We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba Hifumi(Hakuba-mura)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phoenix Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$664
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Yamano Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Highland Hotel(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakuba Glorious(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$15,189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
131
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoshi sansake tastingtatami matsricecomfortable futonstraditional settingshabu shabuan unforgettable experiencegreat area to relaxtraditional japanese innfamily runthe bushost familywarm hospitalitycultural experiencejapanese dishesbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have just returned after spending a week at Shirouma -so. We wanted to experience some Japanese culture as well as go crazy skiing! This hotel was in a great location close to the Happo bus terminal so getting to other mountains and towns was v easy. It is a family run hotel which was recommended by our travel agent however, many of the other guests were return multiple visits...this certainly says a lot about how great the facilities are and how yummy the food is. Breakfasts were amazing Japanese feasts and we had dinner in on a couple of occasions.....they were superb! The chef extraordinaire is an amazing 67 y o mother of this lovely family. Toshi, her son is front of house and his sister, Sasuki was always there with such a lovely smile and willing to help w anything. Thank you for a memorable stay. We will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Slaacciphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel was spotlessly clean and is authentic Japanese which means sleeping on futons.
We enjoyed the traditional Japanese breakfasts and the two evening meals we had in house. Relaxing in the Onsen after skiing was fantastic. The owner manager really understands what hospitality is all about and speaks fluent English, he went out of his way to arrange restaurants, transfers and change our accommodation arrangements when we were snowed in on our last day.
We enjoyed skiing at a number of resorts nearby in great conditions with no crowds.
We are looking forward to returning to Shirouma So and enjoying Toshi and his family’s hospitality again.

Room Tip: If you are going in February try to stay during the "Fire Festival" night
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a horrible travel experience within Japan due to snowstorms and shut down train/shinkansen services, but when we finally arrived at Shirouma-so it was like entering an idyllic home away from home. Toshi-san is an incredible host, fluent in English and very accommodating to weary travelers. He was incredibly gracious and helped us with transport within Hakuba, even to have my son be seen by a local doctor. The staff are wonderful, and the onset is open late and a wonderful retreat within the retreat. I highly recommend this family-run hotel, we were treated so well and a wonderful 5 day stay.

Room Tip: Karin is a spacious room with bathroom attached.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fantastic experience. Enhanced by the lovely family who operate it. The family have lived here for 200 years. Breakfast and dinner - brilliant. The in-house Onsen is also great. Extremely comfortable and overall a brilliant experience. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VedicWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

When booking this place, I was skeptical due to the lack of western beds and showers in room. After communicating directly with the host, Toshi-san, my mind was set at peace from his polite and helpful attitude. Although we checked in extremely late, everything was organized and prepared for us already. The room, albeit small, was very charming and added to the overall experience (first time staying in japanese tatami room). The tatami mats were very comfortable and usually the bed is the first thing i complain about. Only issue i had was the rice pillows that were provided but it wasnt too big a deal. The breakfast was simply sublime. Almost gourmet standard yet with a strong home-cooked feel to the overall experience. Having stayed at numerous hotels and resorts all over the world, i can safely say that the breakfast here ranks as one of the, if not, top places i have stayed before. The inhouse onsen was an absolute delight. nothing compares to the feeling of coming off the mountain and walking downstairs into the onsen.

I am generally reluctant to post reviews (this being my first on trip advisor) but the combination of the friendly staff, amazing meals, comfortable rooms and the host, Toshi-san, has compelled me to write a review on this place. Toshi-san is an amazing host. Super helpful and knowledgable on anything and everything related to hakuba, just he himself is a reason to stay at this fabulous place. We definitely will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews