We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fine place to stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Hakuba - Creek House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hakuba - Creek House
Summer Creek Winter Creek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Hakuba - Creek House
Summer Creek
Winter Creek
Living Room
Dining
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
Bathroom
Vanity
Toilet
Laundry
Drying room
The Happo Slopes
Goryu/47
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun, Nagano Prefecture, Chubu

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HKMatrix
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Pros
- a TON of space inside (including like 3 bathrooms, 2 showers, cupboard space in the bedrooms and 2 kitchens)
- A TON of space outside as well (it was great to be able to just let the kids go outside and play…something you cant really do at a hotel)
- VERY warm house (and we were here in the dead of winter)
- With a car, you are no more then 10 minutes from any location
- The property manager was VERY accessible via email
- Very high speed wifi (but not a good signal upstairs)
- We loved having a washer/dryer
- Heated floor was great too…including in the shower/wetroom (I had never experienced it before and just loved it)
- Tons of dishes and pots and pans
- We appreciated having the toiletries provided (hand soap, toilet paper, etc.)

Cons
- I had to shovel the area myself after each snowfall (including the driveway). I just would have though clearing the area would have been taken care of as it would add 20-30 minutes before we set out each day.
- Not really convenient if you don’t have a car (but we did, which was no problem at all)
- Furniture and kitchen reminded me of my days in university of when I was a student (certainly usable but not high end)
- No phone in the house so to make local calls, you need to go to a pay phone or rent a phone in Japan
- Some items just randomly thrown in places (ie. Deck of cards in the dishes cupboard)
- Some areas of the house were quite dirty/grungy (ie. The toaster oven/the walls in the washing machine room/the cutlery drawer was disgusting)
- Let over food from previous tenants…I rent our property in Canada on a week-to-week basis and leaving food behind is a huge no-no for a great number of reasons
- Something small but the website says they provide ‘wood for stove in living room’. When I asked about it, they said the wood stove has not worked in years and is not to be used

Bottom line, would I stay here again? Yes, if I came with another family to make good use of all the rooms (and spread out the cost). We LOVED out time in Hakuba and Creek House was part of the positive experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house
Liked least: The state of the kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2013
Whilst we appreciate the Pros...I think we have to respond to some of the Cons...
If you are visiting a ski area, I don't think it is unreasonable to expect to clear around your own car every day...if there is a heavy snowfall we have the snow cleared, but for 10 or 20cm per day, we do expect you to do that yourself...shovels are provided!
We do advise all our guests that a car is recommended...
As for the food comment...what we leave for the the next guests are condiments..salt, pepper, sugar, olive oil etc.....some coffee or tea.
Most guests appreciate it..and it is up to you.. to use these or buy your own..but, after this comment we will probably start to throw everything away!
I think the bottom line is...if you read all the reviews...most guests staying in Creek House are very happy and comfortable with the overall cleanliness and the house in general...the toaster is not brand new, but the house is not dirty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Reviewed 6 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam H
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Excellent House and Service”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in February 2011

We had a group of 7 stay 2 weeks in the Creek house and it was great. 1 couple and 5 singles and all had their own beds and privacy. The 2 bathrooms and extra toilets were quite useful for quick turnarounds in the mornings. The property managers Dez and Hero were very helpful arraigning both a hire car and also picking us up and dropping us off to the train. The house was incredibly comfortable even with the large group. We cooked most nights in the house and thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will defiantly be staying there again on our next trip with a group. Would reccomend for all types of groups, familys and such especially with the 2 kitchens for separate cooking. A car is a must though if you want to ski more than just Hakuba 47.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space comfortably fitting 7 people.
Liked least: The drying room was a boiler room but worked almost as good as a real Drying Room.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msktravel...
Iwakuni, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great house!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We traveled to Hakuba with our friends and 4 teenagers. The kids were able to spread out into different bedrooms which made this house the perfect size for us. The two kitchens allowed us to have a cooking/eating area and a coffee/beverage area. That was really nice for the size of our group. The beds were comfortable and the cozy covers really warm. Generally, we were able to find everything we needed for cooking and living for the week. We LOVED the house and really enjoyed our stay. Desmond was extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside, which was stated up front is that there isn't a nearby shuttle stop. We had transportation so it wasn't an issue except when we wanted to go out to dinner on New Years Eve (have a couple of drinks) and needed two cabs. No big deal, Desmond arranged the cabs and they picked us up in time for our reservation! If you have your own transportation and like to enjoy meals at home, this is the perfect place for a large group. We highly recommend it. As an added tip, be sure to visit Tsugaiki Ski area. The runs are wider than at other resorts, but plenty steep for even advanced skiers and boarders. After 4 trips to Hakuba, this was the first time we found this well hidden gem and wished we had known about it all along. It is a short drive, but well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The number of bedrooms and the covers on the beds.
Liked least: Lack of shuttle bus access.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in December 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed 2 June 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$444
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
other traveller has booked this property
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing