We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people”
Review of Morino Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morino Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in a Japanese-style room and really enjoyed our whole visit. The room was warm, large enough for us and had a great view of the snow and the forest. There was a compact bathroom, and a TV with in-room Apple TV (which we didn't use due to wonderful skiing outside!)
The location is great - you can walk to Happo if you want, or catch the near-by shuttle bus, which will also take you to most other slopes.
The best part of Morino Lodge is the people. From the moment we arrived and were picked up at the bus station, the people at Morino were a constant source of help and advice. They help us with hiring gear, gave recommendations about places to eat, loaned walking boots and snowshoes, and there was always someone available to answers questions. Thanks guys! We'll be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Z H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our party of seven aged from 15 to 60 spent a wonderful 7 nights at Big Bear Chalet 1in January 2014. The Chalet has 3 bedrooms which accommodated us easily. A well-equipped, full size kitchen made meals easy to prepare if required. The chalet also had a spacious living area with efficient cosy heating which made a great place to relax. Two bathrooms are there including one with a glorious sunken granite bath looking out into the snow covered forest – the bath was a favourite place of mine for the week. Everything in the Chalet worked well and it is obviously well maintained. The Chalet is located in Wadano close to numerous restaurants and bars. It is about a 200m flat walk to the closest chairlift(Kokusai Chair) and the shuttle bus pickups are a little under half that distance away. All in all the place is very well situated. Other places ( not many was my impression) may be closer to ski lifts but for all round convenience I doubt you could go past here. Its position in a little grove of trees which looked beautiful in the snow only highlighted its attractiveness. One feature that made our week very easy and enjoyable was the superb service provided by owner Darren and his team. Nothing was too much trouble – booking restaurants and driving us there; the same for a private onsen/ski hire/supermarket/chemist ( including translating what we needed into Japanese). Nothing was too much trouble – all sorts of good advice and even emergency wine delivery was all in the service happily and readily provided. We would have no hesitation returning and are happy to recommend what is a clean, convenient, well-appointed Chalet easily accommodating 7 of us and run by very friendly helpful and obliging people. I would recommend you contact Darren directly for bookings ski hire tickets or anything else you need for Hakuba,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I can not sing enough praise for the "family" at Morino. This was my second visit and it surpassed even the first one. Craig, Matt, Jeff, Josh, Pat and his "elves" were amazing making sure our every need was answered. I had odd requests for extra bedding, and some unusual last minute arrangements and they took care of everything without hesitation nor snickers. The gang at Morino are very on the ball - even on a powder day there's bound to be someone manning the desk and emails. This year's Christmas spread by Pat was stunning, there were so many dishes three platefuls would not be enough to try everything! You're in for a treat if you book into Morino for Christmas. If you're very good and bring them some Christmas goodies, Craig and Matt might even show you some of their secret powder stashes! Book soon and book early. Its worth flying to Tokyo and yes even beats Niseko's powder. There's nothing like Morino in Hirafu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegadgetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My group of 5 (two Mums and their 3 boys) arrived in Happo for a ski trip not know what to expect. We were greeted so warmly by Matt, Craig, Jeff and Josh who throughout the whole of our 5 day stay continued their great service to make us feel so welcome.

We all shared a room which was cosy but VERY adequate. The beds were comfortable and we all slept like babies each night. Views out the double opening doors (fresh air yay) are of the forest and some chalets - very cute in the snow.

The lounge area caters well - we were there in early season so not many guests - but I can imagine that there would be a great ambience when a group is there. Comfortable couches, rustic wood dining tables and plenty of seating are at your disposal.

Amenities provided include free Apple TV and wi-fi so you can check up on the snow and runs or Facebook your friends with what a great time you're having, books you can borrow, a drying room, desktop computer system for use, hot water and tea / coffee in the dining room and your own room. But if something you want isn't there, I'm fairly confident that the friendly faces of the team would get it for you if at all possible...The guys knowledge of the locale, restaurants and town is second to none and they speak Japanese so can make phone calls and reservations for you (don't miss the Sukiyaki at Toshi's hotel - to die for experience and he LOVES Australia). We had some of the best food ever eaten because of the suggestions of the lads.

The location is great - if you wanted to, you could walk with your board to the gondola for Happo. There's a little track that short cuts you there. A nearby ancient shrine is just beautiful and plenty of walks to do - Happo Village only a short walk away.

Breakfast is cooked daily for you and consists of western-style assortments. There's the usual cereal but also great selection of fruits ( to die for pineapple). But we also had bacon and eggs, omlettes, pancakes all cooked for us too. Our boys were happy. Jeff makes a great coffee from their own espresso machine too!

The onsens nearby are worth going to especially after tired muscles of a day on the slopes. The guys know nearby massage practitioners and ski equipment hire operators will collect you to take you for fitting out of gear.

Will definitely come again guys - thanks for our first great experience of Japanese snowfields.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrytheBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our family of four spent 10 nights at Morino Lodge in Jan 2013. Nice small clean room and the Management were great. The only problem was the large groups of single men adventure snowboarders who more of less took over the lodge and did not follow the typical lodge etiquette. Some examples are their gear just dumped on the drying room floor at the end of the day, occupying the dining tables for too long for others not to use at breakfast, using up all of the outside ski.board rack so when you came home at 5.00pm there was not room on the rack to store your skis.
If it was not for the above patrons, we would be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at BB Chalet 2 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The chalet was clean and well equipped and a great place for our family of four to relax in after skiing in. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom and shower were very efficient. The open spaces around the chalet were used by the kids to play in too. Darren, the manager, was wonderful, he pre-stocked the fridge and helpfully drove us everywhere we needed to go. As we were staying there after season, the area was very quiet but 'Hummingbird' restaurant was good, and taxis home from other places weren't too bad. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at Morino Lodge for 6 nights and loved every minute of it! Craig, Matt and the staff are super helpful and always happy to help out with anything. We arrived at 2am and they called our taxi driver to let us know how to get into the lodge, where our room was, and they had also put the heater on so it was nice and warm. The breakfast is good, the bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, the lounge room is great and the Kitchen guy does a great ski wax! I also definitely recommend the Nabe night the lodge puts on. Overall it was an excellent experience and would definitely return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HkTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#14 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
144 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Black Hotel
#10 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
119 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Wadano Forest Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morino Lodge

Property: Morino Lodge
Address: 4692-3 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morino Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Morino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing