We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic ryokan experience and top class service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic ryokan experience and top class service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Shirouma-So and it was the best place we stayed through our whole trip in Japan! We arrived really early in the morning (5am) as we were on a Chuo taxi from haneda airport (arrived at 11pm in haneda). We emailed the owner (Toshi) that we would be arriving early in the morning and he was happy to have us check in early anyway. He woke up earlier so he could get us in! We managed to sneak in a bit more sleep before waking up to an amazing spread of food- breakfast jap style!
Food- amazing home style cooked breakfast every morning! It was magnificent! Such a spread! I would recommend having dinner at least one night at Shirouma-so as it's fantastic but going to the nearby restaurants to try something else. Would very highly recommend a place called Kihachi- it was very popular so u might need to make a booking. Toshi organised a booking for us.
We loved the traditional feel of the place. I was a bit apprehensive about the onsen experience but the ryokan was a small place and at times you could have the onsen to yourself. The whole stay was just perfect. It's close to the bus terminal where u can catch free buses to other mountains and it's walkable distance to Happo-one (the ryokan has discount tickets for full day passes to Happo-one). The closest rental shop is spicy rental and we got a 10% discount for staying at Shirouma- so.
The rooms are set up with a table and 2 cushions during the day and they always have a fresh pot of tea and cups waiting for u when u get home from the snow. While you're away at dinner, they set up the room for you with the futon beds all ready for u to tuck into at night. Mattresses were extremely comfortable and cosy. The rooms were always too hot and we had to leave our heater turned off most of the time. It was perfect turned off though!
Toshi and the family (it's a family owned business) were the most generous hosts. They were so helpful and always willing to provide for any of our needs. They drove my husband to night boarding one night coz it was snowing! Despite him being very happy to walk in the snow to the nearby Happo-one, Toshi was insistent to get him driven there! Toshi also drove us to the nearby bus terminal on our last day so we didn't have to lug our bags in the snow. We managed to fit in a half day of boarding on our final day and they were very happy for us to use their showers and onsen after that (even though we had already checked out). We cannot praise them enough for the service they provide!
Free wifi is a huge plus too.
We paid a little more than the other places we stayed at around Japan but it was definitely a 100% worth it!
Overall, the stay was magnificent! If you don't book a stay, you're definitely missing out on a real traditional experience. We can't wait to come back!
Thank you to Toshi and his family!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeshatlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
39
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

For a couple who usually stay in hotels, we were unsure what to expect when we booked 3 nights at a ryokan. Needless to say, our time at this beautiful and homely ryokan by far exceeded our expectations. I can honestly say, the owner of this ryokan is one of the most polite and welcoming individuals i have ever met. His attention to service and willingness to help is exceptional and makes this place truly feel like a home.

The whole establishment and room is perfectly clean and beautiful traditional japanese decor. We enjoyed every aspect this traditional japanese establishment. Relaxing in the onsen was a spiritual enlightenment and a soothing relaxation after a hard day snowboarding. The japanese meal for dinner delicious and an authentic home cooked japanese meal.

Location is also perfect to nearby ski rental and a couple of small restaurants.

Thank you very much all your assistance with lift & bus tickets.

We really enjoyed our time here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I booked a two night stay with my partner and it was our favourite accommodation in Japan. We had a very spacious and comfortable annex room with a lovely view of the mountain. Our room didn't have a shower, but with such a great bathing and onsen room, it wasn't missed. Good location for ski rentals, lifts, food and excellent snow. Meals were well presented and delicious! I think the best thing about Shiroumaso was how welcome our hosts made us feel. We got a pick up and drop off at the bus stop so we didn't have to struggle with luggage through the snow, a "road trip" to the nearest ATM after running low on cash, and on the day we checked out we were able to have almost a full day of skiing and still book a private session in the onsen to relax and shower before leaving.
I would highly recommend Shiroumaso for a very comfortable stay with impeccable hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cauliloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I, my wife and one friend stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during our X'mas ski trip. The hotel is in great location where you can go to nearby restaurants, ski rental shops, souvenir shops and ski shuttle bus stop in walking distance. A warm and lovely typical Japanese ryokan lobby we could see when we entered the hotel. Nice and big rooms we had which were just upstair above the reception. We had best relaxing time having onsen bath everyday after skiing. The hotel equipped with a dry room for ski and snowboard boots and another room for ski and snowboard with lock in the basement. We all loved the yummy breakfast in Japanese style every morning made by lovely Grandmom of the owner and she really made our day with energy. The Hotel Manager, Toshi deserves so much praise that I found out I left my new snowboard gloves in the dry room after back home. He responses my email so quickly and assists to send the gloves back to my home. Many thanks for the hospitality from all hotel staff and I'll be sure to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in an ensuite room at this lovely and traditional Japanese hotel. The rooms albeit were small however beautifully finished, clean and well appointed.

We took the Asama Shinkansen from Tokyo to Nagano, then a connecting bus to Hakuba. Total trip was around 4 hours and well worth the two night stay and one day of unreal skiing.

The hotel is owned and operated by a professional, welcoming and truly service orientated family where nothing is a problem and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is nothing but great.

The location is excellent with a short walk to restaurants, bars and ski/equipment hire and a short shuttle trip (5mins) to the lifts and gondola for skiing (skiing was awesome!!)

Have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and will be back!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pepe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

the hotel is very beautiful n modern. they hv a great hot spring. There is very lovely and.relaxing place. the host provided lots of useful information and introduction for day trip and walk around the town. i hv a great time on summer events too.

and also,the homemade breakfast and dinner are very yummy. i eta a lots.

they provide free wifi for guest. u won't miss any e-mail or important information.

only 10mins walk to the bus station. u can plan yr day trip to nearby city.

hakuba -shiromasco is good place to enjoy a peaceful holiday.

thank you very much for yr great services and cares. i will come with my family next.time. see u soon hakuba!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prelimlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

As i have leaves for holidays and the first place that I considered was Japan. Then, i think the most enjoyable place is Hakuba and the best staying place is this hotel! Again, the service is excellent, especially for the staff assistance. In addition, the food is great and my friend loves the food much! The room is so clean and comfortable and you will not want to leave at all.

To be frank, it is the best one in my mind. That's why this is my third time to Hakuba and stayed at this hotel. I will invite more friends to come and must come back again!

Thanks for everything and let me have a good memory in Japan!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhakta515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mont Blanc Hakuba
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#3 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
#22 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso

Property: Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Address: 5004 Happo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting at the base of Hakuba Happo-one ski area, Shirouma-so is a modern Japanese ryokan (inn) combining both traditional wood and modern Japanese "Wa" architectural styles, resulting in a creative and beautiful design. From the entrance featuring wooden pillars and beams preserved from the building's agricultural beginnings in the Edo period, to rooms with large windows and views of the northern Alps, you can relax, place yourself in the hands of Nature, and refresh yourself in the warmth of this historical ryokan. Shiroumaso is appreciated by many guests as a convenient base for skiing, snowboarding, or the numerous outdoor activities of the summer months, as well as a hub for touring Shinshu, Azumino, and other regions within Nagano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing