We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with the MOST helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I had such a good stay at Hakuba Springs. The staff were so friendly and accomodating and made my stay a breeze. It was my first time in Japan and I was travelling alone and to make it easy they wrote me a bus timetables so I could get to the snow monekeys (it was soo early in the season for tours) and also wrote me instructions of which trains to catch to Kyoto. They also dropped me around Hakuba to the gondolla and train station when I asked. The room was nice and spatious, with a lovely view of Happo One, central location in the village, yummy breakfast and the place also has an Onsen which is great after skiing all day. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank tanyasusanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We travelled to Hakuba to Ski in Japan. Stayed at the Hakuba Springs Hotel which was a wonderful place to stay with excellent service, great food, great central location and scenic views.
We decided to split our stay into the normal English style room for most of our stay and then decided for a few nights to do the traditional Japanese type room. No difference in the size of the room, just the type of sleeping arrangements - so if you have difficulty getting up and down I do not recommend a traditional Japanese room - otherwise it was a very enjoyable experience.
The staff were extremely friendly and although not all spoke English, this did not hamper us in any way and they were quick to find someone who could assist if there were any difficulties. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here if you intend going to Japan to ski.
We visited the snow monkeys (a must see) and were driven to where the tour left and picked up which was greatly appreciated.
Great location for access to the mountains and great variety for all levels of skiers. We will return in the future as we had such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Stay in a English room and if venturous then try the traditional Japanese room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Had a lovely quiet week of writing. Thank you Bobby for organising a lovely room with a magnificent view. It was the perfect place to write and onsen every morning. Very sad you are leaving! Enjoy your adventures wherever they take you!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The service here is unlike anywhere else, the staff go out of their way to help you with anything from organising trasport to Hakuba to driving us to an ATM in the middle of a snow storm! The room was clean, comfortable and cosy with nothing to complain about. The location is convenient and breakfast was delicious! I found this little gem on trip advisor and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had such a great time in Hakuba and the Springs Hotel contributed a lot towards such a great experience. It is located approximately 15 minutes by foot from the train station (we got a taxi to the hotel it did not cost much at all), less than 5 minutes walking from the bus station and surrounded by excellent restaurants - ask the hotel staff for recommendations. Also, the shuttle bus to some of the ski slopes would stop by the hotel for pick-ups, this was so handy when you are in ski boots and carrying your board/ski's and saved us an uncomfortable walk to the bus stop.
Talking about the hotel staff, they could not be more friendlier and helpful - there were few Aussies working there. We could not book a tour to go to the Monkey forest (which is a must) as it was fully booked, and Bobby at the reception helped us indicating how to get there on our own. It was easier than we thought!! Thanks Bobby!! We did not want to miss that. They also helped to organise our skiing lessons.
The room was spacious and warm. The bed was comfy and we slept very well. The toilet was small but it is not a big deal... you are not going to spend much time in it anyway.
The breakfast was good with a big selection of cold and hot food. Fresh jam was delicious!!! On christmas we had a special dinner at the hotel and the food was delicious.
As per the last reviews nothing has changed much at the hotel... it is still great and I highly recommend it. I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardoamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Loved this place and will definetely be coming back next year. While it is a short walk to the slopes, I would recommend catching one of the many shuttles that are around to take you to the slopes as it is a pain walking with your gear while trying to avoid not slipping on the ice.

The rooms are EXTREMELY spacious. We had 3 single beds in our room and were suprised at how much space there was - even after plopping down all our suitcases etc. The bathroom is the complete opposite however, tiny little cubicle with a bath/shower, but it is decent for its purposes.

Breakfast was also pretty good - they've got a Japanese section for those that feel adventurous. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant for dinner, as there are so many options outside it really does feel like a bit of a wasted opportunity if you don't try some of the stuff nearby.

As others have said, the Hakuba Springs staff are what really brings this hotel together. In particular, a memorable guy - Bobby - he went out of his way to ensure everything was taken care of. You deserve a pay raise and a massive bonus, mate!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pops345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Great location, very handy to walk to the slopes or catch a bus right outside the door. The hotel is very clean and well looked after. Having the Onsen at the hotel is pretty handy after a day skiing. Again this is clean and modern. The staff are excellent very friendly and helpful. Bobby is amazing, extremely helpful organising trips, getting info on buses, snow, booking restaurants, you name it and Bobby was on hand to help out. He made our stay very easy and enjoyable.

I would definitely go back Hakuba and stay at the Springs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delster-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
232 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Black Hotel
#11 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
119 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#17 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#18 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Springs Hotel

Address: 5090 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £157 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Happo village, minutes away from the Happo-one gondola. All western comforts you would expect, and staff who go out of there way to ensure your comfort and enjoyment in Nagano. Beautiful views of the mountains, free internet access, rental shop outside the front door, and delicious dining choices in the hotel and nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Rakuten, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hakuba Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing