We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Morino Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morino Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was our first year visiting this area, and we had a nice stay at one of the cottages of Morino Lodge, but the area is a bit difficult to get to, especially with the record amounts of snow the area has received. The staff was very helpful in assuring that we made it in alright and had everything we needed, but we did feel a bit remote and "away" from the lodge. The cottage was extremely comfortable and very adequately equipped with everything you would expect to find/need in a guest house. We were pleased with the comfort and amenities while there and our kids really enjoyed playing outside in the snow in front of the house. It really was a nice home away from home and we wished we could have stayed longer. I would recommend this property, but would also recommend getting trip insurance as roads, trains, etc. were closed for almost two days during our vacation there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdolinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I haved stayed couple years in a row. Craig and matt are great. The staff last year and this year so friendly and always welcoming. Cant get a better location and place to stay. I will be back again next year.
Winter wonderland!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We loved our stay at Morino Lodge. The staff were very helpful and always assisted with booking the many close restaurants, ski lessons, transport etc. It's only a 3 minute walk to the bus stop that services most ski resorts, 10 minutes walk for the others. Included breakfast was great. Wonderful views into Wadano forest. Thanks to the staff at Morino!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockrow, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to Hakuba with 3 teenagers... Morino was everything we wanted and a whole lot more! Matt, Craig, Jeff & Dan were superb hosts, always available to advise us on the daily best snow, arranged dinner bookings @ fun places to eat at night & even provided us with a detailed train schedule for our departure. Morino has an awesome relaxed vibe...we enjoyed meeting all the other guests, swapping snow stories etc.
Generous sized drying room which was respected by all the other guests & kept very neat. Rooms were very clean & bigger than we had expected, & definitely comfortable enough even with all our bulky ski luggage. We loved Morino & will definitely be back! Great hospitality boys!! Thank you!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Triciaa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in a Japanese-style room and really enjoyed our whole visit. The room was warm, large enough for us and had a great view of the snow and the forest. There was a compact bathroom, and a TV with in-room Apple TV (which we didn't use due to wonderful skiing outside!)
The location is great - you can walk to Happo if you want, or catch the near-by shuttle bus, which will also take you to most other slopes.
The best part of Morino Lodge is the people. From the moment we arrived and were picked up at the bus station, the people at Morino were a constant source of help and advice. They help us with hiring gear, gave recommendations about places to eat, loaned walking boots and snowshoes, and there was always someone available to answers questions. Thanks guys! We'll be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Z H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our party of seven aged from 15 to 60 spent a wonderful 7 nights at Big Bear Chalet 1in January 2014. The Chalet has 3 bedrooms which accommodated us easily. A well-equipped, full size kitchen made meals easy to prepare if required. The chalet also had a spacious living area with efficient cosy heating which made a great place to relax. Two bathrooms are there including one with a glorious sunken granite bath looking out into the snow covered forest – the bath was a favourite place of mine for the week. Everything in the Chalet worked well and it is obviously well maintained. The Chalet is located in Wadano close to numerous restaurants and bars. It is about a 200m flat walk to the closest chairlift(Kokusai Chair) and the shuttle bus pickups are a little under half that distance away. All in all the place is very well situated. Other places ( not many was my impression) may be closer to ski lifts but for all round convenience I doubt you could go past here. Its position in a little grove of trees which looked beautiful in the snow only highlighted its attractiveness. One feature that made our week very easy and enjoyable was the superb service provided by owner Darren and his team. Nothing was too much trouble – booking restaurants and driving us there; the same for a private onsen/ski hire/supermarket/chemist ( including translating what we needed into Japanese). Nothing was too much trouble – all sorts of good advice and even emergency wine delivery was all in the service happily and readily provided. We would have no hesitation returning and are happy to recommend what is a clean, convenient, well-appointed Chalet easily accommodating 7 of us and run by very friendly helpful and obliging people. I would recommend you contact Darren directly for bookings ski hire tickets or anything else you need for Hakuba,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I can not sing enough praise for the "family" at Morino. This was my second visit and it surpassed even the first one. Craig, Matt, Jeff, Josh, Pat and his "elves" were amazing making sure our every need was answered. I had odd requests for extra bedding, and some unusual last minute arrangements and they took care of everything without hesitation nor snickers. The gang at Morino are very on the ball - even on a powder day there's bound to be someone manning the desk and emails. This year's Christmas spread by Pat was stunning, there were so many dishes three platefuls would not be enough to try everything! You're in for a treat if you book into Morino for Christmas. If you're very good and bring them some Christmas goodies, Craig and Matt might even show you some of their secret powder stashes! Book soon and book early. Its worth flying to Tokyo and yes even beats Niseko's powder. There's nothing like Morino in Hirafu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegadgetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
226 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Black Hotel
#10 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
118 reviews
Wadano Forest Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
42 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morino Lodge

Property: Morino Lodge
Address: 4692-3 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morino Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Morino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing