to a large variety of local restaurants that were not too expensive.

All in all - value for money, clean comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff, great breakfasts and one of the hotels in the world that we would come back to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin Heads, Qld
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Loved staying here. Bobby and staff can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. Nothing was too difficult. Food was good. Breakfast varied so you didn't get tired of the same thing! Be brave and try the Japanese breakfast as well. They do cater to all tastes.
French dinner was great as was the Japanese Shabu Shabu!!
Location couldn't be better. Hakuba 47 shuttle picks up at front door, Can walk to the lifts for Happo One and also the Hakuba bus terminal so you can get free shuttle to all the other resorts.
Rooms are very comfortable and the Onsen is to die for after a big day on the slopes!!!
Will be back!! In fact just booked in for jan/feb 2013!!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe twin has a small lounge area if you want to entertain in room. Standard twin has a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usedpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No fixed abode
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

First hotel we stayed in while in Japan and set the bench mark for service, food and friendliness. The co-ed onsen was nice for us after a day of boarding. The rooms were clean and the breakfasts amazing!
We left some of our travel books on a tour bus to the snow monkeys :-(, the staff tracked our books down after we left and even couriered them to our next hotel. How cool is that!
Overall, an awesome place to stay, not "ski in, ski out" but makes up for it in loads of other ways.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nozawaonsen-mura, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Hakuba Springs Hotel after a traveling to another ski area, and it was a great place to end our trip. The room was comfortable, the wifi worked and the staff were very friendly. The dinner in the dining room was excellent, we were planning to go out for some Japanese food, but the courses at the restaurant there were really nice so we are glad we stayed. We walked down the street to a bar called The Beach, which was a nice place to hang out as well. There are lots of interesting shops near Hakuba Springs and the Happo ski slopes are really close. They have lockers for skis / boards downstairs and parking right out front. My only regret is I didn't get down to the hot spring!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGRVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were there in Christmas 2011. The staffs at Springs Hotel are very helpful and nice with good language skills (even Cantonese!). They go out of their way to help you. On our last day in Hakuba, we totally forgot about returning ski lift token at the ticket office, Bobby (one of the staffs at Springs Hotel) offered to refund us the deposit, so we did not have to go all the way back to the ticket office. THANKS again Bobby.

I will definitely return to Hakuba

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toowoomba
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Springs Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are excellent and very helpful and go out of their way. On my birthday they made a special effort to make my day great with a nice card and champagne. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathrooms are very small, but it doesn't matter as the onsen is amazing and readily available to use. The location is awesome, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hakuba other than Happo and the hotel is right amongst it. The breakfast is terrific and I'll miss the place very much. If going back will return

Room Tip: Std twin was great value and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToowoombaStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
218 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
103 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
149 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Springs Hotel

Property: Hakuba Springs Hotel
Address: 5090 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Happo village, minutes away from the Happo-one gondola. All western comforts you would expect, and staff who go out of there way to ensure your comfort and enjoyment in Nagano. Beautiful views of the mountains, free internet access, rental shop outside the front door, and delicious dining choices in the hotel and nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hakuba Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing